Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
MGC Chatbox Evo Details »
MGC Chatbox Evo
Mod Version: 3.4.0, by VBDev (Coder) VBDev is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (307 votes - 4.63 average) Installs: 2477
Released: 28 Jan 2008 Last Update: 02 Sep 2013 Downloads: 46161
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Auto-Template Additional Files Translations  



This mod is automatically compatible with vB3.6.x, vB3.7.x, vB3.8.x and vB4.x.x


Overview

MGC Chatbox Evo is the most ever installed chatbox for vBulletin !


It offers a new enhanced online experience to your members leading to increased time spent online of more than 25% by providing them with a new, more interactive, way to interact with each other.
  • Important number of features
  • High level of configurability to fit each users needs
  • Channels system
  • Many commands
  • Bot system
  • and more...
... makes MGC Chatbox Evo a must have for your forum !

Detailed features

Following is a non-exhaustive list:
  • Simple install
  • Ajax based with:
    • Fast and Intelligent chats retrieval through javascript calls to server files (refresh delay configurable per usergroup)
    • Edit/update by double-clicking on a chat
    • Interact on chats through menus and javascript
  • Many usergroup permissions to limit features according to usergroups
  • Full configuration of the chatbox display:
    Size, position on forum pages, editor layout (either top/bottom input or left/right textarea) and position, number of chats displayed, ...
  • Full configuration of the chats display:
    Authorized bbcodes selection, date/time options, avatar display, ...
  • Possibility to create channels (unlimited number) with multiple configuration options:
    • Warn user of new message when not active through blinking image and eventually sound notification
    • Possibility to select on which specific page each is displayed
    • Option to display the channel only for selected languages
    • Usergroup/User permissions to access the channel
  • Many commands available with usergroup/user permissions to access them:
    • /me: well known IRC command
    • /del: remove shouts (different possibilities of removal)
    • /ignore: ignore shouts from another user
    • /ban: ban user from chatbox
    • /pm: send a private chat to another user
    • /announcement: modify the announcement on top of the chatbox
    • /slap: allow user to slap another user
    • /team: chats sending between specified usergroups
    • /l33t: I33t-ify a message
    • /banchan: ban user from specific channel [PRO only]
  • Forum activity notifications system in the chatbox:
    • Different display options:
      • In the chatbox melted with chats
      • In the chatbox in a separate column
      • In the vB4 sidebar or a custom sidebar for vB3
    • Multiple notifications:
      • New thread creation
      • New post creation
      • Post thanked (Abe's)
      • New registrations (not included - separate product)
      • IBProarcade highscore (not included - separate product)
  • Bot system with set of predefined trigger chat and corresponding answers and automatic bot chats [PRO only]
  • Archive system with statistics as well as download and search capabilities
  • Possibility to display the list of users online in the chatbox
  • Force anynomous to enter a username before chatting if they can access the chatbox
  • Antiflood system
  • Private chats feature through PM in tabs
  • Optional sound notifications
  • Inactive mode feature for server load optimization
  • User statistics display in posts and profile
  • Chatbox statistics display on forumhome
  • Create thread from a chat [PRO only]
  • CMS Integration (not included - separate product)
    • vBAdvanced CMPS
    • vBulletin 4 CMS
  • Importers from other chatbox systems:
Install

Refer to the readme for the chatbox install.

Demo

Live demo on MGC Products forum

Languages
  1. French
  2. English
  3. German [Not yet updated]
  4. Serbian [Not yet updated]
Support

On my website mostly and in this thread


Intégration

Integration in IBProarcade is described in the readme.
vBAdvanced CMPS and vBulletin 4 CMS integration are available as additional modules.


Compatibility

This hack is compatible with vB3.6.x, vB3.7.x
, vB3.8.x and vB4.x.x

Changelog

First part:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=221

Second part:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...postcount=5429

Third part:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...postcount=8469

How to set the channel images


Thanks to princeedwards for this little how to : click here

PRO version and additional addons available on my website

This mod is automatically compatible with vB3.6.x, vB3.7.x, vB3.8.x and vB4.x.x

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Chat Modifications Cyb - ChatBox Valter vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 1244 03 Feb 2016 14:36
Chat Modifications Chatbox Rules in cyb chatbox title Hornstar vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 15 23 Apr 2011 17:57

  #8446  
Old 31 Jul 2013, 21:43
Ranger187 Ranger187 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by AndrewSimm View Post
This mod has way to many request at startup. Not sure putting 40 additional request on every page is something I want to do. I wish there was a setting so I could tell it to only load those files when the chatbox is loaded.
If you have it load, it's going to load any files. So say a search bot indexes/views, it's loading. Ajax is real time.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8447  
Old 01 Aug 2013, 09:53
AndrewSimm's Avatar
AndrewSimm AndrewSimm is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Originally Posted by Ranger187 View Post
If you have it load, it's going to load any files. So say a search bot indexes/views, it's loading. Ajax is real time.
Yeah I understand the technology but don't see why it needs to load 40 different javascript files on every page. I assume I can change the hook location so it only loads on the chat page since I don't plan on using it on any other page. I have the javascript and css on a pull CDN on NetDNA's network so it isn't the end of the world, but it is waste to load all that javascript and css on content.php when I plan on never using it there. I am trying to limit unnecessary request to my users. Furthermore it appears as if a lot of it is rtl (right to left) css which my users will never use since 100% use the latin alphabet.
Reply With Quote
  #8448  
Old 05 Aug 2013, 15:52
voter's Avatar
voter voter is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
When a user groups do not have permission to search shouts, are not able to make any general searches getting only "Please add more constraints to your search. Searches that return all or most of the database are a bad idea."
__________________
viparmenia.com
viparmenia.com
viparmenia.com
Reply With Quote
  #8449  
Old 08 Aug 2013, 08:08
MahdyE23 MahdyE23 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
I am getting this error, how do I fix?

http://prntscr.com/1k1q33
Reply With Quote
  #8450  
Old 09 Aug 2013, 03:29
Ranger187 Ranger187 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Mahdy.. Did you make sure that file exists and the permissions are set correctly?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8451  
Old 09 Aug 2013, 04:29
MahdyE23 MahdyE23 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
@Ranger187, yes I did. The whole file ++++ed up my entire forums...
Reply With Quote
  #8452  
Old 21 Aug 2013, 02:32
Ranger187 Ranger187 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by MahdyE23 View Post
@Ranger187, yes I did. The whole file ++++ed up my entire forums...
I highly doubt that...

Instructions state, as with all plugins, you backup your forums. So simply revert it if you had issues...

If you're on VB5, it won't work.

Failed to open won't F your forums up. Did you bother trying to reinstall it over top of itself?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8453  
Old 21 Aug 2013, 22:36
NoMatt3r NoMatt3r is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Great mod! But the icon doesn't change to mgc_cb_gen_channel_new.gif. I've created another channel but only mgc_cb_gen_channel_nosel and mgc_cb_gen_channel_sel are displayed.

Don't they change automatically or do i have to use specific settings?
Reply With Quote
  #8454  
Old 22 Aug 2013, 23:18
Ranger187 Ranger187 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
The channels icon only shows if you have channels enabled and have more than the default one displayed. Meaning default and <channel 2>.

If at that point you don't have a channels icon showing, make sure you copied it from the channels folder in the /images folder to the correct theme you have/are using.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8455  
Old 23 Aug 2013, 09:30
NoMatt3r NoMatt3r is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Originally Posted by Ranger187 View Post
The channels icon only shows if you have channels enabled and have more than the default one displayed. Meaning default and <channel 2>.

If at that point you don't have a channels icon showing, make sure you copied it from the channels folder in the /images folder to the correct theme you have/are using.
_nosel (http://puu.sh/48Ljn.png) and _sel (http://puu.sh/48LjH.png) are working but the _new icon doesn't. Actually, if there is a new chat in the channel there should be _new displayed, or not?
Reply With Quote
  #8456  
Old 24 Aug 2013, 01:06
Ranger187 Ranger187 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
YOU have to make the icons though. He only provides the standard one.

So you'd need 3

No selection
Selected
New (and animate that one)

If however, the default one isn't showing the (new) part and flashing, then something is wrong. I've not messed with the channels in a good year so make sure there's not an option to enable/disable it that's not ticked.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8457  
Old 24 Aug 2013, 09:17
Fudgyyy Fudgyyy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
So my forum got put on a temporary hold on hostgator because of too much cpu usage. It was mainly due to the Ajax refreshing. I noticed it got bad when I allowed unregistered users to see the chatbox. We are on a shared server so we can't use that much cpu. I took it off for guests, but I want to have it for them to see because the activity on the chatbox is a real selling point of the site. How can I reduce server and cpu usage while keeping the chats there? Would making it refresh after an extended time like 20 seconds help? Also how can I terminate previous Ajax process cuz the hostgator people say the Ajax processes are stacking on each other which is causing an increase in server load
Reply With Quote
  #8458  
Old 24 Aug 2013, 16:38
VBDev's Avatar
VBDev VBDev is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Clément
Hello,

If you let unregistered users see the forum it means search crawlers will see it too that might be the reason. Do you have a huge amount of chats displayed inside the chatbox ?

I don't think it's a question of refresh, rather the fact that you allowed unregistered users.

Killing processes is server side, you should ask the support from hostgator.

Clément
Reply With Quote
  #8459  
Old 24 Aug 2013, 17:26
Fudgyyy Fudgyyy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
So the pure fact that I'm letting them see the chatbox, and not letting them use it, means that it's going to cause server overload.
I have the default number of chats for both regular mode, large mode, and
full screen mode.

The thing is that I want the unreg users to see, but I want to drastically reduce cpu usage. What would be the best way to reduce server load while letting the unreg users see(not use) the chatbox?
Reply With Quote
  #8460  
Old 24 Aug 2013, 17:49
VBDev's Avatar
VBDev VBDev is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Clément
What I mean is that in that case, web crawlers (google, etc...) see the chatbox and they tend to be numerous and visit a lot.

You could first try to reduce the refresh rate for unregistered users that might reduce load a bit (something like 30s) for unregistered would seem fair choice if you only want them to see it.

Clément
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:54.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: