Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Execution Order Installer -> Stops Errors when installing 3.6.x Pluggins & Products Details »
Execution Order Installer -> Stops Errors when installing 3.6.x Pluggins & Products
Mod Version: 1.00, by Quarterbore (Coder/Designer) Quarterbore is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.7 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 16
Released: 22 Dec 2006 Last Update: 24 Dec 2006 Downloads: 89
Not Supported  

Background:

I am almost ashamed to submit what is likely the smallest product ever released here on vBulletin.org. I created this very simple product file as I am about to release a major addition to vBulletin and because I wrote the script in 3.6.x. it was not going to be installable in 3.5.x. forums.

Now, there was nothing in my plugins or code that would make this not work in 3.5.x. forums other then the fact that my 3.6.x forums added the execution order to all of my plugins.

So, What does this do?

This will add a single field to your 3.5.x forums "plugin" table. This field is used in 3.6.x forums to allow 3.6.x forums to assign a specific order for plugins attached to the same hook to be executed.

Now, as long as the hack you are installing does not use any special 3.6.x code, adding this program will allow you to install SOME 3.6.x plugins and products on your 3.5.x forums without error.

I have tested this on three separate 3.5.x forums of my own and installed plugins and products exported from 3.6.x and it worked fie for me. Feedback is welcomed and again, I am embarrassed to have uploaded the smallest Product file to ever have been uploaded!

UPDATES
23-Dec-2006 8:00PM EST - Uploaded new product file that includes UNINSTALL code!

23-Dec-2006 9:15PM EST - Removed the uninstall code per advise having code to remove the execution order may do more harm then not having it in the code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 22 Dec 2006, 20:32
Ziki's Avatar
Ziki Ziki is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
LOL

(Outta words)
__________________
My free mods~click here
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23 Dec 2006, 04:52
Kungfu Kungfu is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
whatever gets the job done right.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23 Dec 2006, 05:11
Shazz's Avatar
Shazz Shazz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Utah
Real name: Shawn
Smallest plugin made in history -.-
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23 Dec 2006, 05:57
Kirk Y's Avatar
Kirk Y Kirk Y is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Size doesn't matter.

Good idea, though.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Please feel free to re-use any of the code in any of my projects submitted to vB.org, so long as original attribution is retained.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23 Dec 2006, 08:32
PoetJA-1975's Avatar
PoetJA-1975 PoetJA-1975 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Real name: Jacquii Cooke
tehehehe - sounds nice actually... But why not just instruct 3.5.x users like myself to comment out the execution code??? LOL - also records have to be made for something = Congrats on the modification

Jacquii.

ps - just curious... What's the "major addition" modification going to be - Sounds kinda exciting :P
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23 Dec 2006, 08:52
Milad's Avatar
Milad Milad is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Milad
What may it occur if one upgrade his 3.5 forum to 3.6?
he will face a MySQL error 'field already exists'.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23 Dec 2006, 17:58
Kungfu Kungfu is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Originally Posted by PoetJA-1975 View Post
tehehehe - sounds nice actually... But why not just instruct 3.5.x users like myself to comment out the execution code??? LOL - also records have to be made for something = Congrats on the modification

Jacquii.

ps - just curious... What's the "major addition" modification going to be - Sounds kinda exciting :P
He took over sr_classifieds and basically reworked it and came out with a new product.

He has a few other gadgets hes going release too probably, but this is basically what its for is vbclassifieds.

Originally Posted by Milad View Post
What may it occur if one upgrade his 3.5 forum to 3.6?
he will face a MySQL error 'field already exists'.
It shouldnt, because it wont try to create it unless it doesnt exist or it shouldnt at least. Basically if you were to upgrade it would skip that step.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23 Dec 2006, 18:02
Quarterbore Quarterbore is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Originally Posted by Milad View Post
What may it occur if one upgrade his 3.5 forum to 3.6?
he will face a MySQL error 'field already exists'.
If that happens, just delete the field. I should have included an uninstall code and I will get that added to the product file when I get a chance tonight.

As for the product, I call it vbclassified and the link is in my sig.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24 Dec 2006, 00:00
Quarterbore Quarterbore is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Product is updated to include the uninstall code. This was tested on two of my sites (3.5.3. and 3.5.5. forums).

I have also posted directions on how to add the uninstall code if you already have added the product file.

Enjoy!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 24 Dec 2006, 00:59
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Just a note of warning, if someone installs this on 3.5, and then upgrades to 3.6 and then decides to uninstall it, it will delete the required executionorder field and break the forum.

I would suggest you take out the uninstall code - there is no reason I can think of that anyone would ever need to drop that field, once you upgrade to 3.6 it is a standard part of vb, in 3.5 leaving it there will not harm or affect anything.

As far as I'm aware (tested in the past) the vb 3.6 upgrade scripts will silently ignore the fact that the field already exists.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 24 Dec 2006, 01:16
Quarterbore Quarterbore is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Just a note of warning, if someone installs this on 3.5, and then upgrades to 3.6 and then decides to uninstall it, it will delete the required executionorder field and break the forum.

I would suggest you take out the uninstall code - there is no reason I can think of that anyone would ever need to drop that field, once you upgrade to 3.6 it is a standard part of vb, in 3.5 leaving it there will not harm or affect anything.

As far as I'm aware (tested in the past) the vb 3.6 upgrade scripts will silently ignore the fact that the field already exists.

You know better then I... and it shrinks my code back to where it was before for the smallest hack ever! I will reupload the hack now without the uninstall!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25 Dec 2006, 16:18
fishhub fishhub is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
how is the response? anyone tested in it in 3.5.x and uploaded any 3.6.x mods without and probs?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04 Feb 2007, 14:39
Quarterbore Quarterbore is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
I have been providing this to customers using my vBClassified script (this is a huge add-on) and without this little product these customers would always get the same error as follows:

Database error in vBulletin 3.5.4:

Invalid SQL:

### INSERT QUERY GENERATED BY fetch_query_sql() ###
INSERT INTO plugin
(`active`, `executionorder`, `title`, `hookname`, `phpcode`, `product`)
VALUES
('1', '5', 'some script', 'online_location_process', 'if ($filename == \'somescript.php\')\r\n{\r\n$bbuserinfo[\'activity\'] = \'somescript\';\r\n}', 'name');

MySQL Error : Unknown column 'executionorder' in 'field list'
Error Number : 1054
Date : Tuesday, January 30th 2007 @ 08:42:30 PM
With this installed, NO ONE has had a problem...

I am not sure why this only has four installs but hey... I just care that my customers are running...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11 Mar 2007, 07:27
Chicago_VLNU_4s Chicago_VLNU_4s is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago
Real name: Moreno 4
nice.. thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:20.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: