Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05 Oct 2008, 19:27
induslady induslady is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Find all threads by $username

Hello

I have a requirement which details as below:

In my navbar I want a menu item for "Find all threads by $username". This menu item should have an input field so that the user enters a name xyz in that field. When they hit the "GO" button it should output the result of all the threads started by the particular user xyz.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05 Oct 2008, 20:20
aeturner89 aeturner89 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
You can already do that on the advanced search page.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06 Oct 2008, 11:38
induslady induslady is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Hello

Can you tell me in detail.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06 Oct 2008, 11:54
Chris11987 Chris11987 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
I think they want to know how to make it similar to the "Search" drop down in the navbar, instead of having to go through the advanced search page.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06 Oct 2008, 16:38
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Try this for the link:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19 Aug 2009, 00:57
yotsume's Avatar
yotsume yotsume is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Question

I need to include a link to find all threads by the logged in users the same way a link is on their profile page under the statistics tab.

How can I code that? The suggestion above link takes me to an error message:
Invalid User specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator
I am trying to include a link in a vbadvanced block and cant get it to work.

Thanks!
__________________
Yotsume
Kaydev Media Productions
Check out my mods
:
EYO-AIM, FlashChat Combo-Module for vBadvanced 3.6x or 3.7x
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19 Aug 2009, 01:18
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
It really helps if you paste exactly what code you used and tell us what template you put it in. And, it would help if you would either give us a link to see what is happening or paste what the page source is in the page.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19 Aug 2009, 09:34
yotsume's Avatar
yotsume yotsume is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
It really helps if you paste exactly what code you used and tell us what template you put it in. And, it would help if you would either give us a link to see what is happening or paste what the page source is in the page.

I am trying to use your above suggested code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I need to have a link on my vbadvanced homepage in a vba block that when clicked whatever logged in user will be taken to all their threads they have posted.

I already posted a thread over on the vba forum... I figured I would ask here since the link in this thread is what I need to have as well but on a vba page.
__________________
Yotsume
Kaydev Media Productions
Check out my mods
:
EYO-AIM, FlashChat Combo-Module for vBadvanced 3.6x or 3.7x
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19 Aug 2009, 17:42
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
You can't leave it at www.yoursite.org . You need to change that to be your site url. And, I have no idea if your vbulletin stuff is in another folder, like /forum. If so, the link needs to be changed to reflect that. Not being able to have any details like that makes it very hard to debug.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19 Aug 2009, 17:55
yotsume's Avatar
yotsume yotsume is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
You can't leave it at www.yoursite.org . You need to change that to be your site url. And, I have no idea if your vbulletin stuff is in another folder, like /forum. If so, the link needs to be changed to reflect that. Not being able to have any details like that makes it very hard to debug.
HAHAHA Yea sorry but I did change the link to my site and the "other stuff" aka vbadvanced is installed in my root so no added dir in the link. The vbadvanced seems to be ignoring some of the other parts of the url that are conditional...
__________________
Yotsume
Kaydev Media Productions
Check out my mods
:
EYO-AIM, FlashChat Combo-Module for vBadvanced 3.6x or 3.7x
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 19 Aug 2009, 18:24
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Well, hopefully they can help you with that cuz I don't know anything about vBa really.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:39.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: