Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 27 Sep 2016, 07:06
iref2010 iref2010 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
VB5 Too slow with many errors

Upgraded my project to vb5. its using mysql 5.5. we have seen that the queries related to cache and user table are causing too many issues and coz most of the times we see table lock issues with user table. user table is myIsam why is it not InnoDB? what if we make it InnoDB?.

2. Forum is running too slow due to so many queries and assets load. How can we make our forum fast? we are considering to switch to mariadb for vb5 in order to make it fast.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27 Sep 2016, 13:37
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
You can convert the user table to innodb if you want, it will be fine.
__________________

Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28 Sep 2016, 08:51
iref2010 iref2010 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
please tell me if we upgrade mysql to mariadb and php to php7 in vb5. would it give unnoticed issues? does vb5 support php7 and mariadb.

Also,
please suggest other optimization options.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28 Sep 2016, 13:19
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Yes, the current vB5 version (5.2.4) supports both php7 & mariadb.
__________________

Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30 Sep 2016, 14:27
iref2010 iref2010 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Advance Search Results case sensitive

I am facing issues in finding out why advance search results by tag is case sensitive.
There is no option in admincp like such, when I went through code, I reached no where but that the $nodes['results'] is empty in getInitialResults in core/vb/api/search.php.

Please help me fix this, our site is on production and we do not want to lose our users with this search.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18 Oct 2016, 08:39
iref2010 iref2010 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Hi,
The searchlog table is increasing. it takes up more than 10GB space in just 24 hours. How can I avoid entries in my Search log table. I am using ga analytics to track my data i have no use of searchlog.

Please refer to this thread: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum...earchlog-table
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18 Oct 2016, 12:29
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
I dont see how GA and Searchlog are connected, they do completely different things.

You cannot avoid entries in searchlog, its part of how vB5 works.
__________________

Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18 Oct 2016, 15:46
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
I dont see how GA and Searchlog are connected, they do completely different things.

You cannot avoid entries in searchlog, its part of how vB5 works.
The OP wasn't saying they're related. just that he/she had something to track visitors already and didn't need the search log.. At least that's how I read it
__________________
I've been offering vBulletin Support and Wordpress Optimization for 10+ years, Contact me if you have questions.
Check out The Best Forum Ever if you get bored.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18 Oct 2016, 18:44
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Searchlog doesnt track visitors, so as I said, I fail to see the connection.
__________________

Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
too slow, vb5


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:01.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: