Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Vbulletin Rss Views Feed 2.0.1 Details »
Vbulletin Rss Views Feed 2.0.1
Mod Version: 2.0.1, by Atakan KOC (Coder) Atakan KOC is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (10 votes - 4.30 average) Installs: 111
Released: 08 Jun 2006 Last Update: Never Downloads: 1033
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

Vbulletin RSS View Feeds for vBulletin 3.6.0 Beta 1


Installation

Installation in two easy steps:

1. Upload all the files from the "files" directory
in this zip into your forums directory.

2. Import product-vbrssview.xml as a product.
(Via "Plugin System" > "Manage Products" >
"Add/Import Product" in your Admin CP.)


Upload

news.php == forum/news.php
xmlparser.php == forum/includes/xmlparser.php


Template Change

Template: navbar

now open your navbar template:
Admincp >> Styles & Templates >> Style Manager >> *template* >> navbar

Find this code


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	picture1.gif
Views:	5361
Size:	19.1 KB
ID:	49060   Click image for larger version

Name:	picture2.gif
Views:	6012
Size:	32.4 KB
ID:	49061  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #46  
Old 27 Sep 2006, 07:25
Hornstar's Avatar
Hornstar Hornstar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Matt
Is there a live demo anyone that has it working on vb 3.6.1

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 06 Oct 2006, 19:37
ThomasR ThomasR is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
How this product is working? I installed it on my 3.6.1, I can open the news.php, but where do I setup it? how do I add the RSS feeds?
The only RSS options in my admincp are only the vbulletin 3.6 ones (which I don't want to use, this product system seems better)

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 15 Oct 2006, 06:15
ktaylor ktaylor is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
This hack works in conjunction with the RSS feeds module that comes with VB 3.6.1. In order to set up your RSS feeds, you have to use that vb module to do your setup.. otherwise, everything else is modified in the coding of the files.

My question is that i have everything set up, updated my rss feeds but i get a command that says "syndicated content not available". not sure why i would get this message if vb is seeing and updating the RSS feeds section.

Anyone come across this and know what to do?
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 17 Oct 2006, 15:59
Slave's Avatar
Slave Slave is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by ktaylor
This hack works in conjunction with the RSS feeds module that comes with VB 3.6.1. In order to set up your RSS feeds, you have to use that vb module to do your setup.. otherwise, everything else is modified in the coding of the files.

My question is that i have everything set up, updated my rss feeds but i get a command that says "syndicated content not available". not sure why i would get this message if vb is seeing and updating the RSS feeds section.

Anyone come across this and know what to do?
I've seen this a couple of times on my install. It seems it's just a hiccup between the 2 servers meaning they didn't connect. Just refresh the page and you should be fine, unless the server the feed is coming from is down

Remember that vB isn't storing the info, it's getting the feed when you request it ..
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 18 Oct 2006, 20:06
ktaylor ktaylor is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Well, the RSS Feed Manager (via VB 3.6.2) is seeing the new RSS threads, so i doubt the server feed is down... the software just doesn't want to display them or something....I just don't quite get it.

just to verify tho... are the feeds supposed to be turned on (via checkmark in the box) or turned off? in order to get it working property, did you have to reinstall/reload the rss feeds and start out with a clean RSS Feed Manager slate?

I figure if it's working for everyone else, it must be something i'm doing wrong...

maybe it's because i'm on 3.6.2 and not 3.6.0 beta 1???

Last edited by ktaylor; 18 Oct 2006 at 20:16.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 18 Oct 2006, 20:37
Slave's Avatar
Slave Slave is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
I think you've missed my point

When you enter a feed url into the vB RSS feed manager you are telling vB to show the RSS feed, via threads in a certain forum.

All this hack does is read the urls from within the vB RSS feed manager and list them on its own list.

If you don't want the vB RSS feed manager to show the feed in threads then you need to untick the feeds within the manager. This will not stop the feeds from showing in the hacks list.

However, the list of feeds in the list on the hack page are just that, a list of URLs to the feeds. So when you double click a feed, or click the button after highlighting a feed all you are doing is telling the hack to go and retrieve the feeds data and display it. If at this point the hack web page can't connect to the server the feed is based on then you will get the error message.

I hope that helps clear the situation up.

If it is something that is happening everytime then there might be something wrong with the URL of the feed .. OR .. perhaps it's a RSS version that the hack can't understand .. not sure to be honest as I didn't write the hack
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 19 Oct 2006, 14:47
johns_ar johns_ar is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
great hack

thanks very much
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 19 Oct 2006, 15:10
johns_ar johns_ar is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
can i edit what the template says, cant seem to find it when searching through

just wanting to change "Double Click or selected table item and Send It button." to something else

Last edited by johns_ar; 19 Oct 2006 at 15:13.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 20 Oct 2006, 22:27
JustinBr JustinBr is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Fantastic hack, installed perfectly on a heavily modified 3.6.2 board.

Question, I am using this to load about 90 RSS feeds, is there a way to Alphabatize the order that the feeds are listed?

That would be icing on the cake!

Also, under the description of each headline/article there is a clickable link labeled "Comment". I click it, the page reloads and nothing happens. What was this feature for and is it possible just to remove the link for "Comment" ?

Last edited by JustinBr; 20 Oct 2006 at 22:55.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 23 Oct 2006, 02:45
silverleaf silverleaf is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Photos are not showing on my feed. I have a feed that has encoded content. I switched the body template to show encoded instead of description. My preview feed shows image tags, however the feed on my news page still just shows text. I know this stuff is cached, but how do I get my images to show?

http://nwphotoforum.com/forums/news.php

Neatorama feed should have images.

What up?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 04 Nov 2006, 23:48
romolus's Avatar
romolus romolus is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
when I try to import product (product vbrssnews.xml) I have this error:


* Bitfield Collision: canadminvbgooglemaphse = canadminvbjournal

please help thanks.

www.comicportal.lu
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 16 Nov 2006, 09:34
mahakala's Avatar
mahakala mahakala is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Originally Posted by jluerken View Post
aGa I asked the same for German Characters but never got an answer
got the same problem

i think we have to insert a replace-funtion in xmlparser.php - maybe before xml_parser_free($xml_parser); with $data ?!

greets,
thomas
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 16 Dec 2006, 17:10
egyptsons's Avatar
egyptsons egyptsons is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Egypt
Real name: Ahmed Salah
dose not work with 3.5.X
__________________
EgyptSons.com
Photo Gallery
Upload Files
Html4Arab.com
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 09 Jan 2007, 12:58
TrIn@dOr TrIn@dOr is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Do anyone know a mod like this but oriented for each user?

In other words, wouldn't be nice if each user have the abilitie to config hes own feeds?
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 13 Jan 2007, 20:55
Ninth Dimension's Avatar
Ninth Dimension Ninth Dimension is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Daniel Hollands
This is a great hack, I have it installed at http://theice.co.uk/news.php - one suggestion however, to let members add their own feeds... if you could do that, this truly would be a fantastic tool
__________________
Daniel Hollands - http://theworldofdan.co.uk/
Interactive Story Site - http://unknowntales.net/
TheICE.co.uk Network - http://theice.co.uk/
Arathor Realm Forums - http://arathor.net/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:46.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: