Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 17 Nov 2013, 12:05
Harpo's Avatar
Harpo Harpo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Question Adding a graphicz Border to my forum Help.

Forgive me If I placed this in the wrong section.

Well I am trying to add a left and right border to my forum. If you see the attachments you will see my left & right borders I plan on using as the border for my forum. Another sample is supplied to give you guys a visualization of what I am trying to do.

The red lines indicate where I want my borders to go. If anyone can assist me that would be awesome.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg index_forum_sample.jpg (34.5 KB, 20 views)
File Type: png left_borderzb.png (6.7 KB, 9 views)
File Type: png right_borderZB.png (6.6 KB, 13 views)
__________________
Idle No More.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17 Nov 2013, 12:55
webmastersun's Avatar
webmastersun webmastersun is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
your idea looks like my forum border that I made http://www.webmastersun.com ?
you need create a image file with height 1px and width depends on your forum width

add css

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If you have problem let me know.

Good luck!
__________________
The best webmaster forum & internet marketing forum for webmasters and internet marketers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17 Nov 2013, 13:37
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
You would of course have to change this line to your site and image path.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17 Nov 2013, 13:42
Harpo's Avatar
Harpo Harpo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Hmm nope never saw your website before.

Also your code did not work for me. The background image did not show up. I added the code to additional.css. was that the correct section?

Anyone else?

--------------- Added 17 Nov 2013 at 13:44 ---------------

Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
You would of course have to change this line to your site and image path.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Affirmative.

Also webmastersun it did not work but thanks.
__________________
Idle No More.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17 Nov 2013, 18:59
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Did you add a div with class mainwrapper around your forums (or whatever you want to have the border)? If you don't use that class, then any CSS you write for it is useless.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18 Nov 2013, 01:34
Harpo's Avatar
Harpo Harpo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Did you add a div with class mainwrapper around your forums (or whatever you want to have the border)? If you don't use that class, then any CSS you write for it is useless.
No I did not. Would you mind explaining how? I've just been playing around with the Stlyevars. No good.
__________________
Idle No More.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18 Nov 2013, 03:18
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
You need to put <div class="mainwrapper"> around the area you want to have the border (and the </div> at the end).
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18 Nov 2013, 04:53
webmastersun's Avatar
webmastersun webmastersun is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Originally Posted by Harpo View Post
No I did not. Would you mind explaining how? I've just been playing around with the Stlyevars. No good.
Send forum link here and I will send you right CSS style for your forum.

Cheers!
__________________
The best webmaster forum & internet marketing forum for webmasters and internet marketers.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18 Nov 2013, 06:27
Harpo's Avatar
Harpo Harpo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Link sent through PM.
__________________
Idle No More.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09 May 2014, 14:11
whitetailworld whitetailworld is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Did you get the border in? I am curious to this as well. could you send me a link to the finished product? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14 May 2014, 02:35
webmastersun's Avatar
webmastersun webmastersun is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Originally Posted by Harpo View Post
Link sent through PM.
I have not received your PM yet

Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
You need to put <div class="mainwrapper"> around the area you want to have the border (and the </div> at the end).
I agree with this
or Harpo need to change mainwrapper to your main dive on your forum, it will work.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:27.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: