Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Automatic Thread Closing Details »
Automatic Thread Closing
Mod Version: 1.80, by ralle89 (Member) ralle89 is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (10 votes - 4.90 average) Installs: 156
Released: 19 Nov 2008 Last Update: Never Downloads: 465
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

Hello guys this is my first mod ported for 3.7, it still works on 3.6 though!

Features:
  • Make a list of forums to either restrict the add-on to or exclude the addon from the list
  • Option to close sticky threads or not
  • Enable/disable hack
  • Set timelimit
  • All settings can be set in ACP
  • Option to close thread after X amount of posts
  • Allow certain usergroups to bypass the hack
Why?
I was getting tired of all those people necro-posting, posting in threads that are up to three years old. This is my solution

Time to install:
Less than one minute

History:
1.00 release
1.10 threadbit display closed
1.20 all settings through ACP
1.30 close thread after reply-count
1.40 bugfix
1.50 dunno what I did
1.60 option to exclude or restrict to the list of forum ids


After billions of requests, I have finally done what you did!

Note
Don't forget to click Mark as Installed!
Also, my testing system is down but the worst this hack can cause is a syntax error.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks Automatic Thread Closing ralle89 vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 104 15 Sep 2010 21:23
Reason for closing thread Xenon vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 176 18 Jun 2003 03:56

  #16  
Old 07 Dec 2008, 10:59
Infnty Infnty is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Time, is this hours, days or whats the go?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07 Dec 2008, 11:00
Infnty Infnty is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
My bad just noticed the field under it
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 24 Dec 2008, 11:47
spaceČ spaceČ is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Great, thank you!
The feature to set a timelimit was exactly what I searched for...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 29 Apr 2009, 11:58
Jalo Jalo is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Does anyone know if this works on 3.8.2 ?

Thanks!

Jan
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09 May 2009, 05:29
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
I'm about to find out...

I would assume this runs via a cron job but I don't see anything listed under Scheduled Tasks...


Added:

1. yes, it works like a charm for vBulletinversion 3.82

2. I don't know how it works but I just enabled a few minutes ago and it's already locked the appropriate threads. I'm still curious as to how it's triggered, though.

Last edited by djbaxter; 09 May 2009 at 05:39.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 09 May 2009, 13:19
ralle89 ralle89 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Real name: Rasmus Abrahamsen
It simply checks the date and if it's too old and fits the right forum, it will appear locked. That's all. No database changes at all.
__________________
If you want something done, do it yourself or you won't be satisfied with it.
Build a man a fire and he will be warm for a day; set him on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
Visit my Warcraft 3 website http://www.hiveworkshop.com/
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09 May 2009, 13:26
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Originally Posted by djbaxter View Post
I would assume this runs via a cron job but I don't see anything listed under Scheduled Tasks...

I'm still curious as to how it's triggered...
Originally Posted by ralle89 View Post
It simply checks the date and if it's too old and fits the right forum, it will appear locked. That's all. No database changes at all.
My question was: How is it triggered? It can't be running continuously, I assume. How often does it check for age of threads? And using what mechanism?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09 May 2009, 13:44
ralle89 ralle89 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Real name: Rasmus Abrahamsen
Can't you just view the code?
Well it runs when needed, it's not a cronjob. It just runs with showthread and modifies the output.
__________________
If you want something done, do it yourself or you won't be satisfied with it.
Build a man a fire and he will be warm for a day; set him on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
Visit my Warcraft 3 website http://www.hiveworkshop.com/
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09 May 2009, 13:59
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Originally Posted by ralle89 View Post
Can't you just view the code?
Well it runs when needed, it's not a cronjob. It just runs with showthread and modifies the output.
Thank you. There... was that so difficult?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09 May 2009, 18:50
ralle89 ralle89 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Real name: Rasmus Abrahamsen
Lol. No not really.
__________________
If you want something done, do it yourself or you won't be satisfied with it.
Build a man a fire and he will be warm for a day; set him on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
Visit my Warcraft 3 website http://www.hiveworkshop.com/
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10 May 2009, 12:18
merkaz merkaz is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
So Nice

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 27 May 2009, 18:15
masterme's Avatar
masterme masterme is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Can this also be used to close a thread automaticly after x posts have been made?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 28 May 2009, 12:39
Jalo Jalo is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Installed but for some reason the icons do not indicate that the thread is closed. Any suggestions?

Manually closing a thread does show the right icon.

Jan
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 29 May 2009, 16:47
ralle89 ralle89 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Real name: Rasmus Abrahamsen
Originally Posted by Jalo View Post
Installed but for some reason the icons do not indicate that the thread is closed. Any suggestions?

Manually closing a thread does show the right icon.

Jan
Can you send a screenshot? Are you sure the thread lives up to the conditions of when it should be closed?

Originally Posted by masterme View Post
Can this also be used to close a thread automaticly after x posts have been made?
yeah "Option to close thread after X amount of thread" is supposed to mean that :P
__________________
If you want something done, do it yourself or you won't be satisfied with it.
Build a man a fire and he will be warm for a day; set him on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
Visit my Warcraft 3 website http://www.hiveworkshop.com/
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 29 May 2009, 21:37
my_aly's Avatar
my_aly my_aly is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Thank you
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:15.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: