Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 02:46
mastertek2000 mastertek2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Unhappy help pls

OK so i have been tying VB3.7 on a test site so today i tried to update my site and it made a mirror image of my test site got rid of all my members did a back up but y can i not update

Last edited by mastertek2000; 21 Mar 2008 at 03:00.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 02:47
SEOvB's Avatar
SEOvB SEOvB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Jarvis
make sure you config.php file is correct
__________________
vBulletin Services and vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 02:51
mastertek2000 mastertek2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by FRDS View Post
make sure you config.php file is correct
yes every thing is correct if not it would not install
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 02:55
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
What is happening exactly? How far into the upgrade process are you getting?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 02:57
mastertek2000 mastertek2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
What is happening exactly? How far into the upgrade process are you getting?
complete install but it makes a mirror image of my test site
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 03:08
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Did you check your site settings in vboptions > Site Name/URL and make sure it is pointing to your real site, not your test site? And the config.php file is different on your real site vs your test site (the database name, etc)?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 03:10
mastertek2000 mastertek2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Did you check your site settings in vboptions > Site Name/URL and make sure it is pointing to your real site, not your test site? And the config.php file is different on your real site vs your test site (the database name, etc)?
yes it does show everything on my jeep site all the forums and post and members are gone
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 03:12
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
If all that stuff is gone, then it sounds like you are pointing to your test site database instead of to your real database. And upgrade cannot just erase all your data. But, if you simply copied the config.php file from your test site to your real site, it will have the wrong database name in it. It will have the test site database name. You need to change that to your real site database name and then do the upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 03:21
mastertek2000 mastertek2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
If all that stuff is gone, then it sounds like you are pointing to your test site database instead of to your real database. And upgrade cannot just erase all your data. But, if you simply copied the config.php file from your test site to your real site, it will have the wrong database name in it. It will have the test site database name. You need to change that to your real site database name and then do the upgrade.
just check it 3 times config.php file everything is correct thi is a strange one i have done with no problem but this time
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 05:46
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
Wait, so what exactly is the issue?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 10:51
mastertek2000 mastertek2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
--------------- Added 21 Mar 2008 at 10:52 ---------------

Originally Posted by Dismounted View Post
Wait, so what exactly is the issue?
i run a test site it is not active just for testing i have tried all 3.7 bates on it everything works fine so the 3.7 candidate came out so i downloaded it removed the instal.phpl file set all parameter on the config.php file upload all files in the upload folder to my forum folder and ran the install/update.php everything goes fine when it is done it is a mirror image of my test site all my members are gone and post

Last edited by mastertek2000; 21 Mar 2008 at 10:52. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 11:02
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
Have you got a backup so you can try again?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 11:11
mastertek2000 mastertek2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by Dismounted View Post
Have you got a backup so you can try again?
yes i have backed up and get my site back but every time i try to update the same thing happens i have never seen this i have gone over everything 5 times everything looks correct i will try some new i will let you know how it goes now if i do a clean install is there a way to reinstall all the post and members
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 11:13
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
Yes, you can use ImpEx. But ImpEx doesn't work with 3.7, yet.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21 Mar 2008, 11:25
mastertek2000 mastertek2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
this is my site before i do the update
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (50.5 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (51.0 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:08.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: