Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 17 Jun 2016, 17:43
bridge2heyday's Avatar
bridge2heyday bridge2heyday is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
True, however your question was about vB4 to vB5, so somewhat relevant to vB4 as well.
You are right , but this wasn't my question
__________________
Premium Vbulletin Modifications
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 18 Jun 2016, 09:23
t-h-c t-h-c is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Originally Posted by bridge2heyday View Post
Thanks ,
you have something installed in the root of your site ?
and you have your forum installed in sub directory /forum ?
anyway,
I will give you a scenario where I have forums installed in subdir /forums

assume you have domain www.domain.com
and vbulletin at www.domain.com/forums

in your admincp change vBulletin URL to www.domain.com instead of www.domain.com/forums
and then use this .htaccess


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Tricky but working fine

Note : this will not work if your directory is /forum , you can rename in that case

--------------- Added 17 Jun 2016 at 14:29 ---------------


Yes , we are in vb5 discussion forum
Thanks a ton for the advice! although just ran into a final issue....after we updated VB url from domain.com/forums (VB installed dir) to domain.com i am not able to access to admincp and the forum breaks (links to css and images dont work) do you have any ideas? thank you
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 18 Jun 2016, 09:40
bridge2heyday's Avatar
bridge2heyday bridge2heyday is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
This rule should be in root .htaccess not vbulletin .htaccess
__________________
Premium Vbulletin Modifications
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 17 Jul 2016, 22:24
karlm's Avatar
karlm karlm is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Karl
Originally Posted by bridge2heyday View Post
Well , this will require one or two file edits
in file 'includes/vb5/frontend/routing.php'
line 239 just before throwing

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I have made some work
I used $path variable , exploded it and got the last element .. then queried node table for urlident equal to this value .
if true .. this returns node id
Then

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I did this for a client who converted from smf with pretty URLs and working fine
I will post the full code when I have access to my home PC tomorrow.
Note : if the URL doesn't end with '/' you have to do additional work in includes\api\interface\collapsed.php'
Would you mind elaborating on the last portion of your above quote? I had VBSEO on VB4 and it worked like a charm, inc. all the extra toys it gave - such a shame they folded up

Anyway, I had a url alike to: http://mysite.com/forum-name/thread-title-123.html

i.e. there was no trailing /
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 18 Jul 2016, 00:28
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
##Just something to think about:

The rewrites will redirect people who find your old urls to your new ones but will do nothing for seo and may actually do harm. I believe the best method for seo would be a permanent 301 redirect.

If you want an easy solution DragonByte Seo would work and will add all the redirects, etc. I do not believe they have a version for Vb5 yet though.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 17 Aug 2016, 12:15
DouglasUK DouglasUK is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Originally Posted by bridge2heyday View Post
Well , this will require one or two file edits
in file 'includes/vb5/frontend/routing.php'
line 239 just before throwing

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I have made some work
I used $path variable , exploded it and got the last element .. then queried node table for urlident equal to this value .
if true .. this returns node id
Then

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I did this for a client who converted from smf with pretty URLs and working fine
I will post the full code when I have access to my home PC tomorrow.
Note : if the URL doesn't end with '/' you have to do additional work in includes\api\interface\collapsed.php'
Is there any chance you could post your query, too, please? I am new to programming vb5 and while I could work it out, you know how many days that could take me over simply seeing what you are doing and learning the quick way. So, if you have the full code for your solution, that would be ideal.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
.htaccess, seo


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:58.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: