Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 26 Oct 2017, 06:57
davidhso davidhso is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Absolute / Non-Scaling Sides

Hello,

I'm wondering how to make my forum not change in width if I resize my browser window. Would someone let me know? Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26 Oct 2017, 13:11
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Go under global in stylevars and change the doc width. I am not sure why you would want it to not scale but you can put a size in there you want. I have mine set to auto though because scaling is good.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28 Oct 2017, 00:53
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Responsive is the way to go if possible, otherwise set it in % values so it scales accordingly. You may have a good reason for wanting a set "fixed" width however I would not limit your users that way i.e. have your forum style completed using a fixed width BUT then copy it (or create a child style) so your members have a second option and set the new style to % values .

^ That way you're not limiting your members, if you have no mobile style installed then they load the site with tons of extra bandwidth being eaten up from their mobile data plan, if you have a mobile style installed then you can still get by with a fixed width as you have an alternative less data usage friendly version.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman - Custom vBulletin Modifications, Styles, and Services.
Need a Host? I recommend URLJet.

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10 Dec 2017, 05:46
davidhso davidhso is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
thanks for the replies. the reason i want absolute margins is because of my image via header. I'm not sure of how to scale the image thus i wanted the fixed margins. is there a way to scale the image too?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10 Dec 2017, 05:55
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Can you post a link to your site?
__________________


Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10 Dec 2017, 06:08
davidhso davidhso is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
http://www.kiastingers.com/forum/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10 Dec 2017, 06:38
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
Originally Posted by davidhso View Post
Whatever changes you have made have caused the wrapper to be off-center.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10 Dec 2017, 06:40
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Okay, remove the following CSS from the body element:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And add to your "additional.css" template:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You're still going to get the "toplinks" element laying over the image though without some additional CSS.
__________________


Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17 Dec 2017, 04:09
Mattwhf Mattwhf is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
Responsive is the way to go if possible, otherwise set it in % values so it scales accordingly. You may have a good reason for wanting a set "fixed" width however I would not limit your users that way i.e. have your forum style completed using a fixed width BUT then copy it (or create a child style) so your members have a second option and set the new style to % values .

^ That way you're not limiting your members, if you have no mobile style installed then they load the site with tons of extra bandwidth being eaten up from their mobile data plan, if you have a mobile style installed then you can still get by with a fixed width as you have an alternative less data usage friendly version.
I agree with @TheLastSuperman.

Originally Posted by davidhso View Post
Hello,

I'm wondering how to make my forum not change in width if I resize my browser window. Would someone let me know? Thank you.
You can follow the guide as RichieBoy67 mentioned, beside mobile style you should make your forum theme as responsive style, that will help you have a fix style on desktop while still scaling it as well on mobile devices.
__________________
Web Hosting Forum - Learn web hosting and offer your hosting services for FREE!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:27.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: