Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 15 Oct 2009, 12:38
tahrim's Avatar
tahrim tahrim is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
domin question

can i use one vbulletin in two or three domin our database will same i mean to say we want to use 1 database for both 3 domin.. is it possible?
__________________

Last edited by tahrim; 15 Oct 2009 at 14:01.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15 Oct 2009, 15:39
JamesC70 JamesC70 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
It can be done, but may require multiple licenses (one per domain).

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=103150
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19 Oct 2009, 10:30
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
You may point as many domains as you want to the same forum with a single license. The information shown must be the same regardless the domain used. It is not allowed to create different content based on the domain using a single license.

PS This question could best be asked on the official Pre-Sales forums at vBulletn.com
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23 Oct 2009, 15:54
tahrim's Avatar
tahrim tahrim is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
yes same thing i want to use same thing like http://www.bdpplz.com/vforum/drama/
also http://www.bdetc.com/vforum/drama/
http://www.bdstuentscafe.com/vforum/drama/
is it possible with one license
if yes then how can i do?
please give me this informations link

Thanks in advance
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23 Oct 2009, 17:31
Attitude Attitude is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
You will have to individually redirect two of your the domains to the third one. For this you will have to log in to your domain manager. Have a domain as a default domain on which you have vBulletin installed. Redirect the other two so that when people open those addresses, it opens the third address. But you have to own the domains you want to redirect, and I believe they need to be active. E.g. I clicked on your bdetc.com and bdstudentscafe.com, it says accounts suspended. So you will have to check them out.

HTH

G
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24 Oct 2009, 05:14
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
As already mentioned, questions regarding licenses should be asked at vBulletin.com.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27 Oct 2009, 04:18
RenatoMN's Avatar
RenatoMN RenatoMN is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Originally Posted by tahrim View Post
yes same thing i want to use same thing like http://www.bdpplz.com/vforum/drama/
also http://www.bdetc.com/vforum/drama/
http://www.bdstuentscafe.com/vforum/drama/
is it possible with one license
if yes then how can i do?
please give me this informations link

Thanks in advance
It's not possible, however, it is:

http://forum.bdpplz.com
http://forum.bdetc.com
http://forum.bdstudentscafe.com

Install the vBulletin software in one of these addresses (create a subdomain of main domain), then point the other 2 for it. It's easy if you cPanel or any other control panel software. If you need to do it manually, add this DNS entry in the master zone of the 2 "mirrors" domains.

Supposing you installed the forum in http://forum.bdpplz.com, add the entry below to both bdetc.com and bdstudentscafe.com dns master zones:

forum IN CNAME forum.bdpplz.com.

Note1: you don't need to use forum.domain.com, type simply "forum" as above.
Note2: don't forget the ending dot after the real forum domain (in red).

More info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CNAME_record

It's fully allowed by vB license, as the content will be identical, just accessed through different domains. Also, the URL will not change when you access forum.mirrordomain.com (e.g.: you continue seeing forum.mirrordomain.com/usercp.php).

Tip: try to NOT include the domain name in the cookie config (leave it blank), to allow domain-cross sessions (a user who logins in forum.bdpplz.com will be automatically logged when accessing forum.bdetc.com). You may need to configure a cookie prefix in vBulletin's config.php to avoid people being unlogged after navigating in other vBulletin forums with the same config (the prefix don't need to identificate a specific domain or all the set, just chose something unique, e.g.: "bdpplz_").

I hope this info is helpful.

-- last note:

You will need to add in your vBulletin Admin CP > vBulletin Options > General Config, in the "allowed domains" sections:

.domain2.com
.domain3.com

Until you do this, users will not be able to post thread/replies from the 2 alternative domains (maybe can't even register).

Last edited by RenatoMN; 27 Oct 2009 at 07:22. Reason: Inform about ending dot in CNAME and the note about POST
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:09.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: