Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
MGC Chatbox Evo Details »
MGC Chatbox Evo
Mod Version: 3.4.0, by VBDev (Coder) VBDev is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (306 votes - 4.63 average) Installs: 2473
Released: 28 Jan 2008 Last Update: 02 Sep 2013 Downloads: 46097
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Auto-Template Additional Files Translations  



This mod is automatically compatible with vB3.6.x, vB3.7.x, vB3.8.x and vB4.x.x


Overview

MGC Chatbox Evo is the most ever installed chatbox for vBulletin !


It offers a new enhanced online experience to your members leading to increased time spent online of more than 25% by providing them with a new, more interactive, way to interact with each other.
  • Important number of features
  • High level of configurability to fit each users needs
  • Channels system
  • Many commands
  • Bot system
  • and more...
... makes MGC Chatbox Evo a must have for your forum !

Detailed features

Following is a non-exhaustive list:
  • Simple install
  • Ajax based with:
    • Fast and Intelligent chats retrieval through javascript calls to server files (refresh delay configurable per usergroup)
    • Edit/update by double-clicking on a chat
    • Interact on chats through menus and javascript
  • Many usergroup permissions to limit features according to usergroups
  • Full configuration of the chatbox display:
    Size, position on forum pages, editor layout (either top/bottom input or left/right textarea) and position, number of chats displayed, ...
  • Full configuration of the chats display:
    Authorized bbcodes selection, date/time options, avatar display, ...
  • Possibility to create channels (unlimited number) with multiple configuration options:
    • Warn user of new message when not active through blinking image and eventually sound notification
    • Possibility to select on which specific page each is displayed
    • Option to display the channel only for selected languages
    • Usergroup/User permissions to access the channel
  • Many commands available with usergroup/user permissions to access them:
    • /me: well known IRC command
    • /del: remove shouts (different possibilities of removal)
    • /ignore: ignore shouts from another user
    • /ban: ban user from chatbox
    • /pm: send a private chat to another user
    • /announcement: modify the announcement on top of the chatbox
    • /slap: allow user to slap another user
    • /team: chats sending between specified usergroups
    • /l33t: I33t-ify a message
    • /banchan: ban user from specific channel [PRO only]
  • Forum activity notifications system in the chatbox:
    • Different display options:
      • In the chatbox melted with chats
      • In the chatbox in a separate column
      • In the vB4 sidebar or a custom sidebar for vB3
    • Multiple notifications:
      • New thread creation
      • New post creation
      • Post thanked (Abe's)
      • New registrations (not included - separate product)
      • IBProarcade highscore (not included - separate product)
  • Bot system with set of predefined trigger chat and corresponding answers and automatic bot chats [PRO only]
  • Archive system with statistics as well as download and search capabilities
  • Possibility to display the list of users online in the chatbox
  • Force anynomous to enter a username before chatting if they can access the chatbox
  • Antiflood system
  • Private chats feature through PM in tabs
  • Optional sound notifications
  • Inactive mode feature for server load optimization
  • User statistics display in posts and profile
  • Chatbox statistics display on forumhome
  • Create thread from a chat [PRO only]
  • CMS Integration (not included - separate product)
    • vBAdvanced CMPS
    • vBulletin 4 CMS
  • Importers from other chatbox systems:
Install

Refer to the readme for the chatbox install.

Demo

Live demo on MGC Products forum

Languages
  1. French
  2. English
  3. German [Not yet updated]
  4. Serbian [Not yet updated]
Support

On my website mostly and in this thread


Intégration

Integration in IBProarcade is described in the readme.
vBAdvanced CMPS and vBulletin 4 CMS integration are available as additional modules.


Compatibility

This hack is compatible with vB3.6.x, vB3.7.x
, vB3.8.x and vB4.x.x

Changelog

First part:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=221

Second part:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...postcount=5429

Third part:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...postcount=8469

How to set the channel images


Thanks to princeedwards for this little how to : click here

PRO version and additional addons available on my website

This mod is automatically compatible with vB3.6.x, vB3.7.x, vB3.8.x and vB4.x.x

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Chat Modifications Cyb - ChatBox Valter vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 1244 03 Feb 2016 14:36
Chat Modifications Chatbox Rules in cyb chatbox title Hornstar vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 15 23 Apr 2011 17:57

  #2356  
Old 25 Aug 2008, 18:05
Ranger187 Ranger187 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by poolking View Post
I'm using version 0.5.0 of this mod.

In internet explorer, my members click the smilie face to bring up the first rows of smilies, they click on the more button and the rest of the smilies come up.

However when they click on the smilie they want to post, it won't post it in the text box.

It works fine in Firefox.
This replicated on ALL IE users?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2357  
Old 25 Aug 2008, 19:59
cheat-master30's Avatar
cheat-master30 cheat-master30 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Information Classified
Real name: cheat-master30
I have a similar problem in Firefox 3 with the smilies in the 'More' window, while the ones displayed in the line under the text box after just clicking the smiley icon work fine.
__________________
Proud vBulletin supporter (cheat-master30 at official forum)
DS Ultimate- A Great Nintendo DS forum-
My Nintendo DS forum covering Mario Kart DS, Super Mario 64 DS and the like. Powered by the amazing vBulletin 3.7 software.
Reply With Quote
  #2358  
Old 25 Aug 2008, 22:11
poolking poolking is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Rich
Originally Posted by Ranger187 View Post
This replicated on ALL IE users?
Yes, tested it myself in Internet Explorer and doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #2359  
Old 27 Aug 2008, 19:05
ispots ispots is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Can anyone who has it working and likes it please explain to me how the "Users in the Chatbox" feature works? What settings can I use to make it actually even CLOSE to accurate?

I can have 10 people actively chatting in it, and it tells there is no one in there....and the opposite is true as well. I have the refresh settings set fairly low, so there is not much time delay.

It just really seems to not function as designed.
Reply With Quote
  #2360  
Old 28 Aug 2008, 02:34
pewp pewp is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
I'm having an issue with my install of the latest version.

I have it so the newest posts display at the bottom, but the chat box doesn't seem to scroll down as new chats come in. If that explains my problem well enough.
Reply With Quote
  #2361  
Old 28 Aug 2008, 16:35
SoFresh SoFresh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I installed the new version but I can't get it to show up anywhere on the forums...
Reply With Quote
  #2362  
Old 28 Aug 2008, 16:59
e2s e2s is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Is it possible to have a specific channel appear above for a specific section of the forums. Take for example I have a moderators section of the forums. I want to have the chat at the top of that forum to be the moderator channel.

Just curious it would be cool because then you could have chats specific to a section of the forums
Reply With Quote
  #2363  
Old 29 Aug 2008, 08:43
zelnik zelnik is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Is anyone else having various wrong/odd descriptions in the who is online page?

I get things like this:

Unknown Location
/forum/clientscript/mgc_cb_evo_add/css/indicator.gif

etc
Reply With Quote
  #2364  
Old 29 Aug 2008, 08:59
Ranger187 Ranger187 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by ispots View Post
Can anyone who has it working and likes it please explain to me how the "Users in the Chatbox" feature works? What settings can I use to make it actually even CLOSE to accurate?

I can have 10 people actively chatting in it, and it tells there is no one in there....and the opposite is true as well. I have the refresh settings set fairly low, so there is not much time delay.

It just really seems to not function as designed.
This is due to the timelimit setting you can adjust. If I remember right, it adds sql queries. Refresh for the chat, and users in chat setting are 2 different settings.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2365  
Old 29 Aug 2008, 09:02
Ranger187 Ranger187 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by pewp View Post
I'm having an issue with my install of the latest version.

I have it so the newest posts display at the bottom, but the chat box doesn't seem to scroll down as new chats come in. If that explains my problem well enough.
Originally Posted by SoFresh View Post
I installed the new version but I can't get it to show up anywhere on the forums...
Look at the very top

Version 1.0.0 known bugs bugs
  • [Minor] Veuillez entrer l'email not translated
  • [Minor] When chats display option is "Oldest first", the chatbox doesn't scroll to new chats on load.
  • [Minor] Too much space between chats in collapsed mode
  • [Minor] Sticky chats not working
  • [Minor] Chatbox smileys row still show while smileys disabled (see here for a fix) Not a bug, can't be reproduced
  • [Minor] Possible issue with mod_security installed on the server (Post to help fixing it: http://www.chronosight.net/view/2007...ed-apache.html)


Originally Posted by zelnik View Post
Is anyone else having various wrong/odd descriptions in the who is online page?

I get things like this:

Unknown Location
/forum/clientscript/mgc_cb_evo_add/css/indicator.gif

etc
Bring up the error console in firefox or set ie to show errors and see if they display.


Originally Posted by poolking View Post
Yes, tested it myself in Internet Explorer and doesn't work.
2 people then? Test it across multiple to make sure the issue is replicable.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2366  
Old 29 Aug 2008, 13:04
zelnik zelnik is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Originally Posted by Ranger187 View Post
Bring up the error console in firefox or set ie to show errors and see if they display.
Thank you for taking the time in replying, I've had a look in the FF error console and although I've not located that that error I have found several of the other "unknown location" errors whilst viewing the whois and they are as follows:

Error: syntax error
Source File: http://www.myspain.es/forum/plaza/cl...d/js/jquery.js
Line: 1
Source Code:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

-----

Error: syntax error
Source File: http://www.myspain.es/forum/plaza/cl...utocomplete.js
Line: 1
Source Code:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

----

Error: vBulletin is undefined
Source File: http://www.myspain.es/forum/plaza/cl..._menu.js?v=373
Line: 11

------

Error: YAHOO is not defined
Source File: http://www.myspain.es/forum/plaza/cl...lobal.js?v=373
Line: 11

--------------

Error: syntax error
Source File: http://www.myspain.es/forum/plaza/cl...n-min.js?v=373
Line: 1
Source Code:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

------

Error: syntax error
Source File: http://www.myspain.es/forum/plaza/cl...event.js?v=373
Line: 1
Source Code:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

---------

The odd thing is I'm not sure why it is calling it from that location as the only place the shoutbox is located is on the main forum index page..

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Perhaps It's a problem with vBSEO?

Last edited by zelnik; 29 Aug 2008 at 13:17.
Reply With Quote
  #2367  
Old 29 Aug 2008, 14:02
Ranger187 Ranger187 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Ohhhhhhhh...... Your running SEO too? Try disabling SEO.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2368  
Old 29 Aug 2008, 17:40
zelnik zelnik is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Originally Posted by Ranger187 View Post
Ohhhhhhhh...... Your running SEO too? Try disabling SEO.
Disable SEO completely? hell no

Is there a way of getting it to ignore just the shoutbox?

Thanks for all your help ranger!

These rewrite rules don't seem to do anything with v1.0

'mgc_cb_evo\.php$' => 'chatbox.html'
'mgc_cb_evo\.php\?do=view_chatbox$' => 'chatbox.html'
'mgc_cb_evo\.php\?do=view_archives&page=(\d+)' => 'chatbox/archiv/page-$1.html'
'mgc_cb_evo\.php\?do=view_archives$' => 'chatbox/archiv/page-1/'

Last edited by zelnik; 29 Aug 2008 at 17:48.
Reply With Quote
  #2369  
Old 29 Aug 2008, 18:25
gpc10347 gpc10347 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
<can of worms>

I have talkerbot working on my site and of course, mgc chat is working well too.. Anyone else have both and - figured out some code to make the talkerbot a part of the chat?

</end worms>
Reply With Quote
  #2370  
Old 29 Aug 2008, 20:30
glennybee glennybee is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I am running VBSEO and I noticed that when someone pastes a url into the chatbox, it appears as a link (which is ok) but it shows up as the link and not the actual title of the page. Is there something I can do either in the mods or via vbseo cp that could make it show the title?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:20.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: