Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
phpAdsNew Banner Ads integration (advertisements, classified ads, Adsense, etc.) Details »
phpAdsNew Banner Ads integration (advertisements, classified ads, Adsense, etc.)
Mod Version: 1.0.4, by The M.I.P. (Member) The M.I.P. is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2011 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.x Rating: (19 votes - 4.79 average) Installs: 571
Released: 06 Nov 2005 Last Update: 12 Oct 2006 Downloads: 998
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

OpenAds / phpAdsNew Integration 1.0.4 for vBulletin 3.[56].x
2006-06-08 by mip

Integrates the OpenAds / phpAdsNew ads system by introducing a new template tag <ad ... />.
You can even deliver your Adsense stuff via phpAdsNew using HTML banners.

The features of phpAdsNew combined with the power of vBulletin's templating system gives you the possibility to place ads for specific user groups, forums, and keywords.

PREREQUISITES:
This plugin requires a working installation (local or remote) of a recent version ofOpenAds / phpAdsNew (free software released under the GPL).
When using OpenAds, replace phpAdsNew in this documentation with OpenAds (phpAdsNew is just the predecessor of OpenAds).

INSTALLATION:
When having a previous version of this product installed, see section UPGRADE instead.

Install product "phpadsnew-1.0.4.xml".
Set phpAdsNew path in Server Settings and Optimization Options to point to either your local phpAdsNew installation or a remote server (using XML-RPC).
It is strongly recommended to set $phpAds_config['compatibility_mode'] = true; in phpAdsNew config file, to prevent problems when phpAdsNew uses a database different from the one used by your vBulletin board.

When using XML-RPC, make sure to have lib-xmlrpc-class.inc.php and lib-xmlrpc.inc.php copied from phpAdsNew misc/samples/xmlrpc/php/ to your forum's includes/ directory (not necessary when using a local phpAdsNew installation).

Read the NOTES section below.

Click INSTALL in this thread to mark product as "installed" and receive notifications when a new version comes out.

UPGRADE:
  • 1.0.3 --> 1.0.4
    1. Import product as usual, with "Allow Overwrite" set to Yes.
  • 1.0.2 --> 1.0.3
    Upgrading is recommended, as this is a bugfix release.
    1. Import product as usual, with "Allow Overwrite" set to Yes.
    2. Recompile any templates where you experienced problems with the <ad .../> tag (notably those where this tag is used repeatedly on a line).
  • 1.0.1 --> 1.0.2
    1. Import product as usual, with "Allow Overwrite" set to Yes.
    2. Set $phpAds_config['compatibility_mode'] = true; in phpAdsNew config file.
  • 1.0 --> 1.0.1
    There's basically no need to upgrade, as the changes don't affect a working installation, but I recommend to do so, to ease possible upgrades in the future.
    1. Import product as usual, with "Allow Overwrite" set to Yes.
    2. Alter the path to phpAdsNew in vBulletin Server Settings and Optimization Options to point to your phpAdsNew installation.
      As opposed to version 1.0 of this product, a local path is not relative to the DOCUMENT_ROOT.

USAGE:
Use the newly introduced <ad ... /> tag in your templates.
The syntax is similar to phpAdsNew's view_raw() function call - the tag understands what, clientid, target, source, and withtext as arguments.

Please make yourself familiar with phpAdsNew prior to using this product. You can't expect this product to work, if you didn't check if your phpAdsNew is delivering your banners cleanly.

Examples:
  • Get banner using keywords:
    <ad what="foo|bar" />
  • Get banner for guest usergroup (in this case, "ug1" must be set as a keyword in phpADsNew, see 2nd screenshot):
    <ad what="ug$bbuserinfo['usergroupid']" />
    (same technique can be applied to deliver forum-specific ads)
  • Similar invocation using template conditionals:
    <if condition="$bbuserinfo['usergroupid']==1"><ad what="" /></if>

NOTES:
  1. Always use the latest stable version of phpAdsNew.
    Old versions had bugs and some even had severe security issues - I'll give no support for installations with an outdated phpAdsNew.
    At the time of writing, latest version is 2.0.8.
  2. Templates which make use of the ad-tag might need to get recompiled after product change.
  3. Recommendations for heavy-duty servers: Move the plugin code to files; try to avoid using xml-rpc or cache xml-rpc requests (e.g. with memcache).
  4. Have an eye on current phpAdsNew security issues
  5. This product comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by applicable law.
  6. Support is provided at will.
    Don't expect help if you haven't read instructions or phpAdsNew manual, if you're using non-standard vBulletin software or if your problem descriptions are useless.

PS:
This plugin is donationware - it helps you to make some money, so please be fair and honor my work with an adequate pecuniary donation.
Donate via Paypal

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	panplugin_01.gif
Views:	3054
Size:	40.8 KB
ID:	54593   Click image for larger version

Name:	panplugin_02.gif
Views:	2409
Size:	26.4 KB
ID:	54594   Click image for larger version

Name:	panplugin_03.gif
Views:	3729
Size:	25.9 KB
ID:	54595   Click image for larger version

Name:	panplugin_04.gif
Views:	2354
Size:	42.7 KB
ID:	54596  

Click image for larger version

Name:	panplugin_05.gif
Views:	4077
Size:	34.8 KB
ID:	54597  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #511  
Old 02 Oct 2007, 21:25
chrisarmstrong chrisarmstrong is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Originally Posted by MediaHound View Post
When I go to edit my template, I cannot get the header template to save the code:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I click save and it takes me to a page that merely reads "Style Manager" and that's basically all there is on the page. If I change the ad code a bit and remove a lessthan or a greaterthan symbol to break the tag, it will save! This is really odd, it seems as if the saving utility is parsing the text and it breaks if it does not like it.
Just fought with the same issue. Make sure you have no trailing / on the end of your "Location of phpAdsNew" setting.

So it needs to be:

/var/www/vhosts/yoursite.com/httpdocs/phpads
Reply With Quote
  #512  
Old 06 Oct 2007, 15:20
MediaHound MediaHound is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Thanks Chris, that fixed my problem. I corrected the path to my installation and the style manager was able to save the page and reload to the style manager properly.
__________________
ForumTopsites.com
Reply With Quote
  #513  
Old 08 Oct 2007, 00:26
Anne Lise Anne Lise is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Originally Posted by quasan View Post
ok ok already got it my fault^^

I killed my right column template *blush*
My right column is there, but the ads are disespeared with 3.6.8
I'm using phpadsnew 2,0,8. I use the link <ad what="zone:11" />

Last edited by Anne Lise; 08 Oct 2007 at 08:24.
Reply With Quote
  #514  
Old 08 Oct 2007, 13:27
Paradise-Bodies Paradise-Bodies is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
How to set it up to show ads in forums and on "no forum" sides?

For forums i use

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But how to set up a default zone that shows on the startpage and the rest?
Reply With Quote
  #515  
Old 24 Oct 2007, 17:52
obmob obmob is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
This is a nice integration, will see if it still works in 3.6.8
Reply With Quote
  #516  
Old 26 Oct 2007, 20:53
Kooldino Kooldino is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I cant get phpadsnew or openads website (http://www.openads.org/) to save my life. I've been trying for days and they just won't load. Am I alone here?
Reply With Quote
  #517  
Old 26 Oct 2007, 21:05
hdraye hdraye is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
it works here
Reply With Quote
  #518  
Old 29 Oct 2007, 20:52
Kooldino Kooldino is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I'm pretty thoroughly confused by this entire thing.

I installed OpenAds, and I installed this plugin.

I pointed the product to the full http: url of the openads installation.

I edited my header template and tried to add in an <ad ... /> tag, and when I tried to save it, it spat out:


Warning: view_ad(/home/.cedarsprings/kooldino/evoxforums.com/forums/includes/lib-xmlrpc-class.inc.php) [function.view-ad]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /includes/init.php(329) : eval()'d code on line 88
I searched through my directories, and there is no file named "lib-xmlrpc-class.inc.php" anywhere.

Now, I'm not sure how to tell if OpenAds is setup correctly, so I made a stupid little html page with the javascript code generation...

http://www.evoxforums.com/forums/openads/www/wtf.html

Help?
Reply With Quote
  #519  
Old 01 Nov 2007, 20:21
Kooldino Kooldino is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Anyone? Bueller?
Reply With Quote
  #520  
Old 06 Nov 2007, 22:25
Kooldino Kooldino is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I could really use some help here...where am I supposed to find lib-xmlrpc-class.inc.php?
Reply With Quote
  #521  
Old 07 Nov 2007, 19:07
DreyerMedia DreyerMedia is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Is it possible to use this mod when you have openads installed on a remote server?
Reply With Quote
  #522  
Old 23 Nov 2007, 13:01
kafi kafi is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
This hack serves me very well, hovever I have found, that it cause overloading of server (not this addon but open ads maybe)

There is a recomendation to move plugin to files.... I would like to give it a try, but how ???

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #523  
Old 27 Nov 2007, 10:06
al-moslem al-moslem is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Thumbs down Remove the hack manually...

Dear All,


I installed this good hack, and it was working fine, but suddenly the home page of the forum and the admin login page gives me this error:

Fatal error: Call to undefined function view_ad() in /home/XXXXXXX/public_html/vb/global.php(563) : eval()'d code on line 15

How can I remove this hack manually, because I can login to AdminCP and remove it from there.


Please assist me.


Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #524  
Old 02 Dec 2007, 14:37
Hoffi's Avatar
Hoffi Hoffi is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Christian
Disbale Hoos in your config File. Just Comment that one Line out near at the End of the File.
Reply With Quote
  #525  
Old 12 Dec 2007, 22:45
TenPercenter's Avatar
TenPercenter TenPercenter is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Question

Is there a way to utilize either of these two local invocation options?

"Don't show the banner again on the same page"
"Don't show a banner from the same campaign again on the same page"

I want to run a string small banners up one column using a single zone, and I'd like to have no banners repeated on any one page load. This gives me a true randomized banner selction even when i have banners from many different campaigns and publishers.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:53.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: