Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vbCoupons - offer money-off coupons for paid subscriptions Details »
vbCoupons - offer money-off coupons for paid subscriptions
Mod Version: 1.4, by ringleader (Member) ringleader is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2011 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.9 Rating: (6 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 92
Released: 22 Mar 2008 Last Update: 15 Apr 2008 Downloads: 574
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations  

vbCoupons v1.4


About this mod:

This hack allows the user to input a coupon code that deducts the value of it from the subscription costs before they go to pay for a subscription.

For example:
1. You advertise for new members and have and advert saying 'Join before the end of April and get 40% off the first month! Just register and enter coupon code OFFER1"
2. In Admincp -> vbCoupons you configure a coupon called OFFER1 with value of 40, and set a date for the validity of the coupon.
3. User registers, and enters coupon code OFFER1 on the payments.php page. The page updates the normal subscription prices to reflect the offer. Then they go to pay for it.

Notes:

1. Since the offer code expires when you set it to, the users will not be able to renew with that coupon unless the subscription runs out before the coupon validity does; thus it's better to use short-validity coupons and constantly change them.
2. The value of the coupon in the Admin Panel is given as a monetary value, e.g. a coupon with value 3.50 will give $3.50 (3.50; 3.50, depending on currencies activated) off paid subscription before the user goes to pay for it.

Features:

* Manage Coupons: Singly Add/Edit/Delete; Mass-delete.
* Set coupon valid for particular subscription ID's.
* Limit use by date or times it can be used.
* Mass-Generate coupons for distribution.
* Generate coupon discount codes and post to a new thread in a specified forum. A message may be sent with the codes. You can decide the thread title too.
* Input on features you would like to see for this hack is very welcome, but may not be possible to implement.

Time to install: 5 mins

UPGRADING: Do NOT choose 'yes' to overwrite an old xml or you will get an error!

Updates:

Version 1.0 (22nd March 2008):

* Release of this hack for vBulletin version 3.6.8
* This version should work on all vBulletin versions from 3.5.4 and up

Version 1.1 (25th March 2008):

* Fixed missing phrase
* Fixed non-functioning template call

Version 1.2 +1.3 (30th March 2008):

* Added coupon generator to this version
* Added ability to limit coupons to only be valid for a particular paid subscription.

Version 1.4 (14th April 2008):

* Generate coupons and post to thread
* Coupons can be limited to one or more subscriptionids
* MONETARY VALUES RATHER THAN PERCENTAGES ARE USED FROM NOW ON


MAKE SURE YOU CLICK INSTALL!
If you like this hack and use it then

Pictures (attached):

1. User (payments.php): Normal view before user adds a coupon that you configured in the admincp.
2. User (payments.php): View after the user adds a coupon to their account, with the new prices reflecting it.
3. Admin: Manage Existing Coupons
4. Admin: Add a single coupon discount code
5. Admin: Mass-generate coupons
6. Admin: Mass-generate coupons and post to a new thread
7. User: Thread view of mass-generated and posted coupon discount codes

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	user_before_coupon.jpg
Views:	823
Size:	29.3 KB
ID:	77610   Click image for larger version

Name:	user_after_coupon.jpg
Views:	631
Size:	31.5 KB
ID:	77611   Click image for larger version

Name:	admin_manage_coupons.jpg
Views:	396
Size:	31.6 KB
ID:	78748   Click image for larger version

Name:	admin_add_coupon.jpg
Views:	323
Size:	31.1 KB
ID:	78749  

Click image for larger version

Name:	admin_generatecoupons.jpg
Views:	359
Size:	31.1 KB
ID:	78750   Click image for larger version

Name:	admin_generatepost_coupons.jpg
Views:	387
Size:	42.7 KB
ID:	78751   Click image for larger version

Name:	user_thread_view.JPG
Views:	543
Size:	29.5 KB
ID:	78752  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Automated money bar to encourage paid subscriptions calorie vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 30 10 Jul 2007 22:42

  #121  
Old 07 Apr 2008, 13:22
ringleader's Avatar
ringleader ringleader is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Fran
Originally Posted by Rickeo View Post
Not working for me I did everything the install instructions said but when I import the product I can't find vbcoupons anywhere in the admincp and when I manually go to the file in admincp it just shows a table with no options or anything to add coupons please fix this my whole forum opening is kind of relying on this mod lol
Refresh your admincp and it should show the menu on the left.

Originally Posted by DssCrazy View Post
problems found. when you gen a key if use is set to 1 it will not work. idk why that is.
I think it's just because of a conditional I have checking it's > than 1 that should be checking if it's greater than or equal to 1

also can you add a future to 1 click del all coupon codes this will come in handy.
Sure. I actually only thought of that when I had finished the last update!

Originally Posted by bada_bing View Post
Great Mod.. I have this installed on one of my sites bus hesitant to install on my other site unless the bug I and someone else mentioned, any updates?
I have no idea what is going on there bada_bing. The way this works, your error should not even be able to occur.

I will be re-writing this during the week to clean it up a lot and remove any possible errors.
Hopefully any of you who have errors with the current version will have them resolved in the next.
__________________
Awesome. Awesome to the max.
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 09 Apr 2008, 15:54
ChurchMedia's Avatar
ChurchMedia ChurchMedia is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Real name: Tim Eason
A couple of things suggestions:

EDIT: 1) Found the problem -- conflict with a mod I made.

2) It would be ideal to be able to assign more than one subscription ID to a coupon. You could code this pretty easily using "explode" for commas.

3) When you assign a coupon code, the code is changed to lower case ($coupon_name = strtolower($coupon_name). That isn't good for me because I'd like to use all-caps in my codes. I can just comment out the line, but you might want to make it optional or something.

Thanks again for this mod! It's something I've been waiting for forever.

Last edited by ChurchMedia; 09 Apr 2008 at 16:25.
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 08:09
ringleader's Avatar
ringleader ringleader is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Fran
Originally Posted by ChurchMedia View Post
2) It would be ideal to be able to assign more than one subscription ID to a coupon. You could code this pretty easily using "explode" for commas.
It was simply because I would have no use for that that I didn't think of it before
I'll add it in this weekend to the new, hopefully much cleaner, version.

Originally Posted by ChurchMedia View Post
3) When you assign a coupon code, the code is changed to lower case ($coupon_name = strtolower($coupon_name). That isn't good for me because I'd like to use all-caps in my codes. I can just comment out the line, but you might want to make it optional or something.
Pure laziness made me do that!
The check when the person inputs a coupon in their payments.php (in any case, upper or lower) will convert it to lower and check it against the lowercase version in the DB. It's just easier for all. The reasoning was that people don't notice case-sensitivity when inputting stuff like this.
So you can use upper or lowercase for your coupons - it's independent.
__________________
Awesome. Awesome to the max.
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 11:05
gonkowonko gonkowonko is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
is there anyway to have a percent like 16.6 off rather than a whole number, reason being im trying to deduct 2 but i cant get to exactly as i need to enter 16.6

or change it so that you define how much they can have off the price ie 2

**scrap that i have edited the php files to allow me to deducted actual amounts rather than percentages

Thanks this is a GREAT HACK!

Last edited by gonkowonko; 10 Apr 2008 at 11:52.
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 12:19
ringleader's Avatar
ringleader ringleader is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Fran
Originally Posted by gonkowonko View Post
is there anyway to have a percent like 16.6 off rather than a whole number, reason being im trying to deduct 2 but i cant get to exactly as i need to enter 16.6
I was (rather stupidly) working with integers only when making this

I'll see what I can do about this in future.
Probably could incorporate it somehow.
Glad you like the hack!
__________________
Awesome. Awesome to the max.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 12:48
Martin-TMGRS Martin-TMGRS is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Martin
I've added all the file edits and uploaded all the files. I can see where you add the coupon code in the usercp but I can't see anything in my admincp any ideas please.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 13:06
ringleader's Avatar
ringleader ringleader is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Fran
Originally Posted by Martin-TMGRS View Post
I've added all the file edits and uploaded all the files. I can see where you add the coupon code in the usercp but I can't see anything in my admincp any ideas please.
Refresh the admincp - the menus are only built once the first time you enter the admincp
__________________
Awesome. Awesome to the max.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 13:17
Martin-TMGRS Martin-TMGRS is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Martin
Originally Posted by ringleader View Post
Refresh the admincp - the menus are only built once the first time you enter the admincp
I have done that many time. I've even logged out hoping that would have done the trick. but still nothing!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 13:20
ringleader's Avatar
ringleader ringleader is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Fran
Originally Posted by Martin-TMGRS View Post
I have done that many time. I've even logged out hoping that would have done the trick. but still nothing!!!!
Do you have the file /includes/xml/cpnav_vbcoupons.xml?
Because if you have that, then there is absolutely no reason why it would not show.
__________________
Awesome. Awesome to the max.
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 13:23
Martin-TMGRS Martin-TMGRS is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Martin
Originally Posted by ringleader View Post
Do you have the file /includes/xml/cpnav_vbcoupons.xml?
Because if you have that, then there is absolutely no reason why it would not show.
Yep that file is there
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 13:41
ringleader's Avatar
ringleader ringleader is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Fran
Originally Posted by Martin-TMGRS View Post
Yep that file is there
Try the xml attached to this post.
Upload it to /includes/xml/cpnav_vbcoupons.xml
Refresh the admincp.
Does it show now?
Attached Files
File Type: xml cpnav_vbcoupons.xml (566 Bytes, 3 views)
__________________
Awesome. Awesome to the max.

Last edited by ringleader; 10 Apr 2008 at 13:48.
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 13:54
Martin-TMGRS Martin-TMGRS is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Martin
Originally Posted by ringleader View Post
Try the xml attached to this post.
Upload it to /includes/xml/cpnav_vbcoupons.xml
Refresh the admincp.
Does it show now?
Yes thats done the trick....Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 14:05
ringleader's Avatar
ringleader ringleader is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Fran
Originally Posted by Martin-TMGRS View Post
Yes thats done the trick....Thanks
Phew!
Thanks for asking - it's better for me to have you solve the problem than not use the mod at all!

Enjoy
__________________
Awesome. Awesome to the max.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 14 Apr 2008, 21:23
ringleader's Avatar
ringleader ringleader is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Fran
Version 1.4 is out now.

This changes the percentages preveiously used as discounts to monetary values, e.g. $3.50 instead of 20% as previously used.

You can also now mass-generate coupon codes and post them to a thread in a forum of your choice.

Coupons can now be restricted to one or more subscriptionids.

It is recommended that you upgrade to this version.
__________________
Awesome. Awesome to the max.
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 14 Apr 2008, 22:26
DssCrazy DssCrazy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
NICE FREAKIN WORK!!!! This is a Wicked update i tested and does work on 3.6.8

I found 1 problem with this tho when clicking over write for the XML you get a database error.

Thanks for adding the idea to post coupon codes
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:09.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: