Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04 Oct 2014, 23:01
koolfire koolfire is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
How to center user avatar in postbit?

How do I center the user avatar in my postbit_legacy??

Here's a screenshot showing you my problem ==> http://screencast.com/t/3WkK5j8frgke



Here's my postbit_legacy template


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Please help!! Thanks!

If you need me to post my additional.css or postbit.css file, let me know!
__________________
gσσ∂ υѕєя кησωѕ тнє яυℓєѕ, gяєαт υѕєя кησωѕ тнє α∂мιηѕ!
When you're right, no one remembers. When you're wrong, no one forgets
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04 Oct 2014, 23:16
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
Add this to your additional.css template for your style.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04 Oct 2014, 23:39
tbworld tbworld is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Try it first without the use of "!important". If you are inserting this at the bottom of the 'additional.css' template it should not be needed. If a modification loads it's CSS after 'additional.css' it would be required to override the modification, but this might hinder other postbit modifications one might load in the future. Please note @Ozzy47 is not wrong in his answer, as his answer has the best chance in working. Many users do not want a lecture on theory along with a working answer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04 Oct 2014, 23:42
koolfire koolfire is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Originally Posted by tbworld View Post
Try it first without the use of "!important". If you are inserting this at the bottom of the 'additional.css' template it should not be needed. If a modification loads it's CSS after 'additional.css' it would be required to override the modification, but this might hinder other postbit modifications one might load in the future. Please note @Ozzy47 is not wrong in his answer, as his answer has the best chance in working. Many users do not want a lecture on theory along with a working answer.
Hey! I tried it WITHOUT the !important and it did NOT work.. When I tried it with the exact code given by #ozzy47 it worked!

what does that mean? what does the !important thingy do anyways :S ?

PS Thanks Ozzy47 for the help!!
__________________
gσσ∂ υѕєя кησωѕ тнє яυℓєѕ, gяєαт υѕєя кησωѕ тнє α∂мιηѕ!
When you're right, no one remembers. When you're wrong, no one forgets
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04 Oct 2014, 23:46
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
Important means it over rides any previous settings that may be taking affect.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04 Oct 2014, 23:58
tbworld tbworld is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
Important means it over rides any previous settings that may be taking affect.
I might add one thing here for education reasons only. @Koolfire, just ignore the following statement it will definitely confuse you -- all in time. .

Important means it overrides any previous settings on the selector property -- and any future setting in the selector's property in the cascade. To override the "!Important" setting will require the use of "!important" on all future changes to the property of the selector.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05 Oct 2014, 00:07
koolfire koolfire is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Hmm lol okay.. so isn't it better to change the original setting? instead of creating a new one that overrides everything? Also - is it possible for me to change my AVATAR size? http://screencast.com/t/xFVlOdac6yDC

Thanks for the help btw!!
__________________
gσσ∂ υѕєя кησωѕ тнє яυℓєѕ, gяєαт υѕєя кησωѕ тнє α∂мιηѕ!
When you're right, no one remembers. When you're wrong, no one forgets
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05 Oct 2014, 00:11
tbworld tbworld is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Good surmise, but only in the case of !important. Otherwise let the CSS cascade handle the rest.

Yes, but sometimes not that easy to find depending on how they embedded the CSS. In the programming world we try to use "best-practices", which if used correctly would make it easier for another programmer to come along after the fact. However, in the world of modifications they are seldom used. Many modifications like here on vbulletin.org the programmer has offered his talent for free, so the extra compatibility effort is hardly worth it.

Every developer/member that have offered free modifications here, are golden, and have my highest level of respect for their time and effort.

Last edited by tbworld; 05 Oct 2014 at 00:28.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05 Oct 2014, 00:12
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
AdminCP --> Usergroups --> Usergroup Manager --> Edit Usergroup find the setting group Picture Uploading Permissions and set the values you want there.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05 Oct 2014, 00:14
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
Originally Posted by koolfire View Post
Hmm lol okay.. so isn't it better to change the original setting? instead of creating a new one that overrides everything?
Not necessarily, it depends on how the style is set up, so it is better to use the additional.css as that is one of the reasons it was added to the software.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05 Oct 2014, 00:27
tbworld tbworld is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
Not necessarily, it depends on how the style is set up, so it is better to use the additional.css as that is one of the reasons it was added to the software.
Yep, Yep! Could not agree more, that is why the cascade was developed. Sorry, I am out of likes for you @Ozzy47.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05 Oct 2014, 00:28
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
Yeah I know, I get that all the time.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05 Oct 2014, 00:34
tbworld tbworld is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I noticed way back when that it was @Lynne's inventiveness and suggestion that we have the 'additonal.css' template. Thanks @Lynne!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:07.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: