Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 31 May 2013, 05:16
John Lester's Avatar
John Lester John Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
View forum posts 4.1.12

So for the last 6 months or perhaps longer (first I heard of it was 6 months ago) when a member clicks on another members name in the postbit (legacy) and clicks the "View Forum Posts" link ... it doesn't show recent posts. There's about a 3 week gap between the posts the link returns and the actual most recent post of the user.

This is the only search that's buggered up (http://www.braintalkcommunities.org/...st&showposts=1) but is "fixed" for a little while after I rebuild the search index.

Anyone have any ideas as to what's going on with this search feature?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31 May 2013, 17:10
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
What is set for AdminCP > Settings > Options > message searching options > Queue Search Updates ? And if it's set to yes, look at Scheduled Tasks and make sure the task to run the queue processor task is running.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31 May 2013, 19:00
John Lester's Avatar
John Lester John Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Ok it was set to yes but there was no "Search Queue Updates" in the scheduled task. Do you happen to know how to set it up? Or where I can go searching for instructions on setting it up?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Jun 2013, 00:45
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I don't know the actual name of it as it has changed a few times (mine still is just called "tsq"). Here are the specifics of setting it up.

Title: Search Queue Update
Minute: 0, 10, 20, 30, 40, 50
Active: Yes
Filename: ./includes/cron/queueprocessor.php

Save it. Run it. It should now be set to run every 10 minutes on your forum and index all new posts every 10 minutes.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 Jun 2013, 02:14
John Lester's Avatar
John Lester John Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Thank you Lynne

There was a process called queuprocessor but for some reason it was set to run every 0 hour every ten minutes. I have just now changed that to * (every hour) and every 10 minutes and will see if it's working properly tomorrow.

--------------- Added 01 Jun 2013 at 20:17 ---------------

Ok so queueprocessor wasn't running even with all settings set properly. I have just created the task that you laid out of me and will report back when I check it again later today
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03 Jun 2013, 06:47
John Lester's Avatar
John Lester John Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Ok it's not running at all. In the scheduled task manager it shows when it's supposed to run next, but it never shows up in the log, and it's not running. So I attached two screen shots, the first is how the task is set up, and the other is the task log showing that it isn't running.

Note: It doesn't show in the log even when it's run manually. The log shows a span of roughly 3 hours of tasks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg search_queue.jpg (116.3 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg task_log.jpg (170.3 KB, 3 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03 Jun 2013, 18:29
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
You don't have a log phrase in there. Also, are you checking your error_logs ?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03 Jun 2013, 18:58
John Lester's Avatar
John Lester John Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Sheesh.....you're right I don't have a phrase in there *smacks the back of his head* I haven't seen anything in the error logs that relates to scheduled tasks, just a few 404 errors that I haven't figured out yet

Ok so I'll put in a log phrase and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03 Jun 2013, 19:20
John Lester's Avatar
John Lester John Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Ok I placed a log phrase but it's still not showing up on the task log. In case I'm missing something in the error log, I have attached it as a .txt file.
Attached Files
File Type: txt error_log.txt (56.5 KB, 2 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03 Jun 2013, 19:32
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
So if you run it manually, what happens? Any error or output?
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03 Jun 2013, 22:14
John Lester's Avatar
John Lester John Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
If I run it manually there are no errors, no indication in the task manager log that it ran, and no update to the "view forum posts".
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03 Jun 2013, 22:23
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
This file exists on your site - /includes/cron/queueprocessor.php ?

I just clicked the search link in the first post and I am getting results of posts from today. So, why are you thinking it isn't working?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03 Jun 2013, 22:42
John Lester's Avatar
John Lester John Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Yep just looked again and the file is there. Some of my members are complaining that when they use that feature to find posts by someone it's not returning the most recent results. In some cases the results are weeks old even though the person being searched has posted either the day before the the day of the search. When I check the member being searched, often I will not get recent posts either. So something's out of whack I just haven't narrowed it down yet.

I don't quite understand the purpose of queueprocessor.php ... is it supposed to be only 2K (file size)? Mine looks complete but sure looks like it doesn't do anything, but I am a complete noob when it comes to vB's code
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04 Jun 2013, 02:16
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Do all your forums have Index New Posts in Search Engine set to Yes? If it is set to No, then no posts in that forum will be indexed and thus they will not show up in ANY search.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04 Jun 2013, 02:45
John Lester's Avatar
John Lester John Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
All forums were set to yes and one category was set to no. I switched to category to yes and will see if that has any effect. Another note to mention ... the scheduled task "Search Queue Update" doesn't show up in the log for my super admin account either. Which sucks I was hoping maybe I didn't give my normal admin account the proper permissions but it looks like that's not the issue
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forum Display Enhancements Master Forum / All Topics - View Posts from Multiple Forums in a Single Forum BirdOPrey5 vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 1 06 Jul 2010 05:41



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:01.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: