Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Answer Forums 1.0.0 Details »
Answer Forums 1.0.0
Mod Version: 1.0.1, by Gio~Logist (Coder) Gio~Logist is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.3 Rating: (23 votes - 4.61 average) Installs: 195
Released: 15 Sep 2008 Last Update: 21 Sep 2008 Downloads: 1312
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Code Changes  

Brought To You By
ModernvB - Vbulletin Solutions & Services
http://www.modernvb.com

Premium Modification:
http://www.modernvb.com/vb_products....o&productid=10

Answers Forum
Ever wanted to enable the ability to specify a certain forum as an "answer" forum, where members can post questions and select the best answer given by the community? This is similar to yahoo answers, a very effective website where users can post questions and seek answers from registered users. Answering questions can get to be a mess, keep it organized and save yourself a bit of hassle when dealing with Q&A's. As a webmaster, you already have enough on your hands to have to worry about answering questions sometimes, and need an effective way to do this! Or maybe, you just want to let your community do it for you


Difference Between Answer Forum Light & Answer Forums Premium
* Enable a questions forum Lite/Premium
* Allow users to choose best answer Lite/Premium
* Question Statistics on forumdisplay Premium Only
* Top Helpers on forumdisplay Premium Only
* Recently Answered on forumdisplay Premium Only
* View Answered Topics Premium Only
* View Unanswered Topics Premium Only
* Answered Topics in postbit Premium Only
* Private Message user who's answer was chosen Premium Only
* Private Message answer provider if the answer is reset Premium Only
* Control user's ability to reset their own topic's answer Premium Only
* Allow usergroups to reset any topic's answer Premium Only
* Allow usergroups to select any topic's answer Premium Only *new
* Integrates with vbplaza (reward answer providers) Lite/Premium
* Integrates with vbcredits (reward answer providers) Premium Only

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screen1.jpg
Views:	3755
Size:	293.3 KB
ID:	86917   Click image for larger version

Name:	screen2.jpg
Views:	1646
Size:	92.4 KB
ID:	86918   Click image for larger version

Name:	screen3.jpg
Views:	2740
Size:	74.8 KB
ID:	86919   Click image for larger version

Name:	screen4.jpg
Views:	1792
Size:	156.6 KB
ID:	86921  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #181  
Old 09 Oct 2008, 17:26
dtv100's Avatar
dtv100 dtv100 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
this hack have a bug i think if thread have 2 pages or more only work in first .
also would be nice to have a option to turn the pm funtion off
__________________
I say Ha HA!
find free to air information FTA Site wanna fight? fight me
Reply With Quote
  #182  
Old 10 Oct 2008, 18:05
basketmen's Avatar
basketmen basketmen is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by dtv100 View Post
this hack have a bug i think if thread have 2 pages or more only work in first .
also would be nice to have a option to turn the pm funtion off
do you using vbulletin 3.6.x?

i have same problem before, i am using vbulletin 3.6.8 and now the problem had been fixed just only need change some code, just pm Gio~Logist


to remove pm feature, in the premium producst, search for pm code and remove it (be carefull and make backup first), then reupload it again in admincp --> product manager
__________________
I am SEO specialist and forum coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 10 Oct 2008, 19:58
4x4 Mecca 4x4 Mecca is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
One feature I saw mentioned before that would be a good add on for the next version is:
PM the thread starter after say 3 days with no more posts.
So if they post on a monday, and get lots of answers, but come friday there are no more responses, maybe they get a message saying "User, your question TITLE has some replies which might help you. Please take a chance to re read the thread and see if it has been answered. If it has, be sure to show your gratitude by clicking on the post that answered your problem."

Just an example, but you get the idea.
Reply With Quote
  #184  
Old 10 Oct 2008, 21:48
nUCLEArcENTURy nUCLEArcENTURy is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
i have this mod installed on 2 forums, on one, it shows Answered/Unanswered prefix on Forumdisplay before the title of the thread, but on the 2nd forum, it does not. i have checked the admin settings and i have selected "yes" for "Show Question Status on Forumdisplay?". it shows the copywriter info on the footer but its not showing the prefix. im running the same version of vb on both sites but the one that doesn't show the prefix has more mods than the one that does. maybe a mod is interfering with it. so, how can i manually make it work?
Reply With Quote
  #185  
Old 11 Oct 2008, 01:36
oly51's Avatar
oly51 oly51 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Originally Posted by 4x4 Mecca View Post
One feature I saw mentioned before that would be a good add on for the next version is:
PM the thread starter after say 3 days with no more posts.
So if they post on a monday, and get lots of answers, but come friday there are no more responses, maybe they get a message saying "User, your question TITLE has some replies which might help you. Please take a chance to re read the thread and see if it has been answered. If it has, be sure to show your gratitude by clicking on the post that answered your problem."

Just an example, but you get the idea.
Great idea!
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 11 Oct 2008, 22:30
abdobasha2004's Avatar
abdobasha2004 abdobasha2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
pleeeeeeeeease make a version for 3.6 versions
Reply With Quote
  #187  
Old 11 Oct 2008, 23:12
alkatraz alkatraz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Real name: Colin
How can I removed the ( and ) around "Mark as Best Answer" ?

Also, I want to move it to the bottom of the postpit template, how can I change to use "$template_hook[postbit_controls] " instead of "$template_hook[postbit_messagearea_start]"

Thanks!
__________________
-alkatraz
Northwest Nissans Classifeds
Reply With Quote
  #188  
Old 11 Oct 2008, 23:56
dtv100's Avatar
dtv100 dtv100 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by alkatraz View Post
How can I removed the ( and ) around "Mark as Best Answer" ?

Also, I want to move it to the bottom of the postpit template, how can I change to use "$template_hook[postbit_controls] " instead of "$template_hook[postbit_messagearea_start]"

Thanks!
that would be nice or add some images where members can click .
__________________
I say Ha HA!
find free to air information FTA Site wanna fight? fight me
Reply With Quote
  #189  
Old 12 Oct 2008, 00:10
alkatraz alkatraz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Real name: Colin
Originally Posted by dtv100 View Post
that would be nice or add some images where members can click .
Yeah, that's what I did by editing the "phrase" for that text and replacing it with img code. However I still have these darn parentheses around the button. lol

Also to add, $template_hook[postbit_controls] is what the "Nominate best thread of the week/month" mod uses as a hook for it's Nominate button so it would be best for the location to be consistent. THANKS!!
__________________
-alkatraz
Northwest Nissans Classifeds
Reply With Quote
  #190  
Old 12 Oct 2008, 09:54
Ciderhelm Ciderhelm is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Hey,

Great mod. I've installed the premium version to my site. However, I really need to allow all of my users to mark best answers, or at least allow more usergroups than the administrators and authors. Is there anything I can change to get this functionality working again? (I read an earlier post in this thread that suggested it had been purposely removed)

Thanks!

Last edited by Ciderhelm; 12 Oct 2008 at 10:04.
Reply With Quote
  #191  
Old 12 Oct 2008, 17:59
wicked80 wicked80 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Hi Friends,
I purchased the "Answer Forum" premium package today and I have one question regarding it. Is it possible to display the "Cricket Answers", "Top Helpers" and "Recently Answered" blocks on a non-vb page, example on some html page????

I would really like to know this as I have a wordpress homepage and I would like to show these over there...

One feature I would like to have is that if the question is not answered within a given time-frame e.g 3 or 5 or 7 days, it should get closed automatically.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 15 Oct 2008, 14:23
jonah1892 jonah1892 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
working perfectly on 3.7.2

on one of my templates (darkvb) when a user selects a answer and it works fine

however the colour is a dark green for "answered" appearing in the thread list, how do i go about changing this?
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 15 Oct 2008, 15:37
Gio~Logist's Avatar
Gio~Logist Gio~Logist is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco
Real name: Giovanni Martinez
Originally Posted by jonah1892 View Post
working perfectly on 3.7.2

on one of my templates (darkvb) when a user selects a answer and it works fine

however the colour is a dark green for "answered" appearing in the thread list, how do i go about changing this?
They are currently phrased in order to allow for quick customizing
__________________

ModernvB.com - vBulletin Mods & Services - ModernvB.com vBulletin 3 Mods - ModernvB.com vBulletin 4 Mods - Hire ModernvB
Full-Time vB Development - If you can think it, we can build it.
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 15 Oct 2008, 15:45
jonah1892 jonah1892 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
kinda new to editing vbulltin phrases and that

how and where would i find this to edit
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 15 Oct 2008, 18:15
Gio~Logist's Avatar
Gio~Logist Gio~Logist is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco
Real name: Giovanni Martinez
Originally Posted by jonah1892 View Post
kinda new to editing vbulltin phrases and that

how and where would i find this to edit
The easiest way to find phrases are to simply put more or less what the text you're looking for is.

For for a phrase like this, you can easily access it by entering "Answered" or "Unanswered" in the field that says "Search for Text".
__________________

ModernvB.com - vBulletin Mods & Services - ModernvB.com vBulletin 3 Mods - ModernvB.com vBulletin 4 Mods - Hire ModernvB
Full-Time vB Development - If you can think it, we can build it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:50.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: