Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 27 Nov 2016, 22:25
Big Kahuna's Avatar
Big Kahuna Big Kahuna is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Instructions to Replicate and replace a page

About a month or so ago, I was editing the page

http://www.moparstyle.com/forums/index.php

and it got hosed. At first I could get into the page edit and try to modify the module (html), but I'd get an error message when I tried to save th module.

After upgrading to 5.25 now when I edit the page I can't drag a new module into position, move and existing one, or edit an existing module.

I have no problem editing any other page, so I assume the record for the page must be hosed. I've tried repairing the database and it has no effect.

Do I need to delete the old and create a new page? If so what would the exact steps be?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27 Nov 2016, 23:02
shimei shimei is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
So you can't save in Sitebuilder. And Sitebuilder no longer operates correctly? And this is only on the index page? I have seen these errors before.

Are you using Tapatalk, the reason I ask this here, there, and everywhere (Dr. Suess) is because I have seen these types of errors from the Tapatalk plugin. They just recently released an update fixing these issues in 1.1.4.

I'd disable all products and hooks, and try using Sitebuilder again, just to be sure it is not an error caused by a 3rd party product.

Enjoy,
William
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27 Nov 2016, 23:44
Big Kahuna's Avatar
Big Kahuna Big Kahuna is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Nope, never heard of Tapatalk in all honesty, and I've not installed a single addon. When this happened, I'd done quite a few edits to adjust the page without any other change to VB and the server.

I'd just added OpenX (whatever they're called now) code in a html module, and realize i'd not centered it. I went back to surround with <center> and it wouldn't save.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28 Nov 2016, 20:57
noypiscripter's Avatar
noypiscripter noypiscripter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Disable the PHP, HTML and Ad modules rendering option in AdminCP temporarily.

AdminCP > Settings > Options > General Settings > Disable PHP, Static HTML, and Ad Module rendering > No
__________________
Glenn Vergara, an ex-vB Developer, now a vB Mod Developer

GIPHY for vB5 | AutoLinker | Video Attachments Player | New Registered Users Module | Clear System Cache Cron | DragNDrop Upload | Topic AJAX AutoUpdate | Force Read Topic
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29 Nov 2016, 23:24
Big Kahuna's Avatar
Big Kahuna Big Kahuna is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Originally Posted by noypiscripter View Post
Disable the PHP, HTML and Ad modules rendering option in AdminCP temporarily.

AdminCP > Settings > Options > General Settings > Disable PHP, Static HTML, and Ad Module rendering > No


and then what?

--------------- Added 29 Nov 2016 at 23:36 ---------------

Ok Thanks,

I was able to modify when turned off, but it appears to be a temporary fix, as when I turn back on - the changes do take effect - but I have to turn off again to make any further changes. Is there a permanent fix?
__________________

Last edited by Big Kahuna; 29 Nov 2016 at 23:36.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29 Nov 2016, 23:58
Replicant's Avatar
Replicant Replicant is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Real name: Mel
More than likely, there is an extra tag or unclosed tag in your code that is interfering with site-builder. If you want to post the code so we can look at it to find the issue or by pm if you want to keep the code private.
__________________
VB5 mods - RepliClock VB4 mods - Member Online Status
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30 Nov 2016, 01:50
Big Kahuna's Avatar
Big Kahuna Big Kahuna is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
What I did was just click on Edit Page, drag a HTML widget onto the page, pasted some OpenX code into it, and saved. Then when I realized I didn't center, I Edit Page again and surrounded with <center> code, and got hosed when I saved.

So, that's the long way of saying that I'm not sure of if you're talking about the HTML code in the Widget, or if there's code to the entire page you'd like to look at?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30 Nov 2016, 04:26
Replicant's Avatar
Replicant Replicant is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Real name: Mel
The code in the widget.
__________________
VB5 mods - RepliClock VB4 mods - Member Online Status
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30 Nov 2016, 17:29
noypiscripter's Avatar
noypiscripter noypiscripter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
You have to make sure that the HTML code in the HTML module has:

1. no mismatched/unclosed tags

Did you close the <center> tags with </center>? Btw, center tags are already deprecated (although browsers may still render them properly. You can use vB5's predefined utility CSS class h-align-center to center elements.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

or


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

2. no doctype, <html>, <head>, <body> tags. Otherwise, you will have duplicates as the page already has them and you will get unexpected browser behavior.
__________________
Glenn Vergara, an ex-vB Developer, now a vB Mod Developer

GIPHY for vB5 | AutoLinker | Video Attachments Player | New Registered Users Module | Clear System Cache Cron | DragNDrop Upload | Topic AJAX AutoUpdate | Force Read Topic
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03 Dec 2016, 15:48
Big Kahuna's Avatar
Big Kahuna Big Kahuna is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
I just deleted all of mt HTML widgets and recreated, and that solved it.

Thanks to both for pointing me in the right direction. Tried to click thanks on both, but says I have to give others thanks first.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:44.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: