Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 00:57
Sal Collaziano Sal Collaziano is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Thumbs down Would anyone like to discuss moving to SSL/HTTPS?

I'm guessing this isn't something anyone really wants to talk about. My vBulletin 3 sites seem to find SSL very attractive. No problems. vBulletin 4 is another story. Is anyone running SSL on vB4 without any problems? A few issues I've encountered so far...

1. The editor doesn't work anymore. You need to edit code in class_bootstrap.php to fix that problem. FIXED BY DAVE

2. The "Reply With Quote" button doesn't work anymore - unless you click it once, wait for the spinning "loading" gif to appear - and then click again. Just double clicking doesn't work. FIXED BY DAVE

3. Attachments don't work. You can get as far as clicking submit to upload your file - but then the attachment window just fills with a vBulletin page that states you don't have permission to do what you're doing...

4. Quick User Finder doesn't work anymore and if I search for an email address, I can only search for the domain name - like "gmail.com" - the @ sign or anything before it will prevent it from working. I can hit enter or submit and the data will just clear out...

That's all I found before I gave up and turned SSL off... If anyone would like to talk about their challenges and/or successes, please do...

Last edited by Sal Collaziano; 29 Dec 2016 at 20:14.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 01:01
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Originally Posted by Sal Collaziano View Post
I'm guessing this isn't something anyone really wants to talk about. My vBulletin 3 sites seem to find SSL very attractive. No problems. vBulletin 4 is another story. Is anyone running SSL on vB4 without any problems? A few issues I've encountered so far...

1. The editor doesn't work anymore. You need to edit code in class_bootstrap.php to fix that problem.

2. The "Reply With Quote" button doesn't work anymore - unless you click it once, wait for the spinning "loading" gif to appear - and then click again. Just double clicking doesn't work.

3. Attachments don't work. You can get as far as clicking submit to upload your file - but then the attachment window just fills with a vBulletin page that states you don't have permission to do what you're doing...

That's all I found before I gave up and turned SSL off... If anyone would like to talk about their challenges and/or successes, please do...
I did not have those problems at all and there already is a discussion going on about switching to https://..

What version of Vbulletin are you using?
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 06:55
z3r0's Avatar
z3r0 z3r0 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lancashire, UK
I moved all my vb4 boards over to https a few weeks back and had none of those issues, I just changed the site url in the admincp, added a few replacement variables to catch anything I'd hard coded to http and rebuilt the styles - all done and working fine within 15 minutes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 14:54
Sal Collaziano Sal Collaziano is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
I did not have those problems at all and there already is a discussion going on about switching to https://..

What version of Vbulletin are you using?
That's awesome. I wonder if it has something to do with the type of certificate used. I use a free certificate from Cloudflare. Is THIS the discussion you're referring to?:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=322813

If not, would you point me in the right direction?

Originally Posted by z3r0 View Post
I moved all my vb4 boards over to https a few weeks back and had none of those issues, I just changed the site url in the admincp, added a few replacement variables to catch anything I'd hard coded to http and rebuilt the styles - all done and working fine within 15 minutes.
Wow. Nice... I wonder if the replacement variables did the trick. You didn't even have to deal with this?:
http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBIV-15721
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 14:58
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Your problem sounds like JavaScript files that are still loaded over HTTP.
If you open up the developer tools (F12) in Chrome and refresh the page that has issues, you should see some red errors in the console tab that indicate what's going wrong.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 15:18
z3r0's Avatar
z3r0 z3r0 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lancashire, UK
Originally Posted by Sal Collaziano View Post
Wow. Nice... I wonder if the replacement variables did the trick. You didn't even have to deal with this?:
http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBIV-15721
No I didn't have to deal with that, everything just worked fine.

As Dave has said open your F12 developer tools on the console and check the errors, most things should be easy enough to sort.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 15:35
Dragonsys's Avatar
Dragonsys Dragonsys is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Real name: Eric
I think this is the thread RichieBoy67 meant: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=323946

I moved to https just recently as well, using Let's Encrypt, and I did not have any issues. I didn't use any replacements vars, but I did edit my templates and changed everything which was hard coded. I used a SQL query to find them all.

Also, this link was a huge help with some of the cleanup things: https://www.vbulletin.com/forum/arti...forum-to-https
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 18:52
Sal Collaziano Sal Collaziano is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Thanks, guys. I read that discussion just now... I have a "stock", unmodified vB4 running the latest non-beta version that I use to test things here:
https://lf3performance.com/

I just converted that over to SSL and it's got all the issues. Considering it's unmodified - I wonder if there's a certain type of server setting that's causing my problems. If some of you guys are simply installing the SSL certificate and updating the URLs in the Admin CP to get it working - then I'm surprised. I guess you're lucky...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 19:01
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Have you tried using the style variable replacement tool to convert: "http://www.lf3performance.com" to "https://www.lf3performance.com"? Also try clearing the server cache in the AdminCP under maintenance.

When I check the source code of the forum, I still see a couple of references to the HTTP version of your site.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I also noticed that the site uses the www subdomain at some locations where at other locations it doesn't use it.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 19:03
Sal Collaziano Sal Collaziano is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Ah! You beat me to that. I just updated all the images to /images/ and now I've got the nice green "lock" icon. But the other issues are still there...

Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Have you tried using the style variable replacement tool to convert: "http://www.lf3performance.com" to "https://www.lf3performance.com"? Also try clearing the server cache in the AdminCP under maintenance.

When I check the source code of the forum, I still see a couple of references to the HTTP version of your site.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I also noticed that the site uses the www subdomain at some locations where at other locations it doesn't use it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 19:05
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Could you create a test account for us that we can use to login and look around?
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 19:07
Sal Collaziano Sal Collaziano is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Could you create a test account for us that we can use to login and look around?
Sure, I can do that. Are you looking for front end or back end?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 19:14
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Frontend only, that will allow us to look around and see if there's any other errors.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 19:17
Sal Collaziano Sal Collaziano is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Frontend only, that will allow us to look around and see if there's any other errors.
Sure...

Username: Just Looking
Password: WF8C5DZmcwB2rje7

Thanks!

--------------- Added 29 Dec 2016 at 19:35 ---------------

I forgot to mention that Quick User Finder doesn't work anymore and if I search for an email address, I can only search for the domain name - like "gmail.com" - the @ sign or anything before it will prevent it from working. I can hit enter or submit and the data will just clear out...

--------------- Added 29 Dec 2016 at 19:53 ---------------

I might have just found another issue. When browsing from my mobile phone - clicking on a thread title doesn't click through to the discussion - it functions like I want to moderate...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 29 Dec 2016, 19:54
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
1. HTTPS requires all resources to be loaded over HTTP on the page. If I check a thread then I notice that your signature has a picture in it that loads over HTTP.

2. Your headinclude template still has a variable that's pointing to HTTP: "var AJAXBASEURL = "http://lf3performance.com/";". The AJAXBASEURL is used to load CKEDITOR if I recall correctly. If this is a bug in vBulletin then just manually change it in the template.

3. This plugin is recommended: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=288060
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks AWCoding- Restrict SSL (https) AWJunkies vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 10 20 Jul 2013 18:56
Miscellaneous Hacks AWCoding- Restrict SSL (https) AWJunkies vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 4 07 Dec 2011 02:33
Miscellaneous Hacks AWCoding- Restrict SSL (https) AWJunkies vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 5 08 Mar 2011 18:28



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:15.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: