Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[WIDGET] Slider Details »
[WIDGET] Slider
Mod Version: 1.00, by cory_booth (Coder) cory_booth is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.1 Rating: (16 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 157
Released: 23 Jan 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 2597
Not Supported Additional Files Re-usable Code Is in Beta Stage  

Widget Slider - Frontpage Slide Show.

Demo: http://demo.webdeveloperplus.com/fea...ontent-slider/

This is based on the demo above. OK this is my first mod and I know the coding really sucks! But I thought I would get this out and see if anyone want to improve on it.
This is one of those frontpage slide shows that pulls your attachment and data from specified forums.

I hope this works for you.

Install:

Edit slider.php and at line 100:

$forumid - set the forum to pull slides
$limit - set the number of posts
$chars - set the total number of characters
$words - set total number of words

Upload Files.

Create PHP Widget and inser the following code:

ob_start();
echo '<div>';
echo '<center>';
require_once './clientscript/slider/slider.php';
echo '</center>';
echo '</div>';
$output=ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Mini Mods Innovative Signature Showcase TheLastSuperman vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 82 07 Oct 2015 08:18

  #226  
Old 19 Nov 2010, 21:02
zulfiqar.halari zulfiqar.halari is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Hi. Can anyone help me with A to Z about how to install it on my main FORUMHOME page. I want the slider for all posts, not just one forum. Please help me.
Reply With Quote
  #227  
Old 20 Nov 2010, 20:54
vash911 vash911 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Put allot of work into this, by reading all the info the good Dr. Posted. I have a question is it possible to make the slider work with varying resolutions.

Example in 1900x resolution it looks great nestled in the left or right column. But once I got to 1024x768 its to big, and all the elements get pushed away.
Reply With Quote
  #228  
Old 20 Nov 2010, 22:17
PamelaE PamelaE is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Has anyone got an example of this on their site?
Reply With Quote
  #229  
Old 20 Nov 2010, 22:43
CrosseyedGamer's Avatar
CrosseyedGamer CrosseyedGamer is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Rick
I have the frontpage slideshow on my site. Which is a stand alone thing product that was actually made for Joomla. Have it for months and done lots of tweaking to it. It's not an easy simple thing to make work with VB. If this thing does what the demo shows above it would be a nice thing for VB users but I suspect this is a complicated process.

If anyone at VB is paying attention, this would be a great feature to have built into the CMS!!

While I am no coder if you PM me maybe I can offer some help or at least advice.
I am going to try this on my test site and will report back.

Later.
__________________
___________________________
Social Network for Gamers
www.CrossEyedGamer.com
Reply With Quote
  #230  
Old 20 Nov 2010, 22:52
Sleeter Sleeter is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Originally Posted by PamelaE View Post
Has anyone got an example of this on their site?
I've had it running for a while. Works great once I got it all formatted the way I needed it.

http://www.westcoasthighliners.com/
Reply With Quote
  #231  
Old 02 Dec 2010, 09:27
awakenguild awakenguild is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
hi !

I installed 4.0.8 pl2 and the slider but it don`t work

first of all:

"require_once './clientscript/slider/slider.php';"

won`t work, i set it up to direkt link. (http://......)
But i get the Error :

Fatal error: Call to a member function query_read() on a non-object in /www/htdocs/w0085c57/site/clientscript/slider/slider.php on line 110

Whats the Problem ? Any Ideas ?

thanks and greetings !
Reply With Quote
  #232  
Old 02 Dec 2010, 13:03
Jojonas Jojonas is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
In Google Chrome the feed doesn't fetch the newspicture from the thread.
www.learn-seafight.com.

Jonas
Reply With Quote
  #233  
Old 26 Dec 2010, 20:47
jrap jrap is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Hi guys - I was doing some vB upgrades today, and now my slider isn't functioning properly. The error Firefox gives me is

Error: $("#featured > ul") is null


Wondering if anyone else has experienced this?
__________________
Called.in - Automated User Phone Verification for vB. Check if out if you run a Buy/Sell/Trade forum!
Reply With Quote
  #234  
Old 27 Dec 2010, 16:18
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
demo on a live forum?
Reply With Quote
  #235  
Old 30 Dec 2010, 10:49
zulfiqar.halari zulfiqar.halari is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Hi. Can I use it on my forum homepage, not CMS homepage.
Reply With Quote
  #236  
Old 06 Jan 2011, 06:07
The Rocketeer's Avatar
The Rocketeer The Rocketeer is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Could anyone please update it? And can I use this with my latest Vb CMS ? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #237  
Old 10 Jan 2011, 18:17
nacaruncr nacaruncr is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
It doesn't want to work... I tried to install it in my web -4.0.3- like DS MrSinister's said.... but it doesn't work ... I tried all.. in the line 20... where it say $forumid, it have to change by id's forums and this doesn't work :S

someone can help me, please???
Reply With Quote
  #238  
Old 11 Jan 2011, 06:57
AdrianH AdrianH is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Originally Posted by DS MrSinister View Post
if anyone is looking to make this work with vBadvanced CMPS. just download this attachment.
Don't forget to edit lines 20 to 23 to fit your needs.

add a new php module --> name what ever you want too --> File to Include slidermodule.php

---> Use Module Wrapper Template up to you. enjoy
Could you make this module available at vBadvanced please?
Reply With Quote
  #239  
Old 11 Jan 2011, 18:03
Neptun Neptun is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
is this also working with CMS articles ?! to display from a special section ?!

that would be great
Reply With Quote
  #240  
Old 16 Jan 2011, 18:35
halkum halkum is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
This is a great Mod!
But... it's not quite working lol.

Apparently the one forum I want to show, won't, and these are the news oriented posts that get promoted to articles; and if I try another forum like sports, it's showing the first four articles in that category, as in from 2006. Odd.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:04.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: