Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 15 Jan 2010, 07:26
cykelmyggen's Avatar
cykelmyggen cykelmyggen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
CMS in root?

I want to replace my current CMS with the vb CMS.
When I upgrade my forum to vb 4 I want to accomplish, due to SEO, the same map structure as I currently have:
www.mysite.com/vbforum/ - where I want the CMS to be at the root of my site and my forum at the vbforum as it is currently.

I don't quite understand the last statement for fixes in vb 4.01:
" [CMS] Please put CMS in /index.php and FORUMS in /forums/index.php" ...?

I need guidance as to how i upgrade my site and at the same time maintain the structure described above.

Of cause I have been reading the threads on support forum regarding this problem, but I'm sorry to say that it hasn't made me wiser as to how this could be done.

I've posted a supportticket at vB on this problem and the answer was:

"The vB4 CMS resides in the same directory as the forum. You can do some custom
coding to display the CMS outside of the forum directory, but you will need to post
on www.vbulletin.org for help with that."

Please correct me if this is not the right forum for posting!
__________________
boggnasker.dk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15 Jan 2010, 12:12
Vaupell's Avatar
Vaupell Vaupell is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Martin
i do belive what whoewer responded with such poor support should be beaten.

however ALOT of people want to do this,
and one possible way is to use .htacces and use redirects
it will "show" the user as if the folder structure is present, ewen if it is not.

and find it ewen more strange they redirect to here, when its basicly standard installation
were talking about.. anyway.

Howewer i cant find the threads anymore. there was quite a few about this.
Didnt read them, cause i just placed it all in same folder. anyway

so i can only advice to read up on, htacces redirects,
__________________
My website Evisystems
- - - Stuff - - -
follow the white rabbit, feed! your head
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15 Jan 2010, 12:14
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I think in vb4.0.1 you can edit index.php and it may do the trick but I havent tried it yet.

.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15 Jan 2010, 15:03
crazycarl crazycarl is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Upgrade to 4.0.1 software and open your index.php. There are instructions in the file on how to do it. You need to un-comment a line and then move the file. READ THE INSTRUCTIONS.

It works just fine but remember to change your CMS setting in the ACP>Options> Content Management>Site Tab URL> to reflect the link changes to root (../). Otherwise your home button will still link to the /forums/content.php.

Now I'm trying to find a way to make the /forums/forums.php = forums/index.php so the forums url will just look like:
www.domain.com/forums/

NOthing seems to be too easy with the new software. Such is the price for early birds and early releases!

GLuck!
CC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15 Jan 2010, 15:36
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Please post any further questions regarding default vB4 functionality over at vbulletin.com. See this sticky - Installation Issues / Questions or bug reports regarding default vBulletin 4.0
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15 Jan 2010, 17:58
cykelmyggen's Avatar
cykelmyggen cykelmyggen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Will do - I only posted this here due to answer from vB support:
"The vB4 CMS resides in the same directory as the forum. You can do some custom
coding to display the CMS outside of the forum directory, but you will need to post
on www.vbulletin.org for help with that."
__________________
boggnasker.dk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15 Jan 2010, 18:24
Bram H Bram H is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Typical reaction you got from them

I had more or less the same problem as our 3.8 forum was always located in forum.mysite.com and the CMS of 4.0 surprisingly showed up there as well. With the good old vbadvanced you could make a homepage at www.mysite.com. Unfortunately 4.0 doesnt support that.

Our CMS is now back to www.mysite.com as we have put the whole forum folder one layer up. It might have a temporary effect on your SEO but we hopefully have tackled that with this handy article on the interweb. Maybe it will work for you as well?

http://www.tamingthebeast.net/articl...1-redirect.htm
__________________
RaceDepartment.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15 Jan 2010, 18:51
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by cykelmyggen View Post
Will do - I only posted this here due to answer from vB support:
"The vB4 CMS resides in the same directory as the forum. You can do some custom
coding to display the CMS outside of the forum directory, but you will need to post
on www.vbulletin.org for help with that."
And when did you get that reply? They just added support for this in 4.0.1 which was just released a couple days ago.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15 Jan 2010, 18:57
cykelmyggen's Avatar
cykelmyggen cykelmyggen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
And when did you get that reply? They just added support for this in 4.0.1 which was just released a couple days ago.
Yesterday, actually
__________________
boggnasker.dk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15 Jan 2010, 19:04
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Hmmm, weird, because if you open the index.php file, it has instructions on how to achieve this. There are also threads over on vb.com on how to do this.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 15 Jan 2010, 22:06
cykelmyggen's Avatar
cykelmyggen cykelmyggen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Thanks for all your useful posts in this thread, which will definitely help me go on with my "project"
__________________
boggnasker.dk
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08 Sep 2011, 22:21
jefferis's Avatar
jefferis jefferis is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
HI folks, in version 4.1.5, there are instructions in the index.php file for changing the location of the CMS page, and I've followed them as best I can. I placed the index.php at the root, one level up from my forums. I uncommented the line in the index file to read:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

which is the location of our forums.

Cookies are set to /
In the URL settings in Admin I set it to our root: http://www.igotaevo.com
As far as I can tell, there is no need to do rewrites for urls in the latest version or to upload the vb_dir.php file as in the past....
Anyone have a current tutorial or idea on what might be going wrong?

the error I'm getting is:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:14.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: