Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Country Flags - Postbit & Postbit_Legacy. vB 4.0.x (Inc GO Details »
Country Flags - Postbit & Postbit_Legacy. vB 4.0.x (Inc GO
Mod Version: 1.00, by Welshy2008 (Designer) Welshy2008 is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (102 votes - 4.60 average) Installs: 594
Released: 04 Dec 2009 Last Update: 30 May 2012 Downloads: 4533
Not Supported Template Edits Code Changes Additional Files Translations  

Description:

This Add on, gives a selection of Countries that your Member (New or Existing) can choose from in a 'Drop-Down Menu'. The Country he/she selects, will be displayed as a Flag in their Postbit.

Credit for the Flags goes to Cobro. (I have renamed each and every flag to work with this Mod).


Instructions:

Firstly “Upload” ALL the Flag GIF pics to your forum root /images/buttons/flags folder.

IE: yourforumaddress.com/forum/images/buttons/flags

Please Note: Due to the flags folder being too large to upload as one - I have been forced to upload it as "flags1", "flags2" and "flags3" - Please ensure that you add a new folder to "images/buttons/" and name it "flags". Please copy the contents of ALL THREE (3) flags folders in the attachment below to the new 'flags' folder that you have just made. (DO NOT place them as 3 seperate folders!"


Then in your Admin Control Panel (ACP), please do the following:
ACP -> User Profile Fields -> Add New User Profile Field ->Profile Field Type -> Single-Selection Menu (select ‘Single-Selection Menu’ from the Drop-Down Menu) -> Please enter the following into the following fields (REMEMBER to make a note of the FieldID, because you will need to replace ALL the X’s in [fieldX] with it!!!
(Please see 'FieldID.jpg' attachment below).

Add New User Profile Field Single-Selection Menu:

Title = Country Flag
Description = Add your country flag to your profile:
Profile Field Category = (Uncategorized)
Options = Copy & Paste the Whole contents of the file attached below (OPTIONS)
Set Default = None
Display Order = You Select this (dependant on how many you already have)
Field Required = yes, at registration and profile updating
Field Editable by User = Yes
Private Field = No
Field Searchable on Members List = No
Show on Members List = Yes


Optional Input:

Allow user to input their own value for this option = No
Max length of allowed user input = 100
Field Length = 25
Regular Expression = Leave this Blank


Display Page:

Which page displays this option? = Edit Your Details ** Please note that the vB4.0.4 Version does not show this option. Please select "Edit Profile" option. The selct your country flag option, I can confirm, Also shows on registration too.
** SAVE **


Then, In your Admin Control Panel (ACP)...

ACP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> <<>> -> Postbit Templates -> select the template that you use (ie Postbit or Posbit_legacy) – This is for the Postbit_Legacy…

FIND:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


If you would like to place it under your number of user posts (to the right of your Postbit) then look for:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


(upto vB4.0.5) ADD BELOW:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

(for vB4.0.6 AND 4.0.7) ADD BELLOW:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

(Also adds the Username to the 'alt' Code on Mouseover).

(for vB4.0.8):


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

(Thanks to Krusty1231 for this).

(for vB4.1.0 , 4.1.0 PL2 & 4.1.1)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Even though I have not tested this in these versions, others have and have reported this mod to be working in them.[/B]

Please make sure the style and template edits are still there. Just one of the people can be seen on post 350


** Replace the ‘X’ with your FieldID number **
** Replace the ‘Red Text’ with Your Forum Address **



** SAVE Template **





And that's it - Enjoy!


Please do not forget to click "Install"

Edit & Update TRACKER - Keep Upto date here:

** 30/05/2012 - Update "Flags2 to include correct name on Switzerland flag"..

** 27/09/2010 - Update on 4.0.6 "added code for the 4.0.6 Version, and instructions on how to place the flug under a user's postcount in posbit"..


** 12/07/2010 - Update on 4.0.4 "Which page displays this option"..

** 26/06/2010 - Updated Flag Names and Country Names in the "Options" text file. PLEASE Re-upload and overwrite all three flag folders and the options Text file...

** 15/01/2010 - Made all the Countries in the "OPTIONS.txt" in Alphabetical Order..

** 27/12/2009 - Changed the contents of OPTIONS.ZIP folder from a .docx file to a .txt file, as requested.

** 26/12/2009 - Option 2 Added
- Flag folder Updated (UK.gif changed to UK.GIF)


** 05/12/2009 - OPTIONS File Added.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	AdminCP.jpg
Views:	4079
Size:	100.7 KB
ID:	107172   Click image for larger version

Name:	Postbit_Legacy.jpg
Views:	7350
Size:	30.0 KB
ID:	107173   Click image for larger version

Name:	FieldID.jpg
Views:	5810
Size:	88.5 KB
ID:	107179  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Country Orb people (Country Flags) mac27 vBulletin Avatar Sets 101 02 Jan 2012 23:16

  #421  
Old 25 Jul 2011, 00:59
hhumas's Avatar
hhumas hhumas is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
will it work with 4.1.4
Reply With Quote
  #422  
Old 01 Aug 2011, 09:15
Rakehel's Avatar
Rakehel Rakehel is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Michael
Can anyone elaborate upon what n00b3t is saying here. On my server, there's a directory for each style?

Originally Posted by n00bl3t View Post
Ah can someone help me!

I am on 4.1.4 and I did everything perfectly. All images are in the right folders/path but for some reason, I can't get the pictures to actually show. Users can pick their flag/option and it just shows the name, not the picture. Any ideas?


-----------EDIT--------------------

NVM! Got it working.

My problem is I had the images under images/buttons/flags but it had to be under YourStyle/buttons/flags

!
Reply With Quote
  #423  
Old 02 Aug 2011, 18:05
CharlieDelta CharlieDelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Originally Posted by Rakehel View Post
Can anyone elaborate upon what n00b3t is saying here. On my server, there's a directory for each style?
Yes that is correct. It is actually located in images/yourstyle/buttons/flags.
This is assuming you have custome styles on your forum other than the default style.
Reply With Quote
  #424  
Old 03 Aug 2011, 09:20
Rakehel's Avatar
Rakehel Rakehel is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Michael
Question

Thank you Charlie. I do have 5 styles in addition to the default and mobile, but I'm not finding them anywhere in my forum directory. I see the "CP Styles" folder.

I'm asking because we like the flags mod, and a similar zodiac mod, but I can't get the flags to display no matter what I do. Just the names, and right-clicking one even allows me to access the image file's properties. The modification for vb 3.8.6 and earlier worked fine for years.

I've checked chmodding. I've tried different directories for the flags folder. I've verified the listing and spellings in the Admin CP. The custom profile field is set up, the same as the older flags mod.

I tried using the orignal template code listed here, but it didn't work. I also wanted the border/box like the rest of the info in the post display-member info data. Can anyone tell me why this code won't work?

<div class="post_field"><dt><vb:if condition="$post['field6']"><style="text-align:left">My Flag</dt><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_flags}{vb:raw post.field6}.GIF" align="middle" alt="{vb:raw post.field6}" border="0" /></vb:if></dd></div>
Any help would be genuinely appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #425  
Old 03 Aug 2011, 15:20
CharlieDelta CharlieDelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Originally Posted by Rakehel View Post
but I'm not finding them anywhere in my forum directory. I see the "CP Styles" folder.
This is your problem. You need to add the flags file that contains all the images to your proper sytle directory. Look something like this = forum/images/tribalgold/buttons/flags
I had a look at your site with firebug and your images are not in any directory.
Reply With Quote
  #426  
Old 04 Aug 2011, 08:26
Rakehel's Avatar
Rakehel Rakehel is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Michael
The images were located in 3 directories in an effort to test paths. What are you talking about?

Will that code work or not?
Reply With Quote
  #427  
Old 04 Aug 2011, 15:54
CharlieDelta CharlieDelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
If you have an image path of "flags" in your stylevars then I guess the code would work, otherwise you should use the imgdir_button. Another option you could try is a direct url, something like
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I tested this and it worked for me.
Reply With Quote
  #428  
Old 12 Aug 2011, 16:09
Charged Charged is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Originally Posted by gyaronn View Post
there is a flag that is messing for: Faroe Islands i have added it
I've found a matching animated one for anyone that wants it.

Reply With Quote
  #429  
Old 13 Aug 2011, 00:55
K!nG K!nG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Originally Posted by K!nG View Post
Something weird happend.... i had it installed on like 4 different skins and out of nowhere it went away from 2 skins but its still there in other 2... i uploaded everything again ... edit templates again but still doesn't show anything at all :O can someone help me on this one ???
Any info on this one ???? why its showing in 2 styles and not showing in 2 styles all of sudden while it was working just fine before on all 4 styles ::
Reply With Quote
  #430  
Old 13 Aug 2011, 14:24
CharlieDelta CharlieDelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Originally Posted by K!nG View Post
Any info on this one ???? why its showing in 2 styles and not showing in 2 styles all of sudden while it was working just fine before on all 4 styles ::
Have you ensured your code is correct in the 2 style templates? Are the images in the correct directory for each style?
Reply With Quote
  #431  
Old 15 Aug 2011, 03:42
K!nG K!nG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Well in one of the style it was working fine for like a month and then one day all of sudden when i logged in it wasn't working ... i went to check the images they were there ,, then i checked the template edits they were there but its not showing
Reply With Quote
  #432  
Old 16 Aug 2011, 00:39
Aitorcillo Aitorcillo is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
This mod works with vbulletin 4.1.5? Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #433  
Old 19 Aug 2011, 23:17
K!nG K!nG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
It does work on 4.1.5 just to mention its working on my 2 skins but its not working on my other 2 skins lol
Reply With Quote
  #434  
Old 20 Aug 2011, 00:00
hhumas's Avatar
hhumas hhumas is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
is there any change of getting it on 4.1.4 ???
Reply With Quote
  #435  
Old 20 Aug 2011, 01:08
Scalemotorcars's Avatar
Scalemotorcars Scalemotorcars is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Daniel
Ive been using an extra profile field for country for some time now that's required on registration. I already have all the countries in the master list. (plus a few more)

Could I simply use that field id with the images and code from this mod. looks fairly straight forward.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:45.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: