Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Joomla for vBulletin (IMPORTANT UPDATE) - Bridge to the World's Most Popular CMS Details »
Joomla for vBulletin (IMPORTANT UPDATE) - Bridge to the World's Most Popular CMS
Mod Version: 1.0.0 RC2, by Michael Morris (Member) Michael Morris is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2009 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (10 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 68
Released: 26 Apr 2007 Last Update: Never Downloads: 899
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

Warning!!! An potential exploit has been found in this modification. The server that hosts vjoomla.com has been attacked several times. It is known to already be severely comprimised so at this time it is unclear whether the vulnerability lies in vJoomla, Joomla itself or the server. Until this is resolved to my satisfaction I am removing this modification. My apologies.


The modification WILL be re-released once this issue is resolved!

vJoomla is an offshoot of Joomla 1.0 that is designed to run in tandem with vbulletin. Unlike the main release it will not run without vbulletin - if you desire a CMS without a forum then use Joomla! instead. vJoomla is identical in most all regards to Joomla!

What vJoomla Does
  • Provide a single session, single login interface to Joomla and vbulletin.
  • Allows Joomla pages to be skinned by vbulletin's template engine.
  • Maps Joomla usergroups to vbulletin usergroups.

What vJoomla Does Not Do
  • It does not rewrite your templates for you - so you will need to go in currently and change relative links to images and pages to absolute links. This is most important in the style sheets and in the navbar template. This is something you need to do yourself rather than programmatically since no two sites are likely to be using the same style sheet and the same setup for these links.

Install Instructions
  1. Log into your admincp
  2. Close your forum
  3. If your forums are at the root of your site move them elsewhere - the best location is probably /forum
  4. Upload the files from the zip packages to their respective locations. There should be no overwrites.
  5. Navigate to the root of your site and run the Joomla installer.
  6. Go back to the admincp and install the Joomla product file
  7. Now either copy the ./cpstyles, ./clientscript and ./images directory of the forum into the Joomla directory OR create symbolic links to those directories. The contents of the ./images directory of Joomla and vbulletin will need to be merged.

This is release candidate 2.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #91  
Old 03 May 2007, 20:43
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Michael Morris
Originally Posted by paul_c View Post
Can Joomla modules be targeted to individual vBulletin forums? If so, is this handled through the Joomla menu system using link URL?
I'm not sure what you're asking here. It would depend on the modules - but any module that worked with the vbulletin forums would have to be custom written.

Originally Posted by pxd View Post
That's what I first thought when I got the error so I went ahead and installed a clean joomla + a clean vBulletin on my localhost, same error popping up. What else can I do to help track this down, please?
At this point I don't know what could be triggering it unless...

Did you remember to install the vJoomla product file? If you don't the joomla templates wouldn't be loaded in and you'd get an error when they are called.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 03 May 2007, 20:55
pxd pxd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Originally Posted by Michael Morris View Post
At this point I don't know what could be triggering it unless...

Did you remember to install the vJoomla product file? If you don't the joomla templates wouldn't be loaded in and you'd get an error when they are called.
Yes, I did.
- Installed Joomla 1.0.12
- Installed vBulletin, inside /forum, using the same database, different table prefix though (not sure if that matters)
- Installed the vJoomla plugin using the xml file
- Overwritten the joomla files
- Copied the required vb folders to joomla directory as per your instructions

Anything missing?

Your help is so much appreciated, Michael. I am keen to use this on my production site that will go live soon, and your mod does exactly what I need, too sad I can't get it installed. Hopefully you can help me out, thanks!

P.S. Do you mind putting up an older version of the beta for me to make a quick test? Also, could filepath be an issue here? I'm running the scritpts on XAMPP server locally.

Last edited by pxd; 03 May 2007 at 21:19.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 03 May 2007, 21:19
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Michael Morris
I'll look into it further when I get the chance but it might be a couple days.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 03 May 2007, 21:42
imported_hbs imported_hbs is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
I had version 0.0.2 working just great and just updated to 0.0.4 and getting
Warning: Wrong parameter count for get_defined_constants() in /home/hbscoi/public_html/new/index.php on line 229
on the top of my pages. was I missing anything?
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 04 May 2007, 01:29
paul_c paul_c is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
I'm not sure what you're asking here. It would depend on the modules - but any module that worked with the vbulletin forums would have to be custom written.

Allow me to clarify. I've been using Mambo/Joomla a long time so I'll see if I can explain:

In Joomla you can create modules that can be placed based on their Module Position using code like - <?php mosLoadModules ( 'user7', 'true' ); ?> - placed in a template.

You can then assign a Joomla module to this position and also assign it to show only for certain pages. These pages are determined by the menu structure that is set up. So even though many pages follow the same template that all have the "user7" module position, the only pages that will actually show the module are those that have been selected to display it (this is done when configuring the module).

I assume even though your plugin is using the vBulletin templating system that I will still be able to assign Joomla modules (as noted above). If so, then back to my original question, can I assign Joomla modules to a specfic Forum so that for example in Forum1 I can show a specific Joomla module (e.g., in "user7" position) and in Forum2 not show the module.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 04 May 2007, 02:43
blackgem blackgem is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Are you able to place Joomla modules on forum pages at all, even with this bridge?
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 04 May 2007, 05:00
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Michael Morris
Not yet - Hadn't actually thought of doing that. Hmmm...
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 04 May 2007, 06:19
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Michael Morris
Ok, it only took about 5 minutes to write the plugin to allow joomla modules to be called from vbulletin templates. I agree that this should be part of the final bridge but since it's something I just tossed in and haven't tested I'm keeping the xml plugin separate from the rest of the download for the moment.

To get a module to show up on a forum template with this plugin you'll need to place $module[position] at the spot the module contents should display. I did this to get my joomla main menu to show up on the forum pages.

It appears to work, but again I just tossed this in. I'm currently working on the templates and trying to find the source of the two bugs noted in the thread.

Completing this aspect of the bridge will need to be a little trickier. The approach I'm considering is this - the installer program will read over the list of forums vbulletin has and create a menu that holds all the vbulletin forums. These menu id's will be the keys off which the modules work. This particular menu will need to be updated via plugin any time vbulletin adds or subtracts a module. The advantage of this approach is it will incidentally create a forum menu that can be displayed on joomla pages with a minimum of fuss.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 04 May 2007, 07:42
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Michael Morris
Originally Posted by maxicep View Post
your demo looks great but giving error on your page with this linked:
http://www.s7v7n.com/index.php?optio...&id=1&Itemid=2
Spotted source of error - will be fixed next version.
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 04 May 2007, 07:43
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Michael Morris
Originally Posted by imported_hbs View Post
I had version 0.0.2 working just great and just updated to 0.0.4 and getting

on the top of my pages. was I missing anything?
Found a workaround. Apparently that function can't take an argument in versions of PHP prior to 4.4.2. Will be fixed next version.
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 04 May 2007, 08:15
blackgem blackgem is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Kudos for all the great work you've done so far. I'm sure the Joomla Modules plugin will come in handy.
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 04 May 2007, 08:27
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Michael Morris
Version .1 has been released. Please check the privacy policy that has been added. I set up an email specifically for the purpose of monitoring these bug reports - I suspect I'll have a couple hundred messages in there by the time I check again tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 04 May 2007, 08:34
Quantnet Quantnet is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
You are moving at a very fast pace, Michael.
I'm sure we will have version 1 or 2 by the end of this month.

I have joomla installed but will need to see a couple more working demo with various components, plugins before I join.

Thanks for all the hard work.

MOTM
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 04 May 2007, 11:02
pxd pxd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Thanks for the update, Michael!

No matter what I try however, still getting this error, even with the 0.1 beta
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Any setting that I'm missing, really? I am not using any mods, standard joomla and standard vb files, uploading vjoomla product and overwriting the joomla files, copying images cpstyles and clientscripts to joomla root, yet nothing. Any other setting inside vB admin?

Really want to be able to use this hack, eh...
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 04 May 2007, 12:25
paul_c paul_c is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Thanks for your quick work on this. I'll see if I can get you some feedback over the weekend.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:42.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: