Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Ventrilo Status v1.0 Details »
Ventrilo Status v1.0
Mod Version: 1.1, by magnus (Member) magnus is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.4 Rating: (10 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 107
Released: 19 Apr 2006 Last Update: 31 Mar 2008 Downloads: 951
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

Keywords: Ventrilo, Voice, Chat, VoIP, FORUMHOME

Description:
Displays clients connected to your Ventrilo server on your FORUMHOME -- similar to that of "Who's Online".
Details:
Basically, this is a modified version of the publically available PHP Ventrilo Status Scripts. This version, however, has been modified to allow for direct vBulletin integration. All settings are managed through the AdminCP and all output is configured via templates.

Usage of this script requires knowledge of Ventrilo server administration. Your server must first be configured to receive and process UDP messages. This can be done in the server's INI file under the [Status] section. All server versions 2.1.2 and higher come with examples showing the options available to you. However, the UDP support is disabled by default so that they are compliant with older versions. Reference the "ventrilo_srv.htm" file that accompanies the server package for more details.

This thread on vBulletin.org will not address proper server configuration or server related connectivity issues, for all questions relating to those topics or similar, please visit the official Ventrilo Tech Support forums.

Installation:
1. Download the attached archive and import the product-ventrilo_status.xml file via the Product Manager.

2. Upload the files located in the archive to their respective folders.

3. Obtain the ventrilo_status* (or ventrilo_status.exe for Win32 platforms) and put it in a preferred location (ie. /forum/) and CHMOD the file to 755.

4. Configure the options via your AdminCP (vBulletin Options > Ventrilo Status Settings)
Version History:
  • 1.0 - Initial release, here's to hoping...
  • 1.1
    • Patched a theoretical XSS vulnerability. By theoretical, I mean the script would only be vulnerable under a specific set of circumstances which are less likely to occur than that of your server being directly hit by an errant meteor. However, if you're the paranoid sort, feel free to upgrade. Otherwise, there are no other changes.

* The file ventrilo_status(.exe) is NOT included with this package as it is distributed with the Ventrilo server package (Linux/Win32). If you are not personally hosting your Ventrilo server and instead using a hosting company, you can obtain this file by downloading the appropriate package here. You ONLY need the ventrilo_status(.exe) file.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	ventrilostatus_screenshot.jpg
Views:	2805
Size:	36.3 KB
ID:	46032   Click image for larger version

Name:	ventrilostatus_config.jpg
Views:	2895
Size:	72.1 KB
ID:	46034  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 19 Apr 2006, 13:55
magnus's Avatar
magnus magnus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Post reserved for future configuration options.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19 Apr 2006, 20:02
Hell³ Hell³ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
I've been looking for something like this for quite some time, so I thank you very much for it, but apparently I have an issue. I installed it and it's not showing up on my forumhome, I have other mods there like "members who have posted" and "members who have visited", you think that might be interfering with the instalation?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19 Apr 2006, 20:19
marshalross marshalross is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I am having the same issuse here. I don't have anyother mods in that area though. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19 Apr 2006, 20:29
magnus's Avatar
magnus magnus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
I'm an idiot. I forgot to include the templates in the MASTER STYLE. Download the new archive and re-import the product (xml), be sure to select the Overwrite option.

Sorry about that.

Last edited by magnus; 19 Apr 2006 at 20:41.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19 Apr 2006, 21:28
Hell³ Hell³ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
No worries and thanks again for this product.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19 Apr 2006, 23:36
Mr Chad's Avatar
Mr Chad Mr Chad is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
holy shit, this looks tight, too bad i pissed off my host
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 03:33
Replicators's Avatar
Replicators Replicators is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
FINALLY, all i have to say is FINALLY someone decided to do this, this has been requested for sometime now.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20 Apr 2006, 04:35
magnus's Avatar
magnus magnus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Yea, I found it odd that no one had done this yet. All the work was already done by the Ventrilo team -- all I had to do was integrate it into vBulletin, which was the easy part.

I'm about to release the next version which is more customizable and has more details. Stay tuned.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22 Apr 2006, 04:36
Replicators's Avatar
Replicators Replicators is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
I am having problems with this, but it is not your fault or this hacks. I have a shared webhost through www.powweb.com and when it says to upload the ventrilo_status.exe and then CHMOD it to 755, i don't think my site can run that! It is a freebsd server after all. I saw on the ventrilo website that they have third party php scripts.

So basically this tells me that your webhost has to be on a windows machine in order for this to work. More than 75% of websites are not hosted on windows machines.

Unless i am just dumb and don't know what i am talking about.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22 Apr 2006, 07:09
jellybeanz jellybeanz is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
My clan has a private ventrilo server. I was wondering if its possible to have an option that hides it from certain usergroups? I searched through the forums for generic example of how to show based on usergroup but I'm not sure how to do this or which templates to modify.

Thanks for the script.

Just found out the original author of the ventrilo script updated it. It seems he was selling it but seems he is frustrated trying to support the script and is thinking about releasing it as open source. It would be nice if he does release it but it's just a maybe for now.
Here's the link http://www.backhallnades.net/vbullet...?page=ventdemo

One last thing I just found out my host will not allow queries outside their firewall. I was able to upload and run the original ventrilo script on the webspace they provide. Would it be possible to changed to includes to use the php files located on the ventrilo webhost from a remote webhost?

Last edited by jellybeanz; 22 Apr 2006 at 08:08.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22 Apr 2006, 17:13
magnus's Avatar
magnus magnus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by Replicators
I am having problems with this, but it is not your fault or this hacks. I have a shared webhost through www.powweb.com and when it says to upload the ventrilo_status.exe and then CHMOD it to 755, i don't think my site can run that! It is a freebsd server after all. I saw on the ventrilo website that they have third party php scripts.

So basically this tells me that your webhost has to be on a windows machine in order for this to work. More than 75% of websites are not hosted on windows machines.

Unless i am just dumb and don't know what i am talking about.
You shouldn't be uploading an .exe file to a unix-based host. Download the FreeBSD server package and use the included ventrilo_status file. I, personally, use this on my Debian machine.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22 Apr 2006, 17:15
magnus's Avatar
magnus magnus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by jellybeanz
My clan has a private ventrilo server. I was wondering if its possible to have an option that hides it from certain usergroups? I searched through the forums for generic example of how to show based on usergroup but I'm not sure how to do this or which templates to modify.

Thanks for the script.

Just found out the original author of the ventrilo script updated it. It seems he was selling it but seems he is frustrated trying to support the script and is thinking about releasing it as open source. It would be nice if he does release it but it's just a maybe for now.
Here's the link http://www.backhallnades.net/vbullet...?page=ventdemo

One last thing I just found out my host will not allow queries outside their firewall. I was able to upload and run the original ventrilo script on the webspace they provide. Would it be possible to changed to includes to use the php files located on the ventrilo webhost from a remote webhost?
I can add in usergroup support, that's not a problem. Also, that script you're showing is completely different than the one I am using. The basis for this hack was developed on the code created by the Ventrilo development team themselves.

As for not allowing queries, I'm afraid you've lost me. The only thing the hosting server needs to do is allow status requests, if they won't allow that, then this hack will not work for you. There's no way around that.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01 May 2006, 09:28
gator777's Avatar
gator777 gator777 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Great work magnus! Installed and works like a champ. I only wish you could create a VBAdvanced block module to have it show in a block on my main page.

Adding channel cats would be great also.

Thanks for all your hard work.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08 May 2006, 21:03
wichall wichall is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Ok so i decided to go with VBAdvanced instead of MKPortal :P I could really use this on the VBAdvanced portal in a block but my knowledge of PHP is non-existent would be really cool if you could do this . There is also a php nuke module for ventrilo http://phpnuke.org/modules.php?name=...ticle&sid=7791 which includes channels etc too but again i have no idea how to port this to VB :P

Thanks and fanatastic hack by the way

Last edited by wichall; 09 May 2006 at 18:06.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:03.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: