Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 17 Jun 2010, 04:28
KDawg08's Avatar
KDawg08 KDawg08 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: Kevin
Unhappy VB Register integration with games.

So i'm going to be running a VB 4.x.x forum system on my site, I'm currently on 3.8.4 but i'm upgrading since i'm redoing my site from scratch.

I am trying to find out how to make it so when a user registers on my vb forums, i can integrate it to register them automatically to my games database. I have the tables for it to insert etc but i know nothing about how i would add this. and I asked a few people privately and nobody can figure this out...

I have the register.php for my game handy if anyone is willing to do this or ATLEAST show me how step by step so i can learn from it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18 Jun 2010, 16:14
KDawg08's Avatar
KDawg08 KDawg08 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: Kevin
Any ideas on this?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18 Jun 2010, 21:18
bleavitt bleavitt is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I probably won't be able to walk you through it, but I might be able to offer some insights. I'm in something of a similar situation right now, where I'm implementing a custom login process to communicate with Vbulletin. Surely, some of the same info must apply to what I've learned.

I've had to crack open the code on the back end to integrate into VB's login process. Maybe not directly related, but we'll see.

So it sounds like you're trying to duplicate the registration process that happens on VB so that registration happens on your site at the same time? Is that correct?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19 Jun 2010, 01:30
KDawg08's Avatar
KDawg08 KDawg08 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: Kevin
That is correct, I was told "You can just implement your games database information into the vbulletin register.php and it should work" But the register.php does not send out the information to add into your database, it calls something else. And I'm completely lost on how i can implement my games database (as a seperate database) into the register system so it adds the users to the games AND to the vbulletin.

Another problem i've realized is if they're pre-registered and I add a new game, i won't be able to implement their accounts into the new games...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21 Jun 2010, 16:53
KDawg08's Avatar
KDawg08 KDawg08 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: Kevin
^^ Any ideas what files have the database information seeing as register.php doesn't?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21 Jun 2010, 16:55
bleavitt bleavitt is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
What if you just added another line of code that calls for your games database and inserts the values that are made available with the Forums registration process? I'm assuming by the end of the script there's a good list of values that are being inserted into a user database for vBulletin, why not make another command that accesses the other database?

I'm completely unfamiliar with the register.php script however. In theory, this doesn't sound that complicated.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21 Jun 2010, 17:12
KDawg08's Avatar
KDawg08 KDawg08 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: Kevin
I've had about 5-6 people look at the register file and everyone says the register.php file does NOT send out the info to the database, not only that the game database doesn't use the same md5 encryption... it uses md5 encryption but not the way vbulletin does lol...

plus i don't know how to call another database and get that information into it...

--------------- Added 22 Jun 2010 at 03:46 ---------------

I really hope there is SOMEONE who can explain this for me :/

Last edited by KDawg08; 22 Jun 2010 at 03:46. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23 Jun 2010, 02:28
KDawg08's Avatar
KDawg08 KDawg08 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: Kevin
Anyone have ANY luck on this?

--------------- Added 23 Jun 2010 at 13:17 ---------------

I'm officially done helping people here... I have asked on other forums and gotten replies but no one is sure, where as here the people who USE TO BE AROUND TO HELP don't help with anything anymore...

Last edited by KDawg08; 23 Jun 2010 at 13:17. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24 Jun 2010, 06:56
KDawg08's Avatar
KDawg08 KDawg08 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: Kevin
Last try before I give up completely and use some other forum type for this...

I figured it out with SMF/PHPBB2 and 3 and i figured it out with IPB, but i can't figure it out for vbulletin...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25 Jun 2010, 15:13
KDawg08's Avatar
KDawg08 KDawg08 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: Kevin
Now i'm getting mad, vb.com won't even tell me where to insert the damn tables info for another system so it will multi register things... This is supposedly something they cover and i still have NO HELP from vbulletin after spending a couple hundred bucks... I now see how much time and effort i wasted (And money) being as they can't answer anything...


They told me "Ask those questions at vbulletin.org and you'll get an answer from one of our members their" and yet nothing...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27 Jun 2010, 15:06
KDawg08's Avatar
KDawg08 KDawg08 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: Kevin
bump.........

I asked at vb .com site and they are just garbage over their for helping users with ANYTHING...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27 Jun 2010, 15:38
marrr marrr is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
From the looks of it you would create a new plugin Plugins & Products > Add New Plugin . Use the hook register_addmember_complete . Then use code similar to below:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

NOTE: You would replace the values between the *'s and not include the *'s in your final code! Each field name and field value is delimited by a comma.

Any time a person registers then the data you specify from the registration process will be inserted into your other table, granted it is in the same database. You would need additional code if it was a separate database. Unfortunately I do not know the variable names for all the data being posted, you may need someone with more knowledge on that to help.

Last edited by marrr; 02 Jul 2010 at 12:29.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:06.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: