Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01 Mar 2018, 14:46
scottkoz20 scottkoz20 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Real name: Scott
Showing Latest Posts on FORUMHOME

I'm not sure if this exists or if it even possible, but is there a mod that exists that will show the last X number of posts on the forumhome?

I have a sidebar block that does this now, but I would love to have this as a part of the forumhome


OR


Allowing the activity stream to be apart of the ForumHome

Last edited by scottkoz20; 01 Mar 2018 at 16:59.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01 Mar 2018, 20:04
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
That would be easy enough to do, just depends on exactly what you want.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01 Mar 2018, 23:29
scottkoz20 scottkoz20 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Real name: Scott
well - my vision for this would be similar to what you built had for your featured threads mod... allowing from 5-20 of the latest post to show in the forumhome at the top of the page before the first forum section that would have
-- Timestamp
-- Username
-- Title
-- Forum posted in

I do like in the activity stream that it can dynamic tell when there are new posts

There would be some forums I'd like to exclude from this, but not a need
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02 Mar 2018, 01:20
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
What if a thread has more than 1 new post in it...do you want that thread to show only once, but link to the oldest new post?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02 Mar 2018, 02:04
scottkoz20 scottkoz20 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Real name: Scott
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
What if a thread has more than 1 new post in it...do you want that thread to show only once, but link to the oldest new post?
yes - I would not want to have the same post on the list multiple times
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03 Mar 2018, 03:38
romaine's Avatar
romaine romaine is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Originally Posted by scottkoz20 View Post
I'm not sure if this exists or if it even possible, but is there a mod that exists that will show the last X number of posts on the forumhome?

I have a sidebar block that does this now, but I would love to have this as a part of the forumhome


OR


Allowing the activity stream to be apart of the ForumHome
You may interested in this mod https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=235841
and there are more similar mods like this on vBulletin, just using search function on this forum.
__________________
Best smartphones 2018 - smartphones discussion forums, reviews and news.
Tranh phong cảnh, khung tranh đẹp, bếp từ chính hăng
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03 Mar 2018, 04:32
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
I'm going to begin on this soon...likely tomorrow.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03 Mar 2018, 16:08
scottkoz20 scottkoz20 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Real name: Scott
Originally Posted by romaine View Post
You may interested in this mod https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=235841
and there are more similar mods like this on vBulletin, just using search function on this forum.
the issue that I see with this mod is that it has more information than I would want to have on the page at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03 Mar 2018, 19:43
Stratis's Avatar
Stratis Stratis is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Real name: Stratis
You can try this one
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=232811
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04 Mar 2018, 15:40
scottkoz20 scottkoz20 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Real name: Scott
ill have to review this - thanks Stratis
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06 Mar 2018, 05:08
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
I have attached a "first draft" of the product. Please give this a try and let me know of any changes you would like.
Attached Files
File Type: xml product-markflrecentpostsblock.xml (14.5 KB, 6 views)
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06 Mar 2018, 14:50
scottkoz20 scottkoz20 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Real name: Scott
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
I have attached a "first draft" of the product. Please give this a try and let me know of any changes you would like.
hey Mark -

When I enable this, my Forumhome triggers this SQL error - the rest of the forum is fine.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I have it off at the moment - I need to rebuild my dev site this week as I blew it up (had to try this live )
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06 Mar 2018, 15:18
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Ah, I didn't take into account running this query on a large database. I have put a limit on the query...try this updated version please.
Attached Files
File Type: xml product-markflrecentpostsblock.xml (15.0 KB, 1 views)
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06 Mar 2018, 15:32
scottkoz20 scottkoz20 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Real name: Scott
same error


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

--------------- Added 06 Mar 2018 at 15:33 ---------------

i wonder if the issue is on my /tmp directory
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06 Mar 2018, 15:37
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Hmm...I have never encountered that error before, and doing a search led me to believe it was due to a disk space issue on your server as a result of a query on all your posts. So, I figured limiting the query would cure it.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:55.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: