Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
United-Forum Nivo Slider Widget Details »
United-Forum Nivo Slider Widget
Mod Version: 1.1.0, by Mooff (Member) Mooff is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.1.4 Rating: (19 votes - 4.89 average) Installs: 146
Released: 18 Jul 2011 Last Update: 19 Jul 2011 Downloads: 1272
Not Supported Additional Files  

Based on the Nivo Slider - all credit for slider awesomeness goes to them.
vB4 implementation goes to me.


What it is:
A slider for cms articles, it gets the articles via database, uses (if possible) the previewimage there and resizes it to slider size *update 1.1.0 cropping function included.

Livedemo on a Big Board (>2.000.000 posts)
the nivo slider on our site is customized to fit our heavily customized cms. Default look of this addon is shown in the picture below


facts about the nivo slider
Originally Posted by nivo slider homepage
- ~ 600.000 downloads
- 16 transition effects
- a ton of options
- different available themes
- ...
Installation
  • upload all files (attached zip file) in the folder where you do need them - this has to be the same folder you will set via $slider_img_filepath (see picture)


  • create a new php-widget and insert the following code:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  • set refresh time to something big!
  • save - add the widget to your layout - enjoy


Custom settings:

At the top of the php-widget code you can see the following:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If you change $maxwidth and $maxheight you need to edit the nivo-slider_uf_theme.css file, here:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Width and height have to be the same value in your php-widget and in the css file.

In additon to these settings i also included a "value/relevance function". Meaning the slider doesn't show your latest 5 articles, but instead weights them based on age and comments.

As older an article is the less likely it will show up in the slider.
More comments make it more likely.

This behaviour can be easily changed. I didn't include an if condition cause every board has different needs and i don't know whats best for you.
In addition conditions like "articles just from this section - or these sections, or this category, with a minimum of 10 posts" can be included via one single if condition. Again, i don't know what your board needs or what your category names are.

You can also modify the preview length (more words, less words), the preview style (color fontsize, fontweight .... Again different forums different needs. It's highly customizable.
Support:

Support and requests for the slider itself should be asked here http://nivo.dev7studios.com/
Same goes for different slider themes - a lot is possible, even thumbnails - again this is part of the nivo slider and not the vb4 implementation.

If you have any questions regarding the settings - or want different settings (which have to do with vb4) - ask, and i'll try to come up with some code // show you where you have to put what.


Slider not working. No idea why?

You will find a FAQ in the first comment, which will be kept up to date:
FAQ


The widget here is completely free. No charge, no branding.
But, we do not mind donations either. If you want to give us something. Since we are advertising free and fan based we are happy about every small donation.
( On Forumhome bottom right paypal button: http://www.united-forum.de/forum.php )



That's all
Hope it works for you.
Regards Mooff

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	install.jpg
Views:	12960
Size:	90.8 KB
ID:	131195   Click image for larger version

Name:	uf_nivo_slider_promo.jpg
Views:	13427
Size:	119.2 KB
ID:	131394  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
vBulletin CMS Widgets Slider Widget s3slider CrazyProgrammer vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 56 20 Aug 2015 19:00
vBulletin CMS Widgets [WIDGET] Slider cory_booth vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 318 11 Jun 2013 11:29

Comments
  #2  
Old 18 Jul 2011, 14:03
Mooff Mooff is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Changelog

1.1.0 (8.11.2011)
  • included a "cache" system for pictures which solves a browser cacheing issue and speeds up the slider (on second image creation) -- added some FAQ questions
  • included a bit more debug messages
  • new crop function (beta stadium) included


1.0.0 (4.08.2011)
  • confirmed working with 4.1.5 on our testsite, changed jquery path to account for 4.1.5 and below (now using the file which is uploaded in the zip)
  • minor changes in the database query code
  • fixed a bug where articles did show up in the slider even though their publish date was in the future

0.9.9 (28.07.2011)
  • images are now saved as jpg instead of png -> reduced filesize by a factor 10
  • removed a bug causing weird characters to show up in the previewtext
  • added loads of debug messages and a debug mode
  • removed beta status - slider is running on our live site now

0.9.2 (23.07.2011)
  • fixed a bug which caused the slider to not find attachements
  • removed the fopen() function. Now checking via a GD function whether given ressource is an image

0.9.1 (21.07.2011)
  • added $description_length variable
  • reworked description cutting code. Now using a word sensitive substring function. Cutpoint is easier on the eye now.
  • removed some slashes '/' in the code which might have caused pictures not beeing shown
  • changed description title to h2 instead of span - might have a small effect on beeing more seo friendly
  • removed a bug in the image resizing code (code was wrongly placed outside an else condition)


FAQ

Q: I want a static version. Can you give me some code?
A: Code can be found here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...49#post2222449

Q: I want the slider on FORUMHOME
A: Code that should work can be found here (untested): http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...07#post2222907

Q: I see only a white Box - no images
A: Probably a jquery issue: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...63#post2224063

Q: Captions appear and the slider works, but i can't see images
A:
- See Answer above, it might be a jquery problem.
- Do the images show up in the folder you specified?
- Does the fallback image show up if you set the switch to yes?

Q: Slider isn't working (f.e. I can see text, but no images and no slider functunality)
A:
Make sure the slider_img_filepath variable is set correctly
$slider_img_filepath = 'external/unitedforum/slider/';
If you open such a link in your browser: http://www.mysite.com/$slider_img_filepath/nivo-slider.css you should see the css file!

Q: I want articles from exclusive cms categories or sections
A: Modified database query can be found here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=144

Q: Attachments aren't working for me
A: If your guests do not have the rights to see attachments - neither does the slider.

Q: I want to show specific articles and nothing else
A: Code can be found here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...8&postcount=91

Q: I want to change some nivo slider settings (effects, timings..)
A: An example for timings can be found here:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=132
For other settings please check the nivo slider homepage:
http://nivo.dev7studios.com/#usage

Q: I want the slider without widget title - how to do that?
A: Explanation can be found here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...48#post2233348
A2: No Background at all: Check this post (including pictures) by The Rocketeer http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=205

Q: How to order the articles shown by date descending - without value sorting function?
A: Take a look at this post: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=120

Q: I updated one of my articles but the slider shows the old picture?
A: Thats the new cache function. Either delete all slide images in the slider folder or run the slider one time in debug mode.

Q: Can i have different pictures in the slider and as a preview?
A: That's now possible via the cache system. Just upload the picture you want to have in the slider into your slider folder, nameing convention is: slide_articleID.jpg. Be aware that those images will be overwritten in debug mode.

Q: I have more and more slider pictures in my slider folder?
A: Again cache system. Each article which was in the slider one time creates an unique picture. The slider does not delete those pictures, in order to be able to use the cache functionality. Please delete them manually from time to time if you do not want them there.

[b]Q: Slider is not working and Firebug is giving me an "#slider is empty" error?
A: Solution can be found here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=331

Q: My question wasn't answered in this FAQ
A: Please set the slider into debug mode via $debug_modus = true;
You then should see debug messages, which might point you in the right direction.
If that doesn't help. Post in the thread and please provide above debug and very detailed information what doesn't work and what you want.

Last edited by Mooff; 16 Nov 2011 at 16:27.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18 Jul 2011, 16:41
Loversama Loversama is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
I have the original slider installed on my website and was thinking to myself "if only someone could integrate this into my forums" and here it is..

Well done, I am a little confused about the instructions at the moment, but if that could be made more clear I think I could 5 Starr this plugin!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18 Jul 2011, 17:11
Sage Knight's Avatar
Sage Knight Sage Knight is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Great job, I have yet to actually test it, but so far it looks good. Thank you.

One question we have to manually add the images? And if we only want certain effects what should we do?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18 Jul 2011, 17:34
Mooff Mooff is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I updated the installation information and custom settings on top a bit.

Please give feedback if i'm unclear in the description, so i can change it.


The slider does use the pictures which vb4 stores in the databasefield "previewpicture" and resizes them. You do not need to manually add images except 1.
You need a fallback image if your article does not have a previewimage (or something goes wrong during resizing), then the fallback is shown.


If you want certain effects you have to edit the nivo slider options:
http://nivo.dev7studios.com/
Usage tab - options, there is an explanation given.

Last edited by Mooff; 18 Jul 2011 at 17:41.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18 Jul 2011, 19:45
apn3a apn3a is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Does this perfect script works with vb advanced ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18 Jul 2011, 20:08
Mooff Mooff is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I do not own vb_advanced. Therefore i have no idea.

Since the db_query is build upon the vb4-cms article database/table structure i have to go with "probably not". Maybe an experienced coder who does have vb advanced can clearify on that one.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18 Jul 2011, 21:14
Lazorbeam Lazorbeam is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Awesome .

I have a couple questions...

1 - Is it possible to have the posts pulled from a forum instead of CMS (seems like it would need some rewrite)?
2 - Is it possible to have, say, 5 articles that are static and nothing else? I'd like to show users 5 "must read" pages instead of shuffling through new ones.
3 - Is this certified 4.1.3 because you got it running on this VB version? Is it not working with 4.1.4?

Edit: http://nivo.dev7studios.com/#usage shows how to customize the slides manually.

Last edited by Lazorbeam; 18 Jul 2011 at 21:20.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18 Jul 2011, 21:36
Mooff Mooff is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
If you want static articles then you don't need 90% of the code:
Without testing! - Include into a static html widget: (height setting on div style="heigth needs your number in it)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


That would show 1 static article - you have to insert the link to your article, the previewimage and the description.
(additional examples are in the demo folder, when you download the nivo slider from their homepage)

Version is 4.1.3 since we will jump 4.1.4 and install 4.1.5 next. I'm pretty sure it will work with 4.1.4 (the static version will work like 100% with 4.1.4) - but i can't verify it - so i won't say it does.


Regards

Last edited by Mooff; 19 Jul 2011 at 15:50. Reason: code was partially broken
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19 Jul 2011, 01:20
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Gemma
Very nice work. Thanks a lot
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 19 Jul 2011, 15:32
Lazorbeam Lazorbeam is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I'm having trouble getting the slider to work (static version posted above). Here's the code I used;


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Note, the page already loads jquery 1.4.2 for TWS notifications. Does this have any implications?

Here's the test page where I've tried to load the widget: http://consortium.stormspire.net/con...The-Consortium
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19 Jul 2011, 15:48
Mooff Mooff is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Img tag is not closed.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

try this one.

Ah i see, was my blunder in the code above - sorry


Edit:
If you have jquery 1.4 or higher allready running on your site you can delete that line:
<script type="text/javascript" src="/clientscript/jquery/jquery-1.4.4.min.js"></script>

Last edited by Mooff; 19 Jul 2011 at 16:01. Reason: forgot to close the a-tag
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19 Jul 2011, 16:29
Lazorbeam Lazorbeam is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Originally Posted by Mooff View Post
Img tag is not closed.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

try this one.

Ah i see, was my blunder in the code above - sorry


Edit:
If you have jquery 1.4 or higher allready running on your site you can delete that line:
<script type="text/javascript" src="/clientscript/jquery/jquery-1.4.4.min.js"></script>
Fantastico. Looks like it's working. As you pointed out I needed to remove the line that calls jquery.

Next step is to add additional slides. I tried duplicating some code but failed miserably.

Also, it seems that the arrows are somewhat pixelated. Do the "overlay" graphics look normal to you?

Link again for convenience: http://consortium.stormspire.net/con...The-Consortium

Edit: Hang tight, I'll first go through the nivo site and see if I can fix my own problem.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 19 Jul 2011, 16:48
Mooff Mooff is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Originally Posted by Lazorbeam View Post
Also, it seems that the arrows are somewhat pixelated. Do the "overlay" graphics look normal to you?
No, they do not. I uploaded the wrong png by mistake in the zip file. New version is up, should look better.

ah well, since i'm typing anyway

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 19 Jul 2011, 16:49
Lazorbeam Lazorbeam is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
For anyone looking to add slides to static pages, add the following bold code;


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You also need to rename htmlcaption1 to htmlcaption2.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:27.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: