Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
DJ's Translate a Thread in a Google Pop-Up Window Details »
DJ's Translate a Thread in a Google Pop-Up Window
Mod Version: 3.00, by Digital Jedi (Coder/Designer) Digital Jedi is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (7 votes - 4.86 average) Installs: 34
Released: 19 Aug 2008 Last Update: 19 Mar 2009 Downloads: 157
Not Supported Template Edits Additional Files External Content  

This template modifications adds a drop-down menu to all your threads which allows users to translate that thread in a new window using Google's Language Tools.

========================================
NOTE: As this is a merely a template edit, vBulletin version isn't really going to be an issue.
========================================

When I first released this for vB 3.6, there seemed to be some confusion as to how this works. Let me clear up any confusion from the start. This is just a simple template modification that redirects you to a translation service from Google.com. It's some links and some pictures designed to help international users communicate more easily. It does not auto-detect what language your forum is in, nor is it a way to browse and post in your forum in another language. It's simply what is described: A way to translate a thread from one base language to another set language. And it also can only support the languages that Google supports, which are the ones listed. Hopefully I've redesigned this mod to be more clear about how it works.


NOTE: In order for Google to translate your threads, they must be able to crawl your forum pages. So Guests must be able to read your forum in order for this mod to work.


Updates
08-19-08 (Updated to include the new languages from Google's Language Tools.


Upgrades
For those upgrading from the vB 3.6 version, click here.


Screenshot



Supported Languages
العربية (Arabic)
Български (Bulgarian)
中国 (Chinese - Simplified)
中國 (Chinese - Traditional)
Hrvatski (Croatian)
Česky (Czech)
Dansk (Danish)
Nederlands (Dutch)
English (This is merely a direct link to the Google Translator)
Suomi (Finnish)
Français (French)
Ελληνική (Greek)
Deutsch (German)
हिन्दी (Hindi)
Italiano (Italian)
日本語 (Japanese)
한국어 (Korean)
Norsk (Norwegian)
Polski (Polish)
Português (Portuguese)
Română (Romanian)
Русский (Russian)
Español (Spanish)
Svenska (Swedish)


Live Demo
Look for the "Translate" drop-down menu beside the "Display Modes" drop-down.


Installation
Installation is simple. To add this to your forum requires two edits to your SHOWTHREAD template.

Step 1.
To access your SHOWTHREAD template, go to Admin CP >>> Styles & Templates >>> Style Manager >>> "Expand one of your styles" >>> Showthread Templates >>> SHOWTHREAD and look for:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below it add:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Step 2. (The following step will add the "English to..." translation links only. For those that want additional language options, see Post 2 of this thread.)
Next find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below it add:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Step 3.
Next thing to do is upload the flag images (in attached zip file) to the buttons folder in your images directory. Make sure you upload them to the right one. For some forums, this might simply be images/buttons/. But if your using a custom skin, this might be in the folder holding your style (skin) images, such as [stylename]/buttons/. It will need to be in that directory for each skin you make the template changes to.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenie1.png
Views:	125
Size:	40.4 KB
ID:	85741   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenie2.jpg
Views:	202
Size:	91.7 KB
ID:	85742  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements Translate a Thread in a Google Pop-Up Window Digital Jedi vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 103 23 Dec 2011 03:53
Miscellaneous Hacks Google Translate For your site Q-v-n-s-Q vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 4 25 Oct 2008 05:17
Translate Your Pages Via Google AN-net vBulletin 3.0 Template Modifications 51 26 Apr 2007 00:08

  #31  
Old 05 Dec 2008, 18:40
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
I'll try to post one a little later tonight. Provided I don't loose consciousness before sunset.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 31 Dec 2008, 15:18
Robp57 Robp57 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
I set this mod up, but when I go to translate, it sends me to login....
Then when I do the login, it keeps redirecting me to login...
The login is in the language I chose, but still cant get past it....
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 31 Dec 2008, 17:03
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Is your forum viewable to guests?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 31 Dec 2008, 18:30
Robp57 Robp57 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
No its not.......Anyway around it?
I dont want to open it to non registered....
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 01 Jan 2009, 08:26
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Well, as I mentioned in the initial post, Google has to able to scan your pages in order to make the translation. So unless you can let Google in somehow, Google will just try to translate the page Guests are allowed to see. And as I also mentioned, this is not a way to browse a forum in another language, so will not be able to log in on the translated page.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 01 Jan 2009, 20:28
harisafp's Avatar
harisafp harisafp is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Harisa FP
Originally Posted by Robp57 View Post
No its not.......Anyway around it?
I dont want to open it to non registered....
Originally Posted by Digital Jedi View Post
Well, as I mentioned in the initial post, Google has to able to scan your pages in order to make the translation. So unless you can let Google in somehow, Google will just try to translate the page Guests are allowed to see. And as I also mentioned, this is not a way to browse a forum in another language, so will not be able to log in on the translated page.
Just register againt in to google translate....
Thanks Mr. Digital Jedi .... it's work for me

BR.

Harisa FP
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 01 Jan 2009, 21:01
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by Ricsca View Post
Italian to... ?
Sorry Ricsca, this just kind of got away from me and slipped my mind. I'll try again tonight. Sometimes time just isn't my friend.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 22:20
HwMania HwMania is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
italian to??
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 22:58
HwMania HwMania is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
italian to


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 15 Feb 2009, 01:33
mindhunter77 mindhunter77 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
is it just me or is the flag zip actually missing?
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 19 Mar 2009, 00:12
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
I'm not sure why it would be gone. Maybe some files accidentally got purged.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 11 Jun 2009, 01:11
nrms®'s Avatar
nrms® nrms® is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Real name: Nelson
Someone verify for "Portuguese to..."

Thanks...

Ps: It only woks for the public threads...?
__________________
http://i42.tinypic.com/5k0sqe.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 11 Jun 2009, 13:48
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by nrms® View Post
Someone verify for "Portuguese to..."

Thanks...

Ps: It only woks for the public threads...?
Yes, as I mentioned, it Google has to be able to scan your pages. That means if guests can't see it, neither can Google.

I'm working on trying to make this a Plugin rather then a template modification. Google added a whole bunch of new languages, but with the mod as it is, it would be ridiculously code heavy. vB.org wouldn't even let me paste it in because it exceeded the character limit.

This would be the first time I made a modification based on plugins, so it will be a while before that's completed. Until then, I hope you can, as I like to say, bear with me.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:02.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: