Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 24 Dec 2016, 01:19
SilverBoy SilverBoy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Real name: Malik
vbCMS big sites??

Hi

I want to know if there are big sites use vBCMS as their front page to display articles and news?

Do you know some?


Thanks.
__________________
One of highly customized vBCMS used for news site.
www.manshor.net
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25 Dec 2016, 19:32
webmastersun's Avatar
webmastersun webmastersun is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
There are many sites on vB using vBCMS and you can find some by using forum search function.
For my forum, I don't use this to display articles and news but still can show them on forum homepage, that should be better!
__________________
The best webmaster forum & internet marketing forum for webmasters and internet marketers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25 Dec 2016, 19:42
SilverBoy SilverBoy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Real name: Malik
Thank you webmastersun for your kind reply.
I'm really looking for sites use vBCMS in heavy way to know if I made the right decision to use it in my news site or not, because I have problems with server load and want to know if the problem in the script or in my plugins.
here my site
www.manshor.net
__________________
One of highly customized vBCMS used for news site.
www.manshor.net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30 Dec 2016, 00:14
SilverBoy SilverBoy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Real name: Malik
any one?
__________________
One of highly customized vBCMS used for news site.
www.manshor.net
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30 Dec 2016, 04:14
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
www.semiwiki.com has over 5000+ CMS Articles. They won't be there long though the owner has tasked me with converting everything vBulletin the CMS and Forums to Wordpress which is happening very soon I even had to customize an older script to import the CMS Articles.

vB4 CMS works fine as-is but its not as easy and simple as Wordpress nor will it ever be (as vB4 CMS is not being improved since vB5 is out etc etc). I've seen many sites that utilize vBulletin as the forum with a bridge or SSO (single sign-on) where it worked great and the site owner had an easier back-end to use for their front page (WP ).

Edit: Some things are useful though from the vB CMS, such as promoting a forum thread to an article, which by using Wordpress you would not be able to do unless you did that manually - is that one feature solely a good reason to use it over another software such as Wordpress, well no not to me but to some it might be. I would install Wordpress in a sub-folder on your site and give it a spin, it literally takes less than five minutes to install and then you can see how creating a new article (post) compares in Wordpress to that of your vBulletin CMS and make a well-informed decision then as to which one feels and fits better for you!
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!

Last edited by TheLastSuperman; 30 Dec 2016 at 04:26.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31 Dec 2016, 19:14
AndrewSimm's Avatar
AndrewSimm AndrewSimm is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
My site has several thousand articles and we use the CMS
https://www.canesinsight.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31 Dec 2016, 21:47
SilverBoy SilverBoy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Real name: Malik
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
www.semiwiki.com has over 5000+ CMS Articles. They won't be there long though the owner has tasked me with converting everything vBulletin the CMS and Forums to Wordpress which is happening very soon I even had to customize an older script to import the CMS Articles.

vB4 CMS works fine as-is but its not as easy and simple as Wordpress nor will it ever be (as vB4 CMS is not being improved since vB5 is out etc etc). I've seen many sites that utilize vBulletin as the forum with a bridge or SSO (single sign-on) where it worked great and the site owner had an easier back-end to use for their front page (WP ).

Edit: Some things are useful though from the vB CMS, such as promoting a forum thread to an article, which by using Wordpress you would not be able to do unless you did that manually - is that one feature solely a good reason to use it over another software such as Wordpress, well no not to me but to some it might be. I would install Wordpress in a sub-folder on your site and give it a spin, it literally takes less than five minutes to install and then you can see how creating a new article (post) compares in Wordpress to that of your vBulletin CMS and make a well-informed decision then as to which one feels and fits better for you!
Thank you TheLastSuperman for your reply
Actually I invested a lot of time and money to develop vBCMS to looks like you see in my site now, but unfortunately I had problems regarding server load, so I'm start thinking in moving to WordPress if I get the right person to import all of my articles, news and reviews to it, with all of my added features of course.
Do you or do you know some one can do this job?
Thanks in advance.

--------------- Added 31 Dec 2016 at 21:56 ---------------

Originally Posted by AndrewSimm View Post
My site has several thousand articles and we use the CMS
https://www.canesinsight.com/
Nice work, good for you
__________________
One of highly customized vBCMS used for news site.
www.manshor.net
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01 Jan 2017, 00:40
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by SilverBoy View Post
Actually I invested a lot of time and money to develop vBCMS to looks like you see in my site now, but unfortunately I had problems regarding server load, so I'm start thinking in moving to WordPress
You should sort your server issues out, that will be a lot simpler than trying to convert to WP.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01 Jan 2017, 00:46
SilverBoy SilverBoy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Real name: Malik
I know, but when I investigated the server load issue, the host company guy said there is a problem in my plugins!!

Did you see my CMS Paul? we made a lot of plugins to make it more professional, and I think there is a problem in one or some of them, but unfortunately we couldn't catch it yet !!

Here is my site www.manshor.net
__________________
One of highly customized vBCMS used for news site.
www.manshor.net
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01 Jan 2017, 00:50
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by SilverBoy View Post
I know, but when I investigated the server load issue, the host company guy said there is a problem in my plugins
Sorry, but hosts are generally clueless, they just blame software because it sounds plausible and they can fob you off. Ask them to be specific, what problem ? what plugin ?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01 Jan 2017, 00:52
SilverBoy SilverBoy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Real name: Malik
I know they are
They don't know which plugin do this issue, but in debug mode my front page of my CMS has more than 700 queries !!

--------------- Added 01 Jan 2017 at 00:53 ---------------

The load a lot of time be very high, and get increase more and more till the server crash!!
__________________
One of highly customized vBCMS used for news site.
www.manshor.net
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01 Jan 2017, 16:21
Mark.B Mark.B is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
So, they insist the server load is down to 'a problem with your plugins', but when you ask them which problem on which plugin, they don't know?

Time for a new host.
__________________
MARK.B (Member of the vB Support Team)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01 Jan 2017, 18:20
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by SilverBoy View Post
I know, but when I investigated the server load issue, the host company guy said there is a problem in my plugins!!

Did you see my CMS Paul? we made a lot of plugins to make it more professional, and I think there is a problem in one or some of them, but unfortunately we couldn't catch it yet !!

Here is my site www.manshor.net
I've had more clients and myself on their behalf in tickets systems told this by Hosts from all over the world, all I can say is wow 700 queries makes what they say sound legitimate and you should definitely address that HOWEVER 99.9% of the time when a host says it's "the script" it's "the plugins" it isn't! That is just the only scapegoat they have because they don't have an answer to your current issue plain and simple.

Originally Posted by Mark.B View Post
So, they insist the server load is down to 'a problem with your plugins', but when you ask them which problem on which plugin, they don't know?

Time for a new host.
Usually I'd say yes but he did just tell us that in debug mode there are over 700 queries on his cms page this may just be the 0.01% lol!
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01 Jan 2017, 22:58
AndrewSimm's Avatar
AndrewSimm AndrewSimm is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Originally Posted by SilverBoy View Post
I know, but when I investigated the server load issue, the host company guy said there is a problem in my plugins!!

Did you see my CMS Paul? we made a lot of plugins to make it more professional, and I think there is a problem in one or some of them, but unfortunately we couldn't catch it yet !!

Here is my site www.manshor.net
The thing I would recommend is shortening that main page. You have a lot of images loading that users will likely not scroll down to. Also a lot of those image are larger than what is needed. If you indeed have 700 queries then as others have mentioned that needs to be reduced.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02 Jan 2017, 09:02
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
You should sort your server issues out, that will be a lot simpler than trying to convert to WP.
I agree with Paul but..
I would also strongly lean towards having my articles in the, for lack of better words, google friendly CMS being wordpress over vbulletins.
You'll get much better results in my opinion building traffic using wordpress and there are bridges or should be at least for vb - wp.
__________________

Email me for website help: brandon[at]sheley[dot]org
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:38.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: