Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Minitabbars 3.7 *** Tabs & Dropdown menus Details »
Minitabbars 3.7 *** Tabs & Dropdown menus
Mod Version: 0.1.6, by Deepdog009 (Coder/Designer) Deepdog009 is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (2 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 33
Released: 08 Apr 2008 Last Update: 14 Sep 2008 Downloads: 862
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Auto-Template Additional Files  

What this mod does is allows admins to add custom tabbars to Forumhome,,,Gallery or CMPS navbar templates... With customization you can also add it to other areas of your site...

ATTENTION:
*********
Before installing or updating,,, download and read tutorial...

Primary setup consists of uploading minitabs images folder to your forum images folder...

FIXED CMPS with better dropdown options
  1. If you want to add to your CMPS,,, You must upload minitabs images folder to your domain root...
  2. http://yoursite.com/images/minitabbar/
  3. Goto CMPS and open main options / global varible...>>> Add $var $minitabbar1 or minitabbar1 so that it will show on frontpage...save...

If you want to add to your Gallery,,, You must upload minitabs images folder to your gallery root...
http://yoursite.com/gallery/images/minitabs/

If you want to add to your Forum,,, You must upload minitabs images folder to your Forum root...
http://yoursite.com/forums/images/minitabs/

*************************************************************

Step {2}

Goto Admincp and open products and install xml plugin with admin options on/off...

Goto vbsettings at top of admincp and find Minitabs and open...

  • View options and setup URL's
  • View options and setup Tooltip text
  • View options and setup Name of each tabbar
  • View options and setup CSS color of text
  • View options and setup Color type of tabbar from over 30 colors
  • View options and setup Font family type
  • View options and setup Font size
  • View options and setup Hover color link text
  • View options and setup No hover color link text

*************************************************************

Step
{3}

Goto vbsettings at top of admincp and find Minitabbars and open...

Setup correct path so that your images will show correctly...


images/minitabs/spacer.gif = http://yoursite.com/forums/images/minitabs/spacer.gif

Place main images folder {{{ minitabs }}} = http://yoursite.com/forums/images/minitabs/

Place main images folder {{{ minitabs }}} = http://forums/images/minitabs/yoursite.com/

Second option may need customization to xml...

*************************************************************

Step {4}

Popups? This mod uses the default vbulletin dropdown menu...
Some of my other mods don't work well with vbulletin default dropdown menus... other type {Chrome}?

Adding popups code to text window...
******************************

UPDATED Dropdowns to work on all TEN minitabbars
added the ability to turn on/off all eight dropdowns...
added the ability to control register and ID names on all TEN dropdowns...



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Step {5}


Last,,, add $minitabbar1 to NAVBAR template at top under <br/>... save
Goto CMPS global/Main and add $minitabbar1 or minitabbar1 and $minitabbarpopups or minitabbarpopups to global/main and save...


*************************************************************

Ver...>>> 0.1.3
  • Added custom images insert tabbars...
  • Added total of 10 tabbars...
  • Added tutorial to help with install...

*************************************************************

Ver...>>> 0.1.4
  • Cleaned up code to 75%...
  • Fixed on/off options...

*************************************************************

Ver...>>> 0.1.5
  • Added usergroups on 9th & 10th tabbars...
  • Added dropdowns on/off per tabbar...
  • Fixed dropdown links *** Turn off if using main link...

*************************************************************

Ver...>>> 0.1.6
  • Fixed CMPS links *** setup global $var...
  • Cleaned house in Html & PHP @ 90%...

*************************************************************

Overwrite with new 0.1.6 ver....

If Overwrite causes issues,,, Uninstall ^ Re-install...

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	mini37rainbow.jpg
Views:	1808
Size:	37.4 KB
ID:	78437   Click image for larger version

Name:	minitabbars8.jpg
Views:	414
Size:	73.5 KB
ID:	82438   Click image for larger version

Name:	minitabbars9.jpg
Views:	517
Size:	44.1 KB
ID:	82439   Click image for larger version

Name:	minitabbars3.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	67.9 KB
ID:	82443  

Click image for larger version

Name:	minitabbars4.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	82444  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #46  
Old 16 May 2008, 16:50
xlegends xlegends is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Originally Posted by peterle1 View Post
So I tried the last version named mini_tabbars_3.7cmps.xml, but it didn't show up.
The last mini_tabbars_3.7.x.xml works on forumhome, but not vbadvanced.

Any hints?

I cant get it to work on vbadnaced either, all the tabs get crunched up nicroscopic.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 16 May 2008, 17:48
peterle1 peterle1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by peterle1 View Post
So I tried the last version named mini_tabbars_3.7cmps.xml, but it didn't show up.
The last mini_tabbars_3.7.x.xml works on forumhome, but not vbadvanced.

Any hints?
Got it, one should read, what you wrote in your first post.
Your too fast for me.

But I didn't quite understood this part:
Goto CMPS and add $minitabbar1 or minitabbar1 to global option in main options... save
Where is that?

Found it ... minitabbar1 fits best. With the $ it wont work.
Haven't got the tabs yet, but I can see the words of the tabs. I will upload the tabset ...
Works flawlessly.

Now I have to learn how to our old tabs with that mod ...

Last edited by peterle1; 16 May 2008 at 23:02.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 17 May 2008, 01:51
Deepdog009's Avatar
Deepdog009 Deepdog009 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Question ???

Originally Posted by peterle1 View Post
Got it, one should read, what you wrote in your first post.
Your too fast for me.

But I didn't quite understood this part:


Where is that?

Found it ... minitabbar1 fits best. With the $ it wont work.
Haven't got the tabs yet, but I can see the words of the tabs. I will upload the tabset ...
Works flawlessly.

Now I have to learn how to our old tabs with that mod ...

peterle1,,,
vBadvanced CMPS has a nice little option that requires the GLOBAL $var only from vBulletin so that it will process and eval onto frontpage... So I had to revamp this mod to interact with it...

By the way,,, Brian is doing a great job over at vBadvanced and he deserves much credit,,, so folks please support with KEEP the BALL rolling...

Ok,,, installing the new CMPS update???
*******************************
  • Install new PLUGIN and overwrite old...
  • Upload your images to your CMPS root...
  • Goto CMPS options and open default options...
  • Look for Main Options and open...

Look for Global varibles and insert both $vars below... >>>
$minitabbar1 or minitabbar1
$minitabbarpopups or minitabbarpopups
Don't forget to hit the return carraige after each insertion...

$minitabbar1 also in navbar below <br/> at top of navbar template...

*******************************
The first $var prints out the minitabbars and the second $var adds the dropdowns...

Good Luck 2 ya!!!
__________________
Long vacation folks, back 2 dabble and doodle... *** Enjoy the Forums
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 17 May 2008, 06:49
peterle1 peterle1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by Deepdog009 View Post
Upload your images to your CMPS root...
I uploaded the minitabbar-folder with the images in an images directory and it works.
My first try was to upload the files only to the root of vbadvanced and this didn't work.

Photopost gallery and classifieds work without problems.

Any hints for using othe tab pictures?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 17 May 2008, 16:32
peterle1 peterle1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
You had a typo in tab 6 of your little pulldown demo.
I changed it.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 18 May 2008, 23:04
peterle1 peterle1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Here we have a mini_tabbars_html template with all tabs with pulldown menues.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 23 May 2008, 06:50
Deepdog009's Avatar
Deepdog009 Deepdog009 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
???

Originally Posted by peterle1 View Post
You had a typo in tab 6 of your little pulldown demo.
I changed it.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


peterle1,,,
where is the typo???

Thanks 4 looking out and let me know if there's other issues... I will try to fix if time permits
__________________
Long vacation folks, back 2 dabble and doodle... *** Enjoy the Forums
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 25 May 2008, 21:38
peterle1 peterle1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by Deepdog009 View Post
peterle1,,,
where is the typo???

Thanks 4 looking out and let me know if there's other issues... I will try to fix if time permits

You wrote:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

but navbar_news_updates isn't in your Navbar dropdown titles so it breaks your demo.

You can change the titles instead.

Thanks for looking.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 09:53
peterle1 peterle1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Maybe a dumb question, but what is the difference between this mod here and your Tabbar Suite?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 08 Jun 2008, 02:48
Deepdog009's Avatar
Deepdog009 Deepdog009 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Question ???

Originally Posted by peterle1 View Post
Maybe a dumb question, but what is the difference between this mod here and your Tabbar Suite?
peterle1,,,
YES there is peterle1...

The difference is that this Mod works very well with the default vBULLETIN dropdown javasrcipt... WHY???
Because it uses three images and a spacer image,,, and its inclosed within a table which allows more flexiblility to add other images without causing issues with javascipt loading...

Tabbarsuite and Invertedtabbars use TWO images to create tabbar,,, both dont work well with vBULLETIN dropdown javasrcipt,,, because they use div's and li's,,, not tables...

There are other differences with color editing and ability to make changes to CSS...
__________________
Long vacation folks, back 2 dabble and doodle... *** Enjoy the Forums
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 08 Jun 2008, 11:41
peterle1 peterle1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by Butcher View Post
nice hack but unfortunately the tabs simply won't fit any style. a better control over the tabs colour would make this far better
You can take a look at the tabs the mod offers and very easily create your own ones.
The only thing important I have found doing so, is the size of the pictures used as tabs and that there have to be three pictures for one tab.

Originally Posted by indie2industry View Post
Are there any limits to how many tabs you can have??
Not really, you can edit the mini_tabbars_html template and add as many tabs as you like, but you have to hard code it in the template.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 11:47
peterle1 peterle1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by Deepdog009 View Post
Tabbarsuite and Invertedtabbars use TWO images to create tabbar,,, both dont work well with vBULLETIN dropdown javasrcipt,,, because they use div's and li's,,, not tables...

There are other differences with color editing and ability to make changes to CSS...
What do you mean by "don't work well"?
The design is different, but I haven't found any problems with the functionality of the drop down menues.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 20:57
Deepdog009's Avatar
Deepdog009 Deepdog009 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Question ???

Originally Posted by peterle1 View Post
What do you mean by "don't work well"?
The design is different, but I haven't found any problems with the functionality of the drop down menues.
peterle1,,,
Tabbarsuite and Invertedtabbars probably can work with vBulletin standard dropdown menu's,,, but after I've spent hours trying to make them work together,,, I finally gave up and found another option...CHROME DD... working ok...

vBulletin standard dropdowns work extremely well with Minitabbars... It has something to do with the image icon setup in the menu.js file...
__________________
Long vacation folks, back 2 dabble and doodle... *** Enjoy the Forums
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 09 Jul 2008, 05:46
Shazz's Avatar
Shazz Shazz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Utah
Real name: Shawn
I have contacted Deepdog009 about the the issue with IE7 showing this error:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Im gussing its the headinclude template that comes with the plugin, but the html template is pretty big as well... Can't find whats causing this.

Last edited by Shazz; 09 Jul 2008 at 05:54.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 10 Jul 2008, 03:52
Hornstar's Avatar
Hornstar Hornstar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Matt
Finally got around to installing this, it looks very good, and was easy to install. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:27.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: