Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Advent Calendar 2008 Details »
Advent Calendar 2008
Mod Version: 1.0, by Coroner (Coder) Coroner is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2011 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (8 votes - 4.75 average) Installs: 73
Released: 02 Nov 2008 Last Update: 04 Nov 2008 Downloads: 364
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Translations  

What is it ?
It's a simply Advent Calendar. I've filled it with images,music and videos (youtube or myvideo).
Each day (there are only 24 ) can have an image url or data (data like: <object ....).

How does it works ?
Like an advent calendar. I've created an simply template with an iframe in it. In this frame you will see a background-picture, doors (is the word correct ?) (calendar days) and - if you set it to on - snowflakes.
This calendar can only use on december and a day will only open if it's the correct day or an earlier day.
Example: it's 7th of december, so you can open all day include the 7th.
Each day will give a popup window (you can change the size for each day).
If you try to open a calendar day on a later date it will give you an error (confirm script) - this can also, when a day is "empty".
Empty means:
You have entered an image-url but selected "data" (in admincp) or you selected "image" but the image-url is empty.
After install all 24 days are filled will "funny movies", "pictures", "flash" or "music". You can change everything you like.

There are a few settings (is online, snowflakes on/of and count of snowflakes).
Also there are only 2 permissions:
- the permission to use the calendar
- the permission to test the calendar

If you set a usergroup to test the calendar, the users can see and click all the days of the calendar - that needed for testing !

Some technical
The iframe-size is set to 1024x768 and can changed in the template adventcalendar.
All images, javascript and the background html lies in: images/advent.
If you wanna change the backgound-image, change "images/advent/wallpaper.jpg".
The snowflake image can also changed (images/advent/snowflake.gif)

Installation
There is NO installation READ.ME !
Simply upload all files and import the product.
The product creates a plugin that used $template_hook[navbar_buttons_left] for the navbar.

P.S. deutschen Support gibt es auch bei your-vb

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Bild 1.jpg
Views:	1086
Size:	67.6 KB
ID:	88887   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bild 2.jpg
Views:	569
Size:	48.1 KB
ID:	88888   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bild 3.jpg
Views:	823
Size:	69.4 KB
ID:	88889   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bild 4.png
Views:	588
Size:	139.1 KB
ID:	88890  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Bild 6.jpg
Views:	527
Size:	43.0 KB
ID:	88891   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bild 7.jpg
Views:	575
Size:	41.9 KB
ID:	88892  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks Advent Calendar Revan vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 18 01 Dec 2006 19:55

  #31  
Old 06 Nov 2008, 14:24
Coroner Coroner is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Stefan
Take a look in adventsnow.js
find this line:
if (yp[i] > doc_height)
and change it into:
if (yp[i] > doc_height - 30)
doc_height is the end of the frame so, you have to test it out, if 30 is ok or maybe better 35 ...
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06 Nov 2008, 15:13
cykelmyggen's Avatar
cykelmyggen cykelmyggen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Thanks, that fixed the popping problem Is there a way to change width? As you can see in the attached screenshot it is a little too wide for my fixed width?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg width_advent.jpg (60.4 KB, 25 views)
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06 Nov 2008, 17:53
Coroner Coroner is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Stefan
See the 1st post (modification) edit "adventcalendar"
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06 Nov 2008, 21:02
cykelmyggen's Avatar
cykelmyggen cykelmyggen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Fixed, thanks for excellent support so far
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 07 Nov 2008, 16:45
Lustikus's Avatar
Lustikus Lustikus is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
hi,

i want to add the link in the quick links, but i didnt find the link in the normal navbar...which line i have to delete to get rid of the link ?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08 Nov 2008, 05:16
Coroner Coroner is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Stefan
I use the template hook (see in the product). You have to change it manually
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08 Nov 2008, 06:58
cykelmyggen's Avatar
cykelmyggen cykelmyggen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I've searched in Phrasemanager and in Templates in order to translate the word "Advent" in navbar - so far without luck?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08 Nov 2008, 10:57
carphead carphead is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Originally Posted by Coroner View Post
Try to upload the php in binary mode.
Just to make sure I uploaded the original Zip file and then extracted it on the server. Still the same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 08 Nov 2008, 13:40
Coroner Coroner is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Stefan
I do not know, why he should display the php/product code - sorry
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 08 Nov 2008, 14:13
Landlady Landlady is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
i love it !!!!!!!! thank you
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 10 Nov 2008, 23:43
Brady1505 Brady1505 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
User can see does not work

My problem is, when I only set the radiobutton "user can see calendar" it is not shown in the navbar.
The link in the navbar appears only when I set the radiobutton "user can test calendar" too.
But in this case the user can open all doors ...

I corrected the source code as shown in the questions above.
Can you help me please?

Thank you

Brady
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 11 Nov 2008, 04:03
dmknights dmknights is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Real name: Darren
Need some simple help here.
I know i need to upload everything thats in the upload folder, but there are other files too!
language_english.xml
&
product-adventcalendar (english MASTER).xml

Which 1 does what?
what do i have to do?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 11 Nov 2008, 05:18
Coroner Coroner is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Stefan
Originally Posted by Brady1505 View Post
My problem is, when I only set the radiobutton "user can see calendar" it is not shown in the navbar.
The link in the navbar appears only when I set the radiobutton "user can test calendar" too.
But in this case the user can open all doors ...

I corrected the source code as shown in the questions above.
Can you help me please?

Thank you

Brady
When you set this radio button, you can see it in december - only
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 11 Nov 2008, 05:19
Coroner Coroner is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Stefan
Originally Posted by dmknights View Post
Need some simple help here.
I know i need to upload everything thats in the upload folder, but there are other files too!
language_english.xml
&
product-adventcalendar (english MASTER).xml

Which 1 does what?
what do i have to do?
simply install the product (english or german). If you have more than one language you can use the language xml for the second one (if it's german or english)
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 11 Nov 2008, 06:16
cykelmyggen's Avatar
cykelmyggen cykelmyggen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Originally Posted by cykelmyggen View Post
I've searched in Phrasemanager and in Templates in order to translate the word "Advent" in navbar - so far without luck?
Anyone?
__________________
boggnasker.dk
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:41.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: