Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Allow URLs in posts only after a minimum number of posts (to reduce spam) Details »
Allow URLs in posts only after a minimum number of posts (to reduce spam)
Mod Version: 1.00, by Xoligy (Member) Xoligy is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.4 Rating: (9 votes - 4.89 average) Installs: 126
Released: 12 Dec 2006 Last Update: 29 Jan 2007 Downloads: 1223
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files  

With the recent increase in CAPTCHA-beating bots spamming their URLs, I have a feeling this mod will be very useful. Inspired by this vBulletin 2 plug-in.

To install, first upload "bitfield_restricturls.xml" to "includes/xml", and then just install restricturls.xml via the product manager in the AdminCP. The plug-in should automatically rebuild the bitfields cache - as long as you upload "bitfield_restricturls.xml" first.

The amount of posts required is configurable in the usergroup manager, simply look for the group of settings with the header "Restrict URLs". The default is set to 5, however most bots tend to only make one or two spam posts at the most.

For obvious reasons, moderators and admins don't have this restriction, but if you want to add it, you can remove the group id from "bitfield_restricturls.xml".

If people find this useful, I may also update this to make an option so the posts containing URLs are set to be moderated rather than just completely restricted.

Enjoy

Update (13th Dec): Added code to rebuild bitfields, just re-install the .xml file. Also fixed a major bug. If you already have this installed... re-install it!

Note: This works by detecting the [url] tag and so it relies on vBulletin BBCode enabled and vBulletin to automatically parse URLs in to BBCode. If you have either of these disabled it will not work.


You're free to do what you like with this code, although credit is appreciated, it's not required.

Brought to you by eXaltic - vBulletin skins.

Update: If you're looking for a more advanced version of this, I recommend this or this. Because of these, this plug-in will no longer be updated unless needed. I recommend you use either of the first 2 if you're looking for more control.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Allow URLs in posts only after a minimum number of posts (to reduce spam) Erwin vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 49 27 Sep 2007 11:37

  #76  
Old 01 Oct 2008, 20:54
Bonus Paradise Bonus Paradise is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
installed this today on VB 3.7.3
tested too
works good so far
many thnks
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 02 Oct 2008, 02:01
sarahk's Avatar
sarahk sarahk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Important change needed to this plugin.

If people post, then edit their post they can add links.

Please add the following plugin
=============================
The hook is editpost_update_process
The code is
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Property Management Services
Simple SEO Blog
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 02 Oct 2008, 08:51
Bonus Paradise Bonus Paradise is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
thank you very much sarah

please where exactly do i have to add this?
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 02 Oct 2008, 22:48
sarahk's Avatar
sarahk sarahk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Go the plugin manager
click on "add new plugin"
then you get to
  • create a dummy user so that you can test the workaround. You need to see what you are fixing before you fix it.
  • choose the product - for the sake of linking I selected the url product that the other plugin is added to
  • choose the hook - scroll through until you find "editpost_update_process"
  • add the code above
  • mark as active
  • save
  • test
__________________
Property Management Services
Simple SEO Blog
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 02 Oct 2008, 23:27
Bonus Paradise Bonus Paradise is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Thank you very much Sarah
found it
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 02 Oct 2008, 23:50
Bonus Paradise Bonus Paradise is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
i did that
have the plugin in there
can see it
all seems fine
but i tested it out
and i as the new dummy user now
can still add url if i edit post.

Maybe this dont work on Vbulletin 3.7.3 PL1 ?
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 03 Oct 2008, 08:19
sarahk's Avatar
sarahk sarahk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
I have it working with 3.7.2

I can't imagine that they've made huge changes to that part of the code in this release.

I'd check
* you have activated the plugin
* you have set the post count in the user groups
__________________
Property Management Services
Simple SEO Blog
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 03 Oct 2008, 11:42
Bonus Paradise Bonus Paradise is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Originally Posted by sarahk View Post
I have it working with 3.7.2

I can't imagine that they've made huge changes to that part of the code in this release.

I'd check
* you have activated the plugin
* you have set the post count in the user groups
I def. did something wrong
sorry, but sometimes its really hard for me to understand all in english

in the usergroup i see this
Restrict URLs
Minimum posts required to post URLs? 5


In my Plugins i see now this:
2nd one is what i made,

Product : Restrict URLS
Check for URLs newpost_process [Edit] [Delete]
Restrict URLS edit posts editpost_update_process [Edit] [Delete]

both are active.

Last edited by Bonus Paradise; 03 Oct 2008 at 12:52.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 03 Oct 2008, 22:00
sarahk's Avatar
sarahk sarahk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Go to User Group Manager and select the usergroup that newly registered users go into. Scroll down to the section called "Restrict URLs" and make sure you have 10 (or something in there)

Send me a PM with your forum and I'll take a look.
__________________
Property Management Services
Simple SEO Blog
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 22 Nov 2008, 00:35
satam2k satam2k is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 22 Apr 2009, 13:12
myown myown is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
does it work with 3.8.x
__________________
http://pak.net
Urdu Forums - Articles, Jokes, Poetry and lots more
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 01 Jun 2009, 13:02
rrudeboy's Avatar
rrudeboy rrudeboy is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Originally Posted by myown View Post
does it work with 3.8.x
ditto question here....

does it ?
__________________
~rb 
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 06 Jun 2009, 23:20
mdawg's Avatar
mdawg mdawg is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I really hate forums that make you have to post more than one thread in order to post URLs. I suppose if this were set to just 1, allowing URLs on the second post, might be something.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 08 Jun 2009, 12:31
Blade-uk Blade-uk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Working here on 3.8.2

Thanks

Andy
__________________
Website - www.eteknix.com
Forum - http://forums.eteknix.com
Email - aruffell at eteknix dot com
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 25 Dec 2009, 15:33
vinss vinss is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Thanks
__________________
וינס - אתר משחקים.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:37.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: