Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Custom forum CSS per Forum, using the Forum Admin Details »
Custom forum CSS per Forum, using the Forum Admin
Mod Version: 1.00, by Adult SEO (Member) Adult SEO is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.3 Rating: (1 vote - 4.00 average) Installs: 22
Released: 11 Nov 2006 Last Update: 11 Nov 2006 Downloads: 71
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Hi!

I am developping a new forum on http://www.papegaaienforum.com/ (meaning: parrotforum.com in dutch) and I needed to be able to change the header for each specific parrot via CSS and might also need to change other CSS for each specific forum so I wrote this small mod wich is optimized (fast, using variables already made available by vbulletin so no extra queries) and enables to configure CSS via the vBulletin admin as if it's available by default.

It contains 1 phrase ("CSS") and requires 1 template mod to insert the new styles just below the <body> tag via the "header" template. It might be better to place the styles just above the </head> tag on each seperate forum and threadview template but this requires more work so I provide instructions for the most easy and simple way.
  1. Upload css_install.php to your forum root (e.g. / or /forum/)
  2. Run the script, it will return an confirmation message that the instalation is completed. It will add one field to the forum table ("css"/TEXT).
  3. Import the included product (product-custom_forum_css.xml)
  4. Edit the "header" template and put the folowing code on very top of the template:
    1. <style type="text/css">
      $forum_css_code
      </style>
Now you will be able to aply CSS code per forum via the Forum Adminpanel, there is a new CSS textarea input on the bottom of the edit and add forum forms.

Btw, if you use subforums without CSS specified on a parrent that does have CSS specified it will use the CSS of the parrent (unlimited, so also if you have 100 levels of subforums).

I am developping more mods btw, PM or contact me for more information.

Have Fun!
Jan Jaap

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	css_mod_admin_screencapture.jpg
Views:	279
Size:	71.7 KB
ID:	55850   Click image for larger version

Name:	css_mod_forum_screencapture_1.jpg
Views:	357
Size:	94.9 KB
ID:	55851   Click image for larger version

Name:	css_mod_forum_screencapture_2.jpg
Views:	263
Size:	99.2 KB
ID:	55852   Click image for larger version

Name:	css_mod_forum_screencapture_4.jpg
Views:	225
Size:	102.8 KB
ID:	55853  

Click image for larger version

Name:	css_mod_forum_screencapture_5.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	91.1 KB
ID:	55854  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 11 Nov 2006, 18:55
Ajavas's Avatar
Ajavas Ajavas is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Arrow

Thanks for this hack....First to install!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11 Nov 2006, 19:09
Adult SEO's Avatar
Adult SEO Adult SEO is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Hi!

Sorry to tell you this, but there is a cache bug.

When you navigate from the homepage into a forum with difrent CSS it isn't loaded at first, but if you navigate further into a subforum or back to the mainpage, the CSS is suddenly loaded!

I am working on a solution for it and let you know!

If anyone has any idear as of why this happens, please let me know!

Best Regards,
Jan Jaap
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11 Nov 2006, 19:11
abramelin's Avatar
abramelin abramelin is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
any demo?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11 Nov 2006, 19:30
Adult SEO's Avatar
Adult SEO Adult SEO is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Fixed!

I used the "session-cache" information and needed to combine the information with a difrent variable.

Now it works perfectly! You can see an example here: http://www.papegaaienforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2 and then simply navigate to the root, it will load a difrent header image with parrots top right (200k+).

Have Fun!
Jan Jaap
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11 Nov 2006, 19:50
abramelin's Avatar
abramelin abramelin is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
adult seo this is a realy nice mod. i was searching for a mod like this. Let me clear, with this mod i can change the header images per forum am i right?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11 Nov 2006, 20:28
Adult SEO's Avatar
Adult SEO Adult SEO is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Yes, you can make changes to any design on the forum, like colors, font types, width of the forum, background colors and images etc.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11 Nov 2006, 20:45
letsjoy's Avatar
letsjoy letsjoy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
very nice...I am waiting for mod like that
__________________
"Everything you can imagine is real"
-Pablo Picasso

Pakistan - Ahmad
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11 Nov 2006, 21:24
Ntfu2 Ntfu2 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
I cant wait for this one

I am developping more mods btw, for example the reciprocal link system wich you can see on the example forum. It will display a toplist of pages that send traffic to your forum. Inactive links that don't send traffic for 7 days will be deleted, and there is a simple admin to ban pages. And, referrer affiliate spammers get detected by parsing the spamming page and verifying if the page contains a redirect or redirection header (301). Actualy, also links comming from secure pages like webmail pages will be banned.
And this one is a awesome hack. I'll be upgrading to 3.6.3 tonight, and this will be installed at the same time
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11 Nov 2006, 22:00
Adult SEO's Avatar
Adult SEO Adult SEO is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Hi!

Yes, I will release it for free but I will probably demand a returnlink (small icon linking to http://www.publiceren.net/) as this mod costs a bit more time to do it verry well than the CSS mod.

I will post it in a few days.

Best Regards,
Jan Jaap
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12 Nov 2006, 01:34
Qwest Qwest is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Isn't this a default feature in VB?

You can set vb to display different skins per forum already...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12 Nov 2006, 02:01
abramelin's Avatar
abramelin abramelin is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Originally Posted by Qwest
Isn't this a default feature in VB?

You can set vb to display different skins per forum already...
no . the thing you say is changing the entire skin of a forum. this mod making changes in specified forums (forumdisplay)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12 Nov 2006, 10:05
Snake's Avatar
Snake Snake is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Real name: Josh
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12 Nov 2006, 10:14
rainyleaves rainyleaves is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Hi.
Run css_install.php.
I got this error.

Warning: array_merge() [function.array-merge]: Argument #1 is not an array in /includes/functions.php(1219) : eval()'d code on line 5
MySQL database updated, added field "css" to the forum table.
Please...help.

Last edited by rainyleaves; 12 Nov 2006 at 10:18.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12 Nov 2006, 11:14
Adult SEO's Avatar
Adult SEO Adult SEO is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Hi!

The error you received is from a difrent mod wich is probably trigered by "global_start" as the install script uses the global.php file to obtain a MySQL connection.

It might be that this error occurs on all pages of your forum but that it isn't visible.

As the result also stated "MySQL database updated, added field "css" to the forum table. " it means the CSS mod MySQL updated has been succesfull since you would otherwise receive a message stating it didn't work.

What you could do to test wich product is causing the error is commenting the folowing line in the install script:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To become:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Then the script will not try to update the database anymore and you will receive the error only.

You then simply enable/disable each product to see wich product is causing the error.

Best Regards,
Jan Jaap

Last edited by Adult SEO; 12 Nov 2006 at 11:17.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:33.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: