Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 30 Dec 2005, 20:38
BradOlsonBemidj BradOlsonBemidj is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
config.php problems

I have some config.php problems as shown here and I can't get the forum displayed:
What folders do I need to create?

Bradley

Last edited by BradOlsonBemidj; 30 Dec 2005 at 20:42.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30 Dec 2005, 20:41
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
I've removed your link so that you won't be giving away any senstive information.

I highly suggest you redownload vBulletin and reupload it. Also make sure you are editing the .php files with notepad or wordpad.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30 Dec 2005, 20:41
BradOlsonBemidj BradOlsonBemidj is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I get this error: Configuration: includes/config.php exists, but is not in the 3.5 format. Please convert your config file via the new config.php.new. and I have 3.5.2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30 Dec 2005, 20:44
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
I highly suggest you redownload vBulletin and reupload it. Also make sure you are editing the .php files with notepad or wordpad.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30 Dec 2005, 20:44
Danny.VBT's Avatar
Danny.VBT Danny.VBT is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Are you editing config.php.new accordingly to work with your database and have the correct settings and then saving it as config.php?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

while($coffeeMachine->supply($Danny)) { $Danny->run(); }

Twitter Blog
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30 Dec 2005, 21:00
stinger2's Avatar
stinger2 stinger2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
i am having the same problem.......i edited the file with ultra edit but anything i upload is shown as 0KB file and its empty......not only the config.php

any suggestions??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30 Dec 2005, 21:16
BradOlsonBemidj BradOlsonBemidj is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Now here's the error: The database has failed to connect because you do not have permission to connect to the server. Please confirm the values entered in the 'includes/config.php' file.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30 Dec 2005, 21:21
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
Please confirm that the values entered in the 'includes/config.php' file are correct.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19 Jun 2006, 01:36
Scrolls's Avatar
Scrolls Scrolls is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
how do i know if they are correct or not?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19 Jun 2006, 02:19
Danny.VBT's Avatar
Danny.VBT Danny.VBT is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Well if the installation works - then you know it they are correct.

If you are getting an error - that means that what you configured config.php does not match what you specifically have set up on your server.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

while($coffeeMachine->supply($Danny)) { $Danny->run(); }

Twitter Blog
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 19 Jun 2006, 02:56
SCORPION1's Avatar
SCORPION1 SCORPION1 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
for starters you need to open the config.php.new if its a fresh install you will find this in you upload/includes folder


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

the xxx_xxx is what ever your data base you have set up on your sever is if you dont know that this is in your sql database here is an example if your data base is set up as forums_forums and the username is pinky_pinky the XXX_XXX will be
fourms_pinky well thats how mine is
are you using cpanel x if so thats how your sever will be set up

secend normal changes is


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

easy just put your email address in place

thrid change


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

where the xxx is you must put your username and password that you use to log into your main sever where you host your site

now that should be all the changes needed all you do now is save the file as config.php you are now changing it from config.php.new and make sure you are save it to the upload/includes folder then just upload everything you need to your sever done!!!!

p.s if you need any help pm me other than that good look m8
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19 Jun 2006, 05:21
G0F0RBR0KE's Avatar
G0F0RBR0KE G0F0RBR0KE is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: James
I could help you out with ur issues. I have help out so many members setting up their forums.

You can simply PM me.
__________________
http://vb-spanish.com is releasing soon (help will be appericated).
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:47.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: