Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
AJAX Chat Integration Details »
AJAX Chat Integration
Mod Version: 1.00, by ICThawk (Member) ICThawk is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.1.4 Rating: (4 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 15
Released: 01 Sep 2011 Last Update: Never Downloads: 0
Not Supported Uses Plugins Re-usable Code Translations  

So I have been using vBulletin for awhile and have been very frustrated with the current lack of integration with AJAX Chat by blueimpu. So, I have decided to do the integration myself and with the help of other users on vB.org I have put together a few plugins.

Add Popup Link for Chat:
I started by adding in the Chat popup link to my navbar. In your navbar template, add the following code to display the Chat Link.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Next you will need to create a new plugin. Set the Hook Location to global_bootstrap_init_start and add the following into the PHP Code box.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



Displaying UserNames of Those Online:
Just like in the above there are two parts to this plugin. Modifying a template and creating a plugin. First we need to modify your FORUMHOME template. Right below the <!-- end logged in users --> line add the following.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Next we need to create a new plugin. The Hook is global_start and the PHP code is:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 01 Sep 2011, 16:12
ICThawk ICThawk is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Alright I have completed the project and updated the code above to display how I have mine setup. I hope this comes in handy for anyone else wanting to use AJAX chat.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04 Sep 2011, 12:40
Feechen Feechen is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Hi,

I was so glad to find a description how to implement this. But I think there is a problem with vB 4.1.5.

I wanted to use the "Displaying UserNames of Those Online". I created the plugin and I inserted the code in forumhome. When I load my vB there is the following error message:

Warning: implode() [function.implode]: Invalid arguments passed in [path]/global.php(29) : eval()'d code (line 35)

Do you have an idea what I have done wrong?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Regards,
Feechen
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06 Sep 2011, 16:40
ICThawk ICThawk is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Feechen, yes I had the same problem. It came from when there were NO users in chat it broke the code. I have added a "If Null" statement. I have fixed the "Display Users" Plugin Code above. But here it is again.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23 Mar 2012, 13:59
chrisbjax's Avatar
chrisbjax chrisbjax is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Real name: Chris
Hi Hawk,
I'm trying to simply put the output in title tag like below, however, I'm just getting no echo.
Any thoughts on what I might be missing?
Thank you for your help.
Chris


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06 Apr 2012, 09:18
Pianobiz Pianobiz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Thanks for the Plugin!!!

How can I show the users on other forum pages besides the start page? And how can I show the chat users in another location of my website - outside of vBulletin?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11 Apr 2012, 04:33
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
What needs to be modified to make this work in vB 3.8 ?

I figured it out. I'll try and make some time to create an actual v3.8.x plugin.
It wasn't too hard, having read the vB4 docs on template variables.

Thanks for making this vB4 plugin available.
__________________
FAQ: What are some HostGator alternatives? And who is EIG?
FAQ: What are the best web hosts and why?
And to all the vB plugin authors ... Thanks for making this a great app!

Last edited by kpmedia; 11 Apr 2012 at 08:42. Reason: Figured it out. :)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13 Apr 2012, 15:54
thunderclap82 thunderclap82 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I'd like a widget on the front page to show who is chatting. Any idea how to modify this code to make that work?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16 Apr 2012, 19:17
feaelin feaelin is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Originally Posted by thunderclap82 View Post
I'd like a widget on the front page to show who is chatting. Any idea how to modify this code to make that work?
That's what the second half ICThawk's original post does for you. Look carefully at the "Displaying the UserNames of Those Online" section. Those two pieces of code will show the usernames of users that are chatting. Just don't forget to turn on the plugin after you create it (I keep doing that and wondering why my plugin doesn't work...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16 Apr 2012, 19:27
feaelin feaelin is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chat "inside" the website...

For what I was working on I wanted the chat window to be "inside", that is, have the usual header, navigation bar, footer, etc. as the rest of the forums, instead of popping up as a window.

This is how I did it (in case someone else needs to do the same thing).

First I made a custom template, named custom_ajaxchat with the following code as the body of the template:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Obviously, you'll need to change "DOMAINNAME.COM" to your forum's domain name.

The link in the navbar template I changed from what ICThawk gave us, to this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The important parts is the url in href that points to the custom template and removing the 'onclick' event. I also added target="_blank" so that it would open a new tab so the user can continue browsing forums in one tab and chat in another.

You'll still need the Plugin (hooked to global_bootstrap_init_start) that ICThawk provided, I didn't make any changes there.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20 Apr 2012, 03:52
oshrizak oshrizak is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I was wondering if anyone had luck or knows how to make the chat window show on the forum home page also that way if no one wanted to have it in a popup they can just have it on the page under the navbar.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22 May 2012, 21:32
thunderclap82 thunderclap82 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Originally Posted by feaelin View Post
That's what the second half ICThawk's original post does for you. Look carefully at the "Displaying the UserNames of Those Online" section. Those two pieces of code will show the usernames of users that are chatting. Just don't forget to turn on the plugin after you create it (I keep doing that and wondering why my plugin doesn't work...
Unless I'm missing something this is for the Forum, not a CMS widget. When I add the code to a widget (not the plugin code) it just generates an error.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01 Aug 2012, 19:32
thedukeboard thedukeboard is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
This is pretty much exactly what I was looking for.

Question/help:

I'd like to add that first bit of code that links to the chat and shows active users to be inside a navtab. Is this possible? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11 Aug 2012, 09:56
dorans's Avatar
dorans dorans is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Real name: Zoran D.
Originally Posted by feaelin View Post


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Missing a quotation mark at the end ...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg AJAX Chat Integration - vBulletin.jpg (26.5 KB, 63 views)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 22 Aug 2012, 17:44
peppefark peppefark is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Hi

I installed the chat but I can not integrate with vbulletin, please help me!!!

thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:31.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: