Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Mod Options
Cron job for Files Backup (attachments, avatars, etc.) Details »
Cron job for Files Backup (attachments, avatars, etc.)
Developer Last Online: Aug 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (2 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 24
Released: 10 Mar 2008 Last Update: 20 Feb 2009 Downloads: 164
Not Supported Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations  

This is a script meant to run as a Scheduled Task to backup your files if you have your attachments, avatars, etc. in the file system. I have been running it for a couple of years now and given it to a few other vb admins and figured I should share it here as my first Mod. I found the basic part of the script somewhere online a couple of years ago and modified it to work with vbulletin.

Installation:
Download the file and modify the variables at the top of the file. The $backupdir should be an absolute path to a folder you wish to backup. Make sure you have a trailing "/" in the path. The $backupto variable is the absolute path to the folder for your backups. It should also have a trailing "/" in the path. Once you fill in those variables, upload the file to your "includes/cron/" directory and go to your Admin CP > Scheduled Tasks > Add New Scheduled Task and create a new task to run the script. I run mine every night (as seen in the attachment).

Notes:
The script I have attached is made to backup three different directories. You may add more or take away some. But, make sure if you add more at the top ($backupdir4, $fileprefix4) that you add them to the backupsus call. I used to have these variables set as globals in the function, however that stopped working for me after my last upgrade and instead of figuring out if this was a server issue, I simply changed the script to accommodate the change.