Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Twin columns on forum home and forum display Details »
Twin columns on forum home and forum display
Mod Version: 1.2.0, by Seven Skins (Coder/Designer) Seven Skins is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2021 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 56
Released: 16 Dec 2009 Last Update: 19 Jan 2010 Downloads: 431
Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Twin columns on forum home and forum display

As the title says this mod simply puts a column on both sides forumhome and forumdisplay pages.

Great mod for google skyscrapper ads.

Installation:
Download the attached XML file.
Import the product.
Edit navbar and footer templates. (See below)




Find in navbar template:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add below:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.




Add the code below to the first line of footer template:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



Footer template after adding the code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.





It is recommended that you should edit doc_minwidth to 950 and doc_margin to Top=0 Right=10 Bottom=0 Left=10 .. so that you have more space for forums and contents won't get squashed.


Once you have installed the modification edit "SevenSkins - Templates > ss_twincolumns_left_contents and ss_twincolumns_right_contents to put your advert or contents in the side columns.


Finally don't forget to click install.


Thanks to Lynne for additional css plugin code which I used in this modification.


PS. Do not use my side column mods together use only one.


====================================================


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

====================================================


Updates:
19 Jan 10: Updated
- Save the code from "ss_twincolumn_left_contents" and "ss_twincolumn_right_contents" template. (Code for ads, etc)
- Revert template belonging to this product.
- Then import the product over writting the existing installation.
- Put your ad code in the "ss_twincolumn_left_contents" and "ss_twincolumn_right_contents" template.



15 Jan 10: Updated for vBulletin 4.0.1
2 templates has been changed.
- Save the code from "ss_twincolumn_left_contents" and "ss_twincolumn_right_contents" template. (Code for ads, etc)
- Revert template belonging to this product.
- Then import the product over writting the existing installation.
- Put your ad code in the "ss_twincolumn_left_contents" and "ss_twincolumn_right_contents" template.



22 Dec 09: Working with vBulletin 4.0.0 (Gold)


.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	tc01.png
Views:	3850
Size:	95.7 KB
ID:	107929  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #31  
Old 05 Jan 2010, 16:28
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
^^ When I get some time free I will make this.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05 Jan 2010, 22:44
LordDB LordDB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CoffeeFads.Co.Uk
Originally Posted by Seven Skins View Post
^^ When I get some time free I will make this.
That'll be just great; I await it at your convenience! Many Members I'm sure will appreciate it!
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 07 Jan 2010, 16:23
ZXeno ZXeno is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Originally Posted by ZXeno View Post
I'm trying to get the left column to 240px wide and leave the right column at the default. I followed your directions in posts #14 and #17, but I haven't been able to get the columns (left/right or both) to change size.

Also, I'm trying to move the forum statistics into one of the boxes in the column (my site's 3.8 example here) but when I try to move the stats from the "What's going on?" box, it doesn't display what is in the variables, any thoughts on this?
Anything suggestions at all?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08 Jan 2010, 11:43
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Edit "ss_twincolumns_css.css"

.ss_twincolumns_wrapper {
padding-left: 255px;
padding-right: 135px;
}

.ss_twincolumns_inner {
width: 100%;
}

.ss_twincolumns_floatwrap {
float: left;
width: 100%;
margin-left: -255px;
}

.ss_twincolumns_content {
float: right;
margin-right: -255px;
width: 100%;
position: relative;
}

.ss_twincolumns_content_margin {
padding: 0px 5px 0px 5px;
}

.ss_twincolumns_left {
float: left;
width: 255px;
position: relative;
}
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08 Jan 2010, 21:26
greenchicken greenchicken is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
I love this mod, but I have a question

I run two styles and use the force users to style hack
How do I uninstall your mod on the ad-free style and keep it on the style I want to keep it on?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08 Jan 2010, 21:33
COL NIL SATIS COL NIL SATIS is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Col
brill will upload once vbull 4 lands on our forum
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11 Jan 2010, 04:31
texasteamplayer's Avatar
texasteamplayer texasteamplayer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Originally Posted by Bouncer222 View Post
By twin column you mean a column on each side of the main content being displayed correct? I have a test site of vbulletin , latest release installed at www.new.brotherhoodofgamers.com and there is already 2 columns on each side, although I might be wrong and not understand correctly what you mean by twin columns.

And the vbulletin one only shows the columns on the homepage?
that's your CMS. this mod is for your forum, silly.

seven......can widgets like "recent posts" and such go into these blocks, like they do for VB's current block?

Is there a way to configure the width of the block, the padding, and the internal forum width (and I'd MUCH rather do it based on % than fixed pixel width)? For example, I'd like the blocks to be 170px wide, with 10px spacing, and then have the forum occupy 100% of the space inbetween.

That would make it easy to manage, and look proper on all screen resolutions.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11 Jan 2010, 04:34
texasteamplayer's Avatar
texasteamplayer texasteamplayer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
that, and why not integrate this into the "block manager" for vb? so widgets can be viewed and managed that way? Or hack into the VB one and add the permission to be able to minimize a block, or the entire sidebar (that little tab). For people that use these side blocks for ads and static html (menu's, etc) content....users goofing around and minimizing and removing the blocks is a headache.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 11 Jan 2010, 04:37
texasteamplayer's Avatar
texasteamplayer texasteamplayer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Originally Posted by PcGamer View Post
Yes it does...

but what I don't know is How would I go about adding these twin columns to my other pages such as 'arcade.php'?
I'd like to make this block for all pages of the site. even the homepage CMS. We run static content in the side blocks, so the homepage CMS stuff and forums can occupy 100% of the middle space, while the side blocks are the same on all pages.

possible?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 11 Jan 2010, 17:47
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Originally Posted by texasteamplayer View Post
Is there a way to configure the width of the block, the padding, and the internal forum width (and I'd MUCH rather do it based on % than fixed pixel width)? For example, I'd like the blocks to be 170px wide, with 10px spacing, and then have the forum occupy 100% of the space inbetween.
That is how it is at the moment. Coulnn are 120px wide and forum contents fluid.

For widgets you have to write your own plugins.

Originally Posted by texasteamplayer View Post
I'd like to make this block for all pages of the site. even the homepage CMS. We run static content in the side blocks, so the homepage CMS stuff and forums can occupy 100% of the middle space, while the side blocks are the same on all pages.
possible?
Possible but not recommended.

Remove these two lines from these two templates "ss_twincolumns_start" and "ss_twincolumns_end"


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 11 Jan 2010, 21:01
texasteamplayer's Avatar
texasteamplayer texasteamplayer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Originally Posted by Seven Skins View Post
Possible but not recommended.

Remove these two lines from these two templates "ss_twincolumns_start" and "ss_twincolumns_end"


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

.
why don't you recommend it?
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 11 Jan 2010, 21:41
texasteamplayer's Avatar
texasteamplayer texasteamplayer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
made the change. seems to be working. thanks.
__________________
www.teamplayergaming.com
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 11 Jan 2010, 22:22
texasteamplayer's Avatar
texasteamplayer texasteamplayer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
odd. I can get these to work in google chrome just fine, however it screws up the content on the homepage. forums look fine, however aren't respecting me saying the blocks should be 170px wide. Simple CSS change, right?

In IE8, the blocks only show up if I'm logged out? wierd....
__________________
www.teamplayergaming.com
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 11 Jan 2010, 22:37
texasteamplayer's Avatar
texasteamplayer texasteamplayer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
must have been a cookie/cache issue, since the blocks started working/changing to what I set them after a bit. Clearing the CMS cache and emptying cookies helps.

As for the IE8 issues.....as well as the disappearance of the sideblocks when I'm logged out...still persist.

IE8 has the page stretching off to the right (with a scroll bar at the bottom), but chrome doesn't. Neither browser show the blocks when logged in.
__________________
www.teamplayergaming.com
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 12 Jan 2010, 05:19
texasteamplayer's Avatar
texasteamplayer texasteamplayer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
got the logged in logged out issue. Doesn't seem that the blocks work when using the forum template simple black. Switched back to default template/use forum default, and works fine now.

still the big scrolling to the right in IE8. come to www.teamplayergaming.com and see.

blocks seem to be working fine on all pages. even blogs and articles.
__________________
www.teamplayergaming.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:22.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: