Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07 Aug 2004, 17:12
MindTrix's Avatar
MindTrix MindTrix is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Real name: Liam Hawkins
Your all my last resort

Ok you guys are my last resort now. I recently purchased a spanking gorgeous new pc. Very spec'd up.

Now it has a tv tuner card which i thought was great, but now has resulted in many holes in the wall and other anger provoked things.

After much messing around and trips backwards and forwards between shops, i have managed to get a very fuzzy picture and no sound.

I am simply connecting from my digital box to the back of my pc via a normal aerial lead.

The program i am using is called Media Center, it came with the pc because the windows version i have is called Microsoft XP Media Center edition.

I was supposed to have a manual which i cannot find so i am pretty annoyed at that aswell.


Does anyone know how i can sort out this fuzzy picture and get it to work properly? There is no manual tune option or nothing, it downloads the settings from the internet. Its really annoying me as i have been trying for 3 days now. Anyone able to help out?
__________________
Hacks Made :
Store 3.0 Color Name Add On.
Last 5 Attachments On Forum Home
Rap Battle System -=RBS=-

Tutorials Made :
The Basics Of PHP For Beginners and The Basics Of PHP [Part 2]

Running away from that Thousand Post Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08 Aug 2004, 01:56
RetroDreams RetroDreams is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
What is the model of the TV tuner card? If you don't know, pull the card out and grab the FCC ID off of it and I'll help you out if I can.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08 Aug 2004, 02:32
MindTrix's Avatar
MindTrix MindTrix is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Real name: Liam Hawkins
I attached a screenie of the device manager. If you can help you will be god I really dont want to have to take this comp back to the shop.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tv card.JPG (31.5 KB, 26 views)
__________________
Hacks Made :
Store 3.0 Color Name Add On.
Last 5 Attachments On Forum Home
Rap Battle System -=RBS=-

Tutorials Made :
The Basics Of PHP For Beginners and The Basics Of PHP [Part 2]

Running away from that Thousand Post Mark
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08 Aug 2004, 02:50
RetroDreams RetroDreams is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Yeah, Conexant is the brand. I've usually had good luck with them. What all have you done thus far? Have you done:

1) Uninstalled drivers and packaged software and re-install?
2) Moving card to another slot? or is this an external USB version?

ON EDIT: I just read that this may be a chipset on a separate video card and not a standalone device.

Last edited by RetroDreams; 08 Aug 2004 at 02:53.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08 Aug 2004, 03:04
RetroDreams RetroDreams is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Can you also tell me what the exact name of the program you are using? Is it the ATI Media Center?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08 Aug 2004, 12:41
MindTrix's Avatar
MindTrix MindTrix is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Real name: Liam Hawkins
Its called Media Center. Its a default XP program that comes with this version of XP. Hence it beeing called Windows XP Media Center
__________________
Hacks Made :
Store 3.0 Color Name Add On.
Last 5 Attachments On Forum Home
Rap Battle System -=RBS=-

Tutorials Made :
The Basics Of PHP For Beginners and The Basics Of PHP [Part 2]

Running away from that Thousand Post Mark
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09 Aug 2004, 05:04
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
I highly recommend getting hold of the Ahead Nero package called NeroVision Express - great support for different cards and different input methods - unfortunately I can't help with Media Center edition as this version hasn't arrived in Australia yet
__________________
Natcher00
... is the Admin @ MobileForces.org - Official Community for a cult Vehicle based FPS - the only place for support!
... also he's Penfold to Dark_Wizard's Danger Mouse in development of vBWar
http://www.mobileforces.org/sig.jpg
{DaniWeb: Learn HOW-TO mod_rewrite your vB board}
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09 Aug 2004, 13:15
MindTrix's Avatar
MindTrix MindTrix is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Real name: Liam Hawkins
I contacted my computers makers. errm Fujitsu siemens.

They werent too helpfull, more or less sure it was me doing something wrong, in the end i was told to go get a normal aerial and try that before they would help me further. So i got on and now i can recieve about 4 channels ok, tiny bit poor picture. But this isnt the point, i want my sky to go through the pc
__________________
Hacks Made :
Store 3.0 Color Name Add On.
Last 5 Attachments On Forum Home
Rap Battle System -=RBS=-

Tutorials Made :
The Basics Of PHP For Beginners and The Basics Of PHP [Part 2]

Running away from that Thousand Post Mark
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:28.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: