Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
  #106  
Old 24 Jul 2015, 20:45
ProfC's Avatar
ProfC ProfC is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
That works perfectly, thank you. It seems I was in fact using the wrong method. Now the question would be on how to get it to display a different image based on the option selected on your profile.
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 24 Jul 2015, 20:55
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Do your images have the options for field17 embedded in their URL? If so you could easily build the HTML using string concatenation. Suppose your images are stored in the folder "images/housemembership" and their filenames are composed of the options and the extension ".png". Then you would use the plugin code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 24 Jul 2015, 21:01
ProfC's Avatar
ProfC ProfC is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
They don't, but I'll work on that later tonight and see what I can whip up. Thank you ^^
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 24 Jul 2015, 21:04
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by ProfC View Post
They don't, but I'll work on that later tonight and see what I can whip up. Thank you ^^
Rather than rename the folder and files, it would be easier to construct a switch statement to build the element. Just let me know the folder name and which image filename goes with which option, and I will write the plugin code.
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 24 Jul 2015, 21:43
ProfC's Avatar
ProfC ProfC is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
Rather than rename the folder and files, it would be easier to construct a switch statement to build the element. Just let me know the folder name and which image filename goes with which option, and I will write the plugin code.
Thank you

I'll drop you a message in a few moments with everything.
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 30 Aug 2015, 03:32
akz645 akz645 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Question

Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
...
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
...
Multiple-Selection Menu
&
Multiple-Selection Checkbox

1) How do I get some/all of those fields highlighted/checkboxes ticked as the default during registration?

2) How do I force all my existing members into updating their user profile settings?
I have some forced options now (like gender). Members who are registering now are forced to pick male or female.
Whereas members who have already signed up, they aren't forced as nothing appears in their postbit (gender) unless they go to their userCP profile and press save.


P.S=
Thank you Lynne for this brilliant article

Last edited by akz645; 30 Aug 2015 at 04:09.
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 30 Aug 2015, 18:23
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
1. For Multiple-Selection Menu, you may set the first one as default but that is the only option. There is no way to pre-select several checkboxes. I think you would need to write a plugin to do that.

2. I think you can set Field Required to Yes, Always and that should do what you want.

Yes, always - User will be required to complete this field at registration. Enabling this setting will force all users to complete it before they can continue using your forum. This applies only if the field is shown on the "Edit Your Details" page.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 30 Aug 2015, 23:14
akz645 akz645 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
1. For Multiple-Selection Menu, you may set the first one as default but that is the only option.
http://i.imgur.com/oBVhrlM.png + http://i.imgur.com/6h0gmLS.png
How do I set the first option as the default (highlighted)?
As the current settings I'm using, doesn't do this...
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
2. I think you can set Field Required to Yes, Always and that should do what you want.
"Yes, always - User will be required to complete this field at registration. Enabling this setting will force all users to complete it before they can continue using your forum. This applies only if the field is shown on the "Edit Your Details" page."
Cheers, that worked.
Yes, at registration and profile updating - Doesn't work.
Yes, always - Worked

Last edited by akz645; 31 Aug 2015 at 00:01.
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 31 Aug 2015, 17:29
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
1) Whoops, sorry, I was looking at the wrong type of profile field (single-selection menu, not multi-selection menu).
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 01 Sep 2015, 00:48
akz645 akz645 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
1) Whoops, sorry, I was looking at the wrong type of profile field (single-selection menu, not multi-selection menu).
Ah alright. Anyway, thanks for the help

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=320081
I made a request for somebody to make a plugin allowing the admin to set defaults for Multiple-Selection Menu/Checkbox when creating a User Profile Field.
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 17 Sep 2015, 03:52
akz645 akz645 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
...
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
...
1) Do you know any way to set it so only certain usergroups will have X User Profile Field option appear in their userCP?

2) How do I execute a SQL Query to force All Users/ Certain Usergroups/ Certain Users to have their X user profile field options changed into what I want?
They can change into what they want from the userCP later.

Last edited by akz645; 17 Sep 2015 at 17:37.
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 17 Sep 2015, 18:17
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
1) No, I do not.

2) Very hard to say without specifics. But, you can probably use phpMyAdmin to do it.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 17 Sep 2015, 18:22
akz645 akz645 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
2) Very hard to say without specifics. But, you can probably use phpMyAdmin to do it.
I was hoping it would be something straight forward like this:

Invisible
On: UPDATE user SET options=options + 512 WHERE NOT(options & 512);
Off: UPDATE user SET options=options - 512 WHERE options & 512;

Run from Execute SQL Query

Where you'd just need to colour code what I need to change depending on my options & field number.
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 17 Sep 2015, 22:42
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
It would be something like that only on the userfield table (where the settings for the user profile fields are kept). But, if it is for a certain usergroup, your WHERE statement would have to include a SELECT of only certain users whose user.usergroupid was xx since the usergroupid is not included in the userfield table. I'm not good at writing those sort of queries.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 27 Sep 2015, 23:03
akz645 akz645 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Question

Originally Posted by akz645 View Post
How do I execute a SQL Query to force All Users/ Certain Usergroups/ Certain Users to have their X user profile field options changed into what I want?
They can change into what they want from the userCP later.
Glenn Vergara posted how to do it, from vbulletin.com

1)
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This code allows you to change a usergroups' custom user profile field (any option they have), to whatever specific option you want them all to have changed to.
Key:
Red = User Profile Field ID.
Green = User Profile Field Option you want to change to.
Blue = Usergroup ID.

2)
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This code allows you to change a usergroups' custom user profile field (any single option), to whatever other specific option you want them all to have it changed to.
Key:
Red = User Profile Field ID.
Green = User Profile Field Option you want to change to.
Orange = Option you want changed.
Blue = Usergroup ID.

3)
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This code allows you to change a usergroups' custom user profile field (multiple options), to whatever specific option you want them all to have it changed to. If they have selected an option you don't include (example: Other), then users who have selected that option will be left unaffected.
Key:
Red = User Profile Field ID.
Green = User Profile Field Option you want to change to.
Orange = Option you want changed.
Blue = Usergroup ID.

Note: Change usergroupid to userid to change for several users, instead of entire usergroups.
Note 2: You don't have to select more than 1 usergroup. Just selecting 1 usergroup still works.

P.S= If you want to know how to change 'Display Reputation', 'Invisible' etc, check out my guide here:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...58#post2555258

--------------- Added 27 Sep 2015 at 23:05 ---------------

Originally Posted by akz645 View Post
Do you know any way to set it so only certain usergroups will have X User Profile Field option appear in their userCP?
That's the only question still left unanswered.

If anybody can help out, that would be great

Last edited by akz645; 27 Sep 2015 at 23:23.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:44.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: