Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
  #1  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 17:12
veenuisthebest's Avatar
veenuisthebest veenuisthebest is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Vinayak
Question Forum to be moved to a new server

Hi all,

Am planning to upgrade my website's resources to a higher bandwidth/webspace/mysql.

my webhost is providing an upgrade plan to me but the server would be changed due to which I'll have to manually transfer all my files/db and everything to a new location...

I wanted to know:-

1. Can I backup my database through phpmyadmin to a .SQL file and restore it onto the new server ?? with this way, I won't be losing any data like users, posts and everything.. right ??

2. As I have made a lot of modifications and have lots of hacks installed, so can I copy the whole "FORUMS" folder and paste it to the new location as it is. What possible changes will I have to make in the vBulletin settings ??
I think only the config.php file requires editing .. or anything else tooo ??

3. My Domain Control Panel will also be changed from Plesk to DotNetPanel, will it have any major affect ??

Thank You
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 17:23
acegames acegames is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Real name: Dave
I moved servers last weekend and managed the whole transfer through whm and used "Copy an account from another server"
__________________
Free Mobile Downloads|Ringtones
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 17:31
veenuisthebest's Avatar
veenuisthebest veenuisthebest is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Vinayak
but as my host told, I'll have to MANUALLY transfer everything... there is no option like "Copy an account from another server"

by the way, what is WHM ??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 17:34
Yours Yours is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Sounds like you do not have cPanel on the server. The manual backup would be the only way, and you wouldn't lose data doing it this way. It may take a while and slow your connection down due to the fact of how large the database may be.
1) Yes you can - you will lose nothing
2) Again yes, this will work fine
3) I have never heard of this panel, so the only significant change may or may not be just the functionality of using said control panel
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 17:43
veenuisthebest's Avatar
veenuisthebest veenuisthebest is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Vinayak
i took a demo of this so called DotNetPanel, i find it good and easy to use just like cPanel if compared to Plesk which is really slow and buggy...

by the way, how does a domain cp can affect so much?? coz all we require in relation to vBulletin is advanced file permissions, creating mail a/c's, a file manager, creating setting databases... all such features are there in the said panel !!

--------------- Added 20 Mar 2008 at 17:45 ---------------

i had always been on windows server, maybe that is the reason why I do not have cPanel..

by the way, does vBulletin performs better on a Linux server...??? coz if that is the case, then I'll switch to it..

Last edited by veenuisthebest; 20 Mar 2008 at 17:45. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 17:52
Yours Yours is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I have not used vBulletin on a windows server to be honest. If you do not run other applications that requires a windows server, then I would say switch to a linux server. You could switch to linux, get cPanel, and be paying a few bucks less than if you had the windows server.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 17:56
veenuisthebest's Avatar
veenuisthebest veenuisthebest is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Vinayak
this is the only problem sir, actually I require ASP for my other personal website to run.. that linux does not support..

please tell me, how can the performance of vB be affected from a windows or linux based server... coz all we require is PHP, and both supports that..

is it something like linux executes PHP scripts pretty faster if compared to windows ??
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 17:59
Yours Yours is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Afraid I haven't used windows enough to be able to say for sure. I would stick with your windows server as you have other applications that require windows
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 17:59
veenuisthebest's Avatar
veenuisthebest veenuisthebest is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Vinayak
also please refer to this page, its my webhosts site and its plans..
http://www.netwayweb.net/web_hosting_india.php#

both the prices of windows and linux hosting is same i.e. 2400 INR

and which plan do you recommend ??
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 18:09
Yours Yours is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I would look at http://crissic.com/dedispecials.php to see if any of those suit your needs. I have a server with them and they are fantastic =)(keep in mind their prices are in USD)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 18:16
veenuisthebest's Avatar
veenuisthebest veenuisthebest is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Vinayak
the prices are tooo high for me... minimum plan is 40$ per month i.e. 1600 INR

and I am currently paying 1200 INR per year... even after upgrade it would be just 2400 per year..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 18:17
Yours Yours is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
oh I see you are on shared hosting. I do not think Crissic offers Windows shared hosting, but http://crissic.com/shared.php -- they have some decent pricing there.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 18:22
veenuisthebest's Avatar
veenuisthebest veenuisthebest is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Vinayak
ya.. I see, the prices are almost the same now..

by the way, when does a person go for shared hosting and when for dedicated ???
what is there that dedicated has and shared does not ???

thankss
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 18:26
Yours Yours is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
a dedicated you have more access to do what you want to on it, and have more space and bandwidth. With a dedicated its your own server, so you can do as you please, install server applications, edit security etc.

By the likes of the site you are on currently (tech555.com) you really shouldn't need a dedicated box until you experiance high server loads (a few hundred people on at a time, thousands of posts, etc)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20 Mar 2008, 18:30
veenuisthebest's Avatar
veenuisthebest veenuisthebest is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Vinayak
thank you soo much for this useful info sir..

well...my site is a week old.. and one day would definately become the botm.. so i'm planning from right now, lol !!

thankss
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:25.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: