Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vBStatus - Facebook Style Status Display (v4) Details »
vBStatus - Facebook Style Status Display (v4)
Mod Version: 4.01, by Attilitus (Coder) Attilitus is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (53 votes - 4.51 average) Installs: 731
Released: 02 Jun 2008 Last Update: 13 Jul 2008 Downloads: 4250
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  





This modification thread will not be upgraded, since it is possible that some users may prefer v4.

Compatible with 3.6.x and 3.5.x
vBStatus allows your users to update their status to tell other members what they are doing/thinking at any given time. A user's status is displayed under their names in their postbit, in their User Profile, and anywhere else you choose!

User's can edit their status quickly and easily via AJAX.

Administrative options include:
  • Banning a list of usergroups from using the hack.
  • Allowing a list of usergroups to change other users' status.
  • Limit the # of characters used in Status Messages
  • Word wrap status messages to prevent broken templates.
  • Turning the hack on/off.
  • Option of In-Line editting or a popup. (Defined in the admincp)
  • Default status for users with a blank status. (Defined in the admincp)
  • Status prefix to append an admin-customizable forum standard. (Attilitus is doing something)
There are 3 template edits for this hack. The installation readme file will guide you through the entire process.
Update 2.0:
Please reinstall the product xml file, and re-edit your templates following the new instructions in the readme file. This is to correct a small cosmetic bug that displays non-functional links to guests and non-admins.

Update 3.0:
A number of bugs were fixed, and a few new admin options were added. Please uninstall the previous product and reinstall this one. Please re-edit your templates and reupload all files. Sorry for the inconvenience (but at least we are getting this handled in the first 12 hours of release.)

Update 4.0:
This is a fairly comprehensive update. You must remove all previous template edits and add the new template code. You must also "Allow Overwrite" when importing the new product. The DB structure hasn't changed.

New features include:
  • In-Line Editting (This is on by default, but you can return to the previous popup style by changing an option in the admincp)
  • Default Status: If a user doesn't have any status message it will be set to a default status which you can define in the admincp
  • Visual improvements: Various small visual improvements were made, including a change in the location of the small "edit" link.
Update 4.01
I added status prefixes. If your updating from version 4 just reimport the product (with overwrite set to yes), and reupload all the files. No template edits necessary when upgrading from v4 to v4.01. (And I'm not going to change the file version because this update came so quickly on the heals of v4.)


Please do not forget to click INSTALL

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	editstatus_inline.png
Views:	9701
Size:	22.9 KB
ID:	81852   Click image for larger version

Name:	editstatus_popup.png
Views:	7916
Size:	32.7 KB
ID:	81853   Click image for larger version

Name:	status_postbit.png
Views:	8023
Size:	23.6 KB
ID:	81854  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #31  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 16:04
Attilitus's Avatar
Attilitus Attilitus is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Tim Kaler
Change the following bit of code to fix the problem with unclickable header links:

headinclude

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

change to:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This will be fixed in the instructions in v3 once I finish adding a few features.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 16:11
BlakeMichael BlakeMichael is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Hey, I followed the instructions exactly and ended up with this:

Database error in vBulletin 3.7.0:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT vbstatus_status FROM userfield WHERE userid = '2';

MySQL Error : Unknown column 'vbstatus_status' in 'field list'
Error Number : 1054
Request Date : Monday, June 2nd 2008 @ 11:06:41 AM
Error Date : Monday, June 2nd 2008 @ 11:06:41 AM
Script : http://desertcalling.com/vbstatus/vb...=2&postid=4528
Referrer : http://desertcalling.com/showthread.php?t=351
IP Address : 76.122.236.213
Username : Isaac
Classname : vb_database
MySQL Version : 4.1.22-standard
Can you help?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 16:13
kambiz's Avatar
kambiz kambiz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: kambiz
Originally Posted by Attilitus View Post
Change the following bit of code to fix the problem with unclickable header links:

headinclude

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

change to:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This will be fixed in the instructions in v3 once I finish adding a few features.
thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 16:17
MindTrix's Avatar
MindTrix MindTrix is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Real name: Liam Hawkins
Can this be changed so that people can change their status in the top right corner of each page? Same as you can with the Vmoods Manager hack?
__________________
Hacks Made :
Store 3.0 Color Name Add On.
Last 5 Attachments On Forum Home
Rap Battle System -=RBS=-

Tutorials Made :
The Basics Of PHP For Beginners and The Basics Of PHP [Part 2]

Running away from that Thousand Post Mark
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 16:19
Attilitus's Avatar
Attilitus Attilitus is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Tim Kaler
Wow. I'm sorry. I left a line of uninstallation code at the bottom of one of the files.

If you are encountering this DB error please do the following:

1) Go into the product manager.
2) Edit product vBStatus.
3) Delete everything inside the uninstallation code box.
4) Go back to the product maanger.
5) Uninstall the product vBStatus.
6) Reinstall version 3.0 fresh.

Last edited by Attilitus; 02 Jun 2008 at 16:48.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 16:35
Zweeper Zweeper is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Originally Posted by BlakeMichael View Post
Hey, I followed the instructions exactly and ended up with this:


Can you help?

i got the same problem
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 16:45
Attilitus's Avatar
Attilitus Attilitus is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Tim Kaler
Yea, that most recent update had a mistaken line of code in it. If you are getting that DB error follow my previous instructions to uninstall the product.

Version 3 is released now. Do a fresh reinstall of that version and everything ought to be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 16:47
Attilitus's Avatar
Attilitus Attilitus is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Tim Kaler
Can this be changed so that people can change their status in the top right corner of each page? Same as you can with the Vmoods Manager hack?
It can be changed, but I think that the intrusiveness of having a floating link on every page outweighs the benefits for the majority of the users.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 16:56
tei727's Avatar
tei727 tei727 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

help
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 16:59
Attilitus's Avatar
Attilitus Attilitus is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Tim Kaler
help
Sorry you were one of the unlucky ones to download the package with the mistaken uninstall plugin code included. Follow the instructions in this post and then reinstall version 3.0. Do a totally fresh install (redo the template edits, reupload the product, and reuplod the files).

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...9&postcount=36
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 17:50
Zweeper Zweeper is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
hm, i followed your instroductions and reinstalled/updated it, but the error is still the same. did i something wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 17:52
Attilitus's Avatar
Attilitus Attilitus is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Tim Kaler
Yes. You must have not reinstalled it properly. Make sure that you upload all the new files, uninstall the old product, and then reinstall the new product.

It is impossible for the same error to be generated, you must have not uploaded the new files. Or perhaps you tried to modify a user's status after reinstalling the product but before uploading the new files, thus causing the old-line of code to trigger itself again.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 18:14
Zweeper Zweeper is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
hm, can you give me the code to create the sql tables?
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 18:23
hastyhost hastyhost is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Just found a small bug. As for the DB errors, I fixed that with your new instructions, and the script itself works fine.

However, it seems to be having an issue with a secondary script which is the "current activity" which shows what the user is doing at the moment.

When you edit your status, then go to your public profile and see what the current activitly is, it gives you this message:

Current Activity: Unknown Location /vbstatus/vbstatus_ajax.php?userid=1&postid=1

Then of course when you refresh your browser, it goes to Current Activity: viewing profile

So that's just a small issue I found. Not a biggie but just so you know.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 18:24
Attilitus's Avatar
Attilitus Attilitus is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Tim Kaler
ALTER TABLE " . TABLE_PREFIX . "userfield ADD vbstatus_status VARCHAR( 200 ) NOT NULL
Here you go. You'll have to replace " . TABLE_PREFIX . " with whatever table prefix your forum uses.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:37.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: