Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Facebook Connect - Allow your users to login with their Facebook account Details »
Facebook Connect - Allow your users to login with their Facebook account
Mod Version: 2.0.5, by sllik (Member) sllik is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2011 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (78 votes - 4.72 average) Installs: 499
Released: 10 Dec 2008 Last Update: 24 Mar 2009 Downloads: 6148
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Translations External Content  

Facebook Connect
This add-on allows your guests and existing users to login with their Facebook account through Facebook Connect.

WORKS WITH 3.8!

Benefits of Facebook Connect
  • Users can simply login with their Facebook account without going through the registration process.
  • Increase user interaction and your traffic through Facebook notifications and news-feeds!
Features
Facebook users will be able to receive Facebook notifications when:
  • There is a reply to their thread or a thread that they're subscribing to
  • They receive a new PM
News-Feed will be published on to the user's wall when the user:
  • Logs in for the first time
  • Replies to a thread
  • Creates a new thread
Fetch user data from Facebook
Fetch data like name, location, profile picture and use it on your forums! (NOTE: Some data may not be available for some users)

Automatically befriend user's friends
If any of the user's friends are also registered on the forum, they will automatically be friends!

How to Upgrade From 2.0.0 to 2.0.1
  • Upgrade the product. (Import the product XML again and set overwrite to yes).
  • Update Feed Template IDs in the settings (make sure they are the same as at: FB Connect Options -> News-Feed Templates)
How to Upgrade From 2.0.1 to 2.0.2
See UPGRADE.html
  • Fixed the notification problem (notifications were sent to wrong people)
  • Login button will now be displayed on vbAdvanced pages
How to Upgrade From 2.0.2 to 2.0.3
See UPGRADE.html
  • Fixed the Facebook avatar displayed for the wrong people problem.
  • Added Facebook UID & Profile URL field to data map.
Professional Install/Upgrade/Support Services
Want this mod professionally installed? It's guaranteed to work on your forum! Download the archive and see INSTALL.html/UPGRADE.html for more details!

Troubleshooting
Server Requirements:
PHP 5

If you get an error:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Means that there is something wrong with your callback URL. Your callback URL must be where xd_receiver.htm is; so when you enter [callbackurl]/xd_receiver.htm into your browser you should see a blank page (not a 404 page not found error or anything else).

If you get a continues this means there is a javascript error. Make sure you've done all the template edits correctly (especially footer & navbar). Clear your cache and reload the page.

If nothing happens when you click the Facebook Connect button make sure your callback url domain is the same as you forum domain (the one set in your forum settings) - more specifically make sure that there is a www (or isn't) in both domains.


Many more features may be implemented in the future so keep checking for updates.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	shot1.png
Views:	4316
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	90376   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot2.png
Views:	6026
Size:	105.8 KB
ID:	90377   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot3.png
Views:	6894
Size:	139.5 KB
ID:	90378   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot4.png
Views:	6001
Size:	106.3 KB
ID:	91218  

Click image for larger version

Name:	shot5.png
Views:	5119
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	91219  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #766  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 16:16
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by jlew24asu View Post
It appears he just responded to each quote backwards.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #767  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 16:25
jlew24asu jlew24asu is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by Digital Jedi View Post
It appears he just responded to each quote backwards.
LOL good catch
Reply With Quote
  #768  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 17:12
jlew24asu jlew24asu is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
well anyway, I've paid for "professional installation" and its still not working.
Reply With Quote
  #769  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 17:46
MedellinStyle MedellinStyle is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
what if a member is already registrered with the same email than facebook?
Reply With Quote
  #770  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 20:29
sllik sllik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Originally Posted by jlew24asu View Post
well anyway, I've paid for "professional installation" and its still not working.
what are you talking about... it's all working...
http://www.sundeviltalk.com/
Reply With Quote
  #771  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 20:35
Bounce's Avatar
Bounce Bounce is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: J
Can the Default User Group ID be more than 1?

Ie usergroup id - 2,5,6,7 etc

Default User Group ID
Facebook users will be associated with this group. By default this is the Registered Users (id:2) group but it is strongly recommended to create a separate group for Facebook users.
__________________
Thanks for your help

J
Reply With Quote
  #772  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 20:46
sllik sllik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
no, its only 1 user group
Reply With Quote
  #773  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 21:06
Bounce's Avatar
Bounce Bounce is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: J
Originally Posted by sllik View Post
no, its only 1 user group
Ok thanks, another Q for you...

I've done all the template edits etc but when I goto post a new thread the "Post to my Facebook" section does not show,what have I done wrong?

Do you need to put the First Login Feed Template ID,New Thread Feed Template ID,New Reply Feed Template ID into the main settings ?
__________________
Thanks for your help

J

Last edited by Bounce; 06 Jan 2009 at 21:17. Reason: added link to screenie
Reply With Quote
  #774  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 21:47
sllik sllik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Originally Posted by hIBEES View Post
Ok thanks, another Q for you...

I've done all the template edits etc but when I goto post a new thread the "Post to my Facebook" section does not show,what have I done wrong?

Do you need to put the First Login Feed Template ID,New Thread Feed Template ID,New Reply Feed Template ID into the main settings ?
yes, simply register default feed templates.
Reply With Quote
  #775  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 21:50
jlew24asu jlew24asu is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by sllik View Post
what are you talking about... it's all working...
http://www.sundeviltalk.com/
not on my CMPS page. when you click on the connect to facebook link, nothing happens
Reply With Quote
  #776  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 22:25
JimmiOO JimmiOO is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Is there a way you can change the facebook button on the navbar? i tried changing it to point to a different button but the same one appears. I want to change it to read Login Using Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #777  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 22:45
sllik sllik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Originally Posted by jlew24asu View Post
not on my CMPS page. when you click on the connect to facebook link, nothing happens
clear your cache and try again... can someone else confirm this...


Originally Posted by JimmiOO View Post
Is there a way you can change the facebook button on the navbar? i tried changing it to point to a different button but the same one appears. I want to change it to read Login Using Facebook
you need to change it in the facebook.js file
Reply With Quote
  #778  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 22:52
jlew24asu jlew24asu is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by sllik View Post
clear your cache and try again... can someone else confirm this...
I tried it on IE and got this..

The Facebook Connect cross-domain receiver URL (http://sundeviltalk.com/xd_receiver....%220.090%22%7D) must have the application's callback url (http://www.sundeviltalk.com/) as a prefix. You can configure the callback url in the application's settings.

for FF, am I going to have to clear my cache every time I try and log in?
Reply With Quote
  #779  
Old 07 Jan 2009, 02:05
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by jlew24asu View Post
I tried it on IE and got this..

The Facebook Connect cross-domain receiver URL (http://sundeviltalk.com/xd_receiver....%220.090%22%7D) must have the application's callback url (http://www.sundeviltalk.com/) as a prefix. You can configure the callback url in the application's settings.

for FF, am I going to have to clear my cache every time I try and log in?
I just registered on your site with no problems from the vBa homepage. I'm on IE7.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #780  
Old 07 Jan 2009, 07:33
JimmiOO JimmiOO is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
[QUOTE=you need to change it in the facebook.js file[/QUOTE]


Sorry can you give me some instructions how to do this please? where do i find the facebook.js file?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:46.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: