Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Add Your LinkedIn Account To Your postbit/postbit_legacy Details »
Add Your LinkedIn Account To Your postbit/postbit_legacy
Mod Version: 1.00, by metalguy639 (Member) metalguy639 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.1 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 14
Released: 21 Jun 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 1
Not Supported Template Edits Additional Files  

THIS TEMPLATE EDIT BROUGHT TO YOU BY:


www.skinsnstyles.com

CLICK INSTALLED TO GET SUPPORT FOR THIS ADD-ON. IF YOU DO NOT CLICK INSTALLED I CANNOT HELP YOU.

This mod is based on the Twitter Profile Link mod. With the exception that this is for a different social networking type of web page following.

If you have members who have LinkedIn accounts and you want to be able to add their LinkedIn accounts to their postbit or the postbit_legacy, you can use this little mod to do so. It's been tested in 3.8.1 so far, but I'm pretty sure that it would work with most recent copies of vbulletin 3.6X and up.

YOU MUST CLICK INSTALL TO GET ANY SUPPORT FROM ME, THOSE WHO DO NOT CLICK INSTALL WILL BE IGNORED WHEN ASKING FOR HELP.

Step 1:

To set up your profile field for this mod you must first make/create a new profile field.

1. Login to your admincp as admin
2. Scroll down in your left side menu until you find "User Profile Fields"
3. Click on "Add New User Profile Field"
4. For Profile Field Type choose "Single-Line Text Box"
5. Put the following into your new profile field.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

6. Click "Save"

Keep in mind the field ID number.

Step 2:

Now you will need to edit your postbit or your postbit_legacy whichever one you are currently using on your forum.

1. Scroll to "Styles & Templates" click on "Style Manager"
2. Find the skin that you want to make the changes to on the right and click the drop down box next to it choosing "Edit Templates"
3. In The "Controls" box to the right click the button to the left of the words "All Template Groups" to expand the templates.
4. Scroll down and find the postbit or postbit_legacy template and double click on it to open it. (Again this is which ever one you use on your site)
5. Now FIND:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

6. AFTER ADD:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You must change The field ID number to match yours, they are in red. You must also change the image link to match where you uploaded your image.

7. Click "save"

Now go to your UserCP and edit your profile. Click on the "Edit Profile" link and scroll down until you find this in your profile add your Custom URL ending in the box and click save.

Hack Limitations:

1. You MUST use only your Custom URL word(s) that you added to your profile. If you do not this hack will not work.

To set up your custom URL in LinkedIn:

1. Login to your LinkedIn account.
2. Look to the far right at the top you should see a link called "Edit Public Profile Settings" click it.
3. Now at the top you will have a box called "Your Public Profile URL" click the edit link and put what you want your custom URL to be in the blank space.
4. Click the "Set Address" button.

Use the LinkedIn button that I modified here:

Just right click and choose "Save as"

Screenshot can be seen below...

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	postbit.jpg
Views:	557
Size:	114.6 KB
ID:	100832  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases Quick Ban & Unban in Postbit & Postbit_legacy! farooqaaa vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 96 01 Nov 2008 21:20

Comments
  #2  
Old 21 Jun 2009, 10:13
Yenimuhendis Yenimuhendis is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
nice work thnx.

İnstalled
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21 Jun 2009, 10:27
metalguy639 metalguy639 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Originally Posted by Yenimuhendis View Post
nice work thnx.

İnstalled
Your welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21 Jun 2009, 12:45
MacHack MacHack is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Works great, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21 Jun 2009, 23:22
metalguy639 metalguy639 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Originally Posted by MacHack View Post
Works great, thanks!
No prob
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18 Jul 2009, 03:44
cmmguy cmmguy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Works great, thanks. I also tried to add it to the Contact Info tab in the Public User Profile but it seems the variable does not have context in that page. Oh well... still works fine in the postbit.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18 Jul 2009, 05:41
metalguy639 metalguy639 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Originally Posted by cmmguy View Post
Works great, thanks. I also tried to add it to the Contact Info tab in the Public User Profile but it seems the variable does not have context in that page. Oh well... still works fine in the postbit.
Not sure. I tried several things myself and they did not work. If I find a way for it to be put there I'll post back.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18 Jul 2009, 13:57
EagleNick's Avatar
EagleNick EagleNick is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Real name: Nick
Originally Posted by cmmguy View Post
Works great, thanks. I also tried to add it to the Contact Info tab in the Public User Profile but it seems the variable does not have context in that page. Oh well... still works fine in the postbit.
Because the post variable is only available in posts. Instead of using $post['field15'], you need to use $userinfo['field15'].
__________________
Regards,
Nick

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18 Jul 2009, 15:28
cmmguy cmmguy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by EagleNick View Post
Because the post variable is only available in posts. Instead of using $post['field15'], you need to use $userinfo['field15'].
Oh boy... I feel dumb when the answer is so simple.

Thank you for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18 Jul 2009, 15:30
cmmguy cmmguy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by metalguy639 View Post
Not sure. I tried several things myself and they did not work. If I find a way for it to be put there I'll post back.
Thanks to EagleNick it is figured out, but I have another question.

Why cant you use the entire path of the LinkedIn Account instead of requiring the user to create a custom linkin public name? Is there a technical reason for not allowing the full path?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18 Jul 2009, 17:26
metalguy639 metalguy639 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Originally Posted by cmmguy View Post
Thanks to EagleNick it is figured out, but I have another question.

Why cant you use the entire path of the LinkedIn Account instead of requiring the user to create a custom linkin public name? Is there a technical reason for not allowing the full path?
The reason I set it up that way was because it was the only way that the linkedin account would allow a direct link to a person's account. They have it set up where you HAVE to set the account up in that way or else it does not work.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18 Jul 2009, 17:26
metalguy639 metalguy639 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Originally Posted by EagleNick View Post
Because the post variable is only available in posts. Instead of using $post['field15'], you need to use $userinfo['field15'].
Thanks Nick
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18 Jul 2009, 19:56
cmmguy cmmguy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by metalguy639 View Post
The reason I set it up that way was because it was the only way that the linkedin account would allow a direct link to a person's account. They have it set up where you HAVE to set the account up in that way or else it does not work.
After a day, I found that the instructions(mine, not yours) confused my users. So I changed your code a little to allow a complete URL in the profile and then added better directions.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This seems to work fine and doesnt require the user to setup the custom profile name.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 19 Jul 2009, 04:35
metalguy639 metalguy639 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
no prob, if it works for you.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20 Jul 2012, 22:05
cbiweb cbiweb is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Some members have used the LinkedIn profile to insert spammy links to other sites. Is there a way to ensure that members can add links to only a LinkedIn profile in that field?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:05.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: