Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
VSa - ChatBox (AJAX) Details »
VSa - ChatBox (AJAX)
Mod Version: 3.1.8, by Valter (Coder) Valter is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (379 votes - 4.76 average) Installs: 2858
Released: 07 Feb 2010 Last Update: 11 Sep 2012 Downloads: 23277
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template  

Info:
Powerful AJAX-based ChatBox for vBulletin.


Main Features:
-One step installation (no file uploads, no manual template modifications required)
-Put ChatBox on any forum page by setting script name and adding variable to desired template
-"ChatBox Full" (always available on separate page)
-"Messages Archive" (available on separate page, with options to edit/delete messages)
-"ChatBox Search"
-Option to block usergroups from viewing ChatBox
-Option to delete messages older than x hours automatically
-"ChatBox Statistics" (new messages since last visit, messages in last x hours, total messages, top x chatters,...)
-View users active in ChatBox (available in CBFull and Archive)
-Text formatting options (color, weight, style, decoration,...)
-Advanced Smiliebox
-Smiliebox options: total smilies available, smilies per row, smilie clipping, disable smilies...
-A lot of customizable stuff, including: set new/old status icons, time/date format, box height, message order, auto-refresh intervals,...
-One-click actions: View all messages posted by user X, Delete all messages posted by user x, Ban/unban user from ChatBox, View last message posted by user X, View your last message, View first unread message
-"/me" action (used when you want to refer to yourself in the "third person")
...and more...

View screenshots for more details.


Installation:
-Import XML file (as product): AdminCP > Plugin System > Manage Products > [Add/Import Product]
-OPTIONAL: Download attached images and extract them to images/editor (contains smilies/remove format icons)

To add to desired template (example FORUMHOME):
1. Add 'index' to THIS_SCRIPT locations (Product options)
2. Add 'FORUMHOME' to template names (Product options)
3. Open 'FORUMHOME' template and put "{vb:raw vsachatbox}" to desired line (for example after '<!-- /main -->') -> Save


To set options:
Go to: AdminCP > vBulletin Options > VSa - ChatBox


Versions:
v1.0 - Sep 15. 2007.
-First version
v2.3 - Sep 22. 2008.
-Latest vB 3.x version
v3.0 - Feb 08. 2010.
-Rewritten for vB4
-Known bugs fixed, code optimized
v3.0.1 - Feb 09. 2010.
-Fixed: Wrong title alignment in box/archive tables
-Fixed: Wrong expand/collapse button alignment in Safari
-Fixed: Wrong 'Smilies' alignment
-Fixed: XHTML errors
-New Setting: List templates where "{vb:raw vsachatbox}" will be enabled
v3.0.2 - Feb 09. 2010.
-Fixed: PHP error on CMS on some configs
-Fixed: 'Smilies' alignment
-Fixed: Minor bugs in PHP/HTML
v3.1 - Feb 14. 2010.
-New: CB Log-in/Log-out
-New Option: Stop auto-refresh if user inactive for X minutes
-New Option: Disable custom colors completely
-New Option: Random smilies
-New Option: Align messages to the usernames
-New: Remove text formatting button
-New: 'Smilies' replaced by image, arrrow removed
-Fixed: Move focus to input field when smilie inserted
-Fixed: 'Expand' button not shown after refresh
-Fixed: Now first item in color list is used as default
-Settings reorganized
-Several style/functionality bugs fixed
v3.1.1 - Feb 14. 2010.
-Fixed: Small JS issue on log-out
-New Option: Logged-out by default
v3.1.2 - Feb 16. 2010.
-Fixed: Errors with PHP 5.3
-Fixed: CB table messed up in footer
-Fixed: Several style errors, including XHTML incompatibilities
-New: Auto-insert on forumhome location - Below Forums
-New: Option to reverse message order in CB Archive
v3.1.3 - Feb 19. 2010.
-Fixed: Color selector dimensions
-Fixed: Minor bugs
v3.1.4 - Feb 20. 2010.
-New: Color Select replaced by Color Menu (and it's sexy)
-Note: Above fixes issues with Safari for Mac
-Fixed: Issue with Default color if it's in RGB format
-Note: Above will not change already posted messages
-Fixed/improved: Several style details
-Note: You may die if your templates are not reverted after upgrade
v3.1.5 - Feb 20. 2010.
-Fixed: Chrome not showing Color menu
-Fixed: headinclude_bottom added to <head
v3.1.6 - Feb 24. 2010.
-Fixed: Several style/functionality issues
-New: Set groups NOT able to edit messages
v3.1.7 - Jan 21. 2012.
-Fixed: Status images
-Fixed: Smilies button
-Fixed: Menu items invisible until highlighted
-Fixed: Several style issues (background, menus, colors, smilies)
-Fixed: https links not parsed automatically
-New: Show ChatBox in selected forum only
-New option: Automatically disable auto-refresh if server load is higher than X
-New Option: Set usergroups able to prune ChatBox
-New: 'Prune ChatBox' option available in the Main ChatBox drop-down menu
-Improved: Product menus re-organized
-Minor bugs fixed, codes optimized

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	cb1.jpg
Views:	22125
Size:	92.7 KB
ID:	112858   Click image for larger version

Name:	cb2.jpg
Views:	12238
Size:	102.6 KB
ID:	112859   Click image for larger version

Name:	cb3.jpg
Views:	13491
Size:	115.0 KB
ID:	112860   Click image for larger version

Name:	arc1.jpg
Views:	9483
Size:	62.9 KB
ID:	112861  

Click image for larger version

Name:	arc2.jpg
Views:	9651
Size:	69.6 KB
ID:	112862   Click image for larger version

Name:	acp1.jpg
Views:	8014
Size:	132.0 KB
ID:	112863   Click image for larger version

Name:	acp2.jpg
Views:	4932
Size:	105.5 KB
ID:	112864  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Chat Modifications MGC Chatbox (with AJAX) VBDev vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 2266 14 Oct 2012 20:24
Chat Modifications MGC Chatbox with AJAX VBDev Modification Graveyard 4 19 Dec 2007 06:25

  #2701  
Old 22 Mar 2013, 12:07
adonato adonato is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
This is excellent, but how to do in my forum page that the Unregistered/Not Logged can chat with anyone? because my problem is that all Unregistered/Not Logged must be logged in the page for chatting and I want to anyone can chat.
Reply With Quote
  #2702  
Old 27 Mar 2013, 08:25
Slipperyduck Slipperyduck is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I've scanned through about 40 pages and the search this mod doesn't help with small searches.

I want to see if there is a way to drop the *username when doing a /me
The Username is already there in the chatbox as the speaker, the /me *username addition is messy IMHO so I want to remove it.... I'll start looking at the coding now and if I can figure it out I'll post it here.
Reply With Quote
  #2703  
Old 28 Mar 2013, 08:53
Slipperyduck Slipperyduck is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
OK,

I've seen a lot of requests for Widget style for CMS or Home Page here and I couldn't find a solution in these threads, so I went off with my limited knowledge and created my own solution.
ie. I want the VSA Chatbox to load on my CMS landing screen for my site as well as the index of forum.

How to do this. There are a number of steps, be patient, it works (at least for me)

Basically, the process is to quasi-create your own mod. ie. Create a .php file, a template in the style manager and lastly create a widget.
Lastly to go to the VSA Chatbox options and tell it that it is allowed to run on your page/template combo.

Here is how I did mine, feel free to use it/modify it to meet your demands.
Thanks to the work of user "Lynne" for the below thread that simplified the process.
see: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=228112

*note, the chatbox display is exactly how it's displayed on your forum, in other words, the dimensions of the chatbox are the same inside your widget(which are the dimensions set in the vsa chatbox options), therefore this is not ideal for side-widgets. Or to be fair, this is a 'cheat' on the system just to display the box.

First off, create a .php file I called mine chattybox.php and uploaded this to the root of my forum
NEW .PHP FILE "chattybox.php"

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



Next, I needed to create the MYCHATBOX template, Admin->Styles & Templates->Style Manager Click the drop_down and choose [Add New Template]
Title: MYCHATBOX
Template window you paste the below code. *Note the {vb:raw vsachatbox} between body clamps.

NEW STYLEVAR: "MYCHATBOX"

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Now that I have the 'mod' created, I will now CALL this mod from an iframe from a StaticHTML Widget.
Go to Admin->vBulletin CMS->Widgets, scroll to the bottom and click on [create new widget]

For Widget type, choose [Static HTML]
For Title choose Chatbox (or anything you like), same thing with description... now click on [SAVE]

This will take you back to the list of Widgets, look on the right-hand-side of your newly created widget "Chatbox" and you will see a [configure] hyperlink, click on that.
This will open the physical code insertion dialogue.
See the code below for how I inserted my chatbox quasi-'mod' as an iframe.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


This is all well and good, we've created the page, the template that tells the page what to do and now a Widget that displays this page, VSA however has some display-type security as in you need to explicetly tell it which pages and templates it can display on, this is good for you and your server.
**Note if you don't change the Show ChatBox on pages/Templates, they will never display
Go to Admin->Settings->Options->VsaChatBox and click [EDIT]

The second option, which by default (i think) is set to [ index ]
[Show ChatBox on pages (comma separated THIS_SCRIPT locations)]
[Blank to show on all pages (not recommended because of server load)]
This option you want to modify by adding your newly create page to the list of display approved pages.
If you followed these instructions to the letter, then your options will change to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The third option, which approves the templates you want to add your newly created temaplte:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

LAST STEP - WOOHOOOOO !
Ok, so we've set everything up, display permissions and all, it's time to show that Widget on your CMS.
In my case, I did the following:

Admin-->vBulletin CMS-->Layout Manager
I wanted it on my "HOME" layout, so with EDIT remaining in the Drop_down, I clicked on [GO] button the on line associated with Home.

This shows the GRID layout of my HOME, with a list of my available widgets, one of which is the newly crated "Chatbox", I click that and then the [>] arrow to add it to the layout, then move it around to where I wanted it, lastly clicking on [SAVE]

THATS IT!

Loaded up the CMS home page and voila the Chatbox is there in all it's glory.

I hope this works for you too.

--The Duck
Reply With Quote
  #2704  
Old 03 Apr 2013, 19:00
GamerPerfection's Avatar
GamerPerfection GamerPerfection is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Can anyone tell me why the chat box (and the VSa Advanced Forum Statistics) fails to load if I visit my site without the 'www'.

http://www.gamerperfection.com - both load fine (chat box is hidden to non-members)

http://gamerperfection.com - the content on both don't load.
__________________
Gamer Perfection
Reply With Quote
  #2705  
Old 04 Apr 2013, 09:54
Xcenovis Xcenovis is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
can we change the colour of the chatbox background ? from white to something different?
Reply With Quote
  #2706  
Old 04 Apr 2013, 10:11
GamerPerfection's Avatar
GamerPerfection GamerPerfection is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Originally Posted by Xcenovis View Post
can we change the colour of the chatbox background ? from white to something different?
Yes via the style var : editor_background. However this may change other backgrounds too so double check when you do it.
__________________
Gamer Perfection
Reply With Quote
  #2707  
Old 05 Apr 2013, 19:18
FTG LIQUID CL's Avatar
FTG LIQUID CL FTG LIQUID CL is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Would there be away to add a pm notification to the chat box kinda like the new thread and post notification.Maybe this would be something to add to the vsa chat box add on. I know DBtech chat box has this feature but I like th VSa chat box much better.
Reply With Quote
  #2708  
Old 28 Apr 2013, 05:11
Mysterious Ride's Avatar
Mysterious Ride Mysterious Ride is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Ebz
Is there any way to get this chat to allow guest to post messages? I've checked the permission to make sure that it wan't denying the guest usergroup, and guest can see the chat, but still they can't post messages.
Reply With Quote
  #2709  
Old 30 Apr 2013, 22:32
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
For all of you wanting the active users showing up on other places other than Full Chatbox, see this post, http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=297725
Reply With Quote
  #2710  
Old 04 May 2013, 14:15
Mysterious Ride's Avatar
Mysterious Ride Mysterious Ride is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Ebz
I still need help, is there something I can change that will let guest post into the chat?
Reply With Quote
  #2711  
Old 04 May 2013, 22:19
doogie88 doogie88 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
How do I make it show on top of all forums? I don't understand the instructions.
Reply With Quote
  #2712  
Old 04 May 2013, 22:53
Mysterious Ride's Avatar
Mysterious Ride Mysterious Ride is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Ebz
ACP ---> Options ---> VSa - ChatBox

Change the fifth option down Position on page (Disable if you add ChatBox manually in templates) and you can select where you want it. Either Below Navbar, Below Forum, or Above Footer.

----------

Help still needed from my previous post above.
Reply With Quote
  #2713  
Old 05 May 2013, 03:41
doogie88 doogie88 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Originally Posted by Mysterious Ride View Post
ACP ---> Options ---> VSa - ChatBox

Change the fifth option down Position on page (Disable if you add ChatBox manually in templates) and you can select where you want it. Either Below Navbar, Below Forum, or Above Footer.

----------

Help still needed from my previous post above.
I don't mind where it is. I want it on all forums. Right now it's only on main index. But when you enter a forum, it's gone.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2714  
Old 05 May 2013, 04:12
Mysterious Ride's Avatar
Mysterious Ride Mysterious Ride is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Ebz
Sorry, I thought you just meant moving it. I just read some posts on how to do it, but how its explained I can't figure out how to do it. I tried and it didn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #2715  
Old 05 May 2013, 14:32
zzSQL zzSQL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Oh man! I love this!

All you do is import it as an XML product and configure it as you like it.
It automagically appears on your VBulletin default page or whichever forum you specify!

How cool is that?

Kudos to the developers for this awesomeness!


Greg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:40.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: