Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
UKBL ~ Quality Drop Down Menu System Details »
UKBL ~ Quality Drop Down Menu System
Mod Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive (Designer) UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.0 Rating: (14 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 154
Released: 29 Jan 2009 Last Update: 23 Feb 2009 Downloads: 1899
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations  

UKBL ~ Quality Drop Down Menu System

You wanted Drop down Menu's that were easy to install and edit, Well now you've got it

Live Demo

http://www.aboxcafe.com/index.php

http://www.wheelsbd.com/

Compatible with almost ALL Browsers.

Hi Guys, i've had so many messages about My "Easy Menu Tabs" and when was i going to do Dropdown Tabs, Well i've listened and now i can happily add UKBL ~ Quality Drop Down menu's to our list of modifications.

This is just so easy to edit and install, as long as you feel confident with a few simple edits and uploading a graphics file to your images directory or even your photobucket account, if you don't want to mess about uploading to your server.

UKBL ~ Quality Drop Downs sit quite happily on top of your forums accessable from all pages of the forum



They look like any bog standard Menu Nav bar but when you hover the mouse over it you'll see the dropdowns, I've uploaded a test version to my forum, Take a look for yourselves http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum

I've left the Top White Easy Men Bar in place also so you can compare both of them.

When you go over the menu bar the dropdowns should appear like in the picture below



See how the chosen links are highlighted

So now we come to the installation stage.

Download the dropdown.zip file below and open the VBOrg_Menu.txt file in notepad or any other text editor, as we need to edit a few files.

The first one we need to edit is the url of our Graphic File, So to cut a long story short we'll upload our graphic file to our Photobucket account, or any other account or image directory on your server, So firstly find


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and this is the line we need to edit, so that it gives us a nice gradiant blue acdcross the menu bar


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Just replace the url within the brackets ( ) and thats it

Then we go and do the menu edits, You don't want your members click on your forum menu and ending up on my site So what we need to do now is change the menu links for yours, It take about 15 min's but its not hard to do, so lets do it.....

First find where our menu starts, This will be right at the bottom of the code, The HTML part of this and the first bit we need to change starts from here...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Basically each tab is made up of a block like what you see above, You have the Main Tab Description which looks like this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and you have all the sub links underneath and they look like this...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and its this one which we need to edit, basically if you want to keep the same link, all you need to do is to chasnge my url http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum to your forums URL, and thats it, your link should work for your site.

If you want to change the link altogether and put your own, then replace the full URL with one that you want and don't forget to edit the end part "Edit Avatar" as that is the title thats shown on the dropdown.

When you've finished all your editing, we need to upload this whole code to your Header Template of the Style that your Currantly using on your forum, So once you've saved your edited code, Just copy and paste directly to your Header, Go right to the end and click paste, save the template and thats it, The Graphic File which you need to upload to your server or image host is also in the zip file.

So easy and a great improvement to any VBulletin Forum

This is a Freebie for all you members on VB.org with my compliments

If anyone wants any custom menus made, Just PM me I'll help where i can, Just bear in mind a menu like this takes a good couple of hours or so, so a donation is more than welcomed

Oh almost Forgot guys,

If you like it, Please Click on Installed, as this really does motivate me to improving these hacks

UPDATE 09.02.09

Uploaded a New Zip File, Black Menu.Zip This is the same as this original except that its black for darker Websites and Forums, Instructions are the same as above, and comes complete with customised Graphics which will need to be uploaded to your /images/ directory.



UPDATE 23.02.09

For some of you Admins who prefer menu Buttons as opposed to a menu bar, i've made some buttons based on the above menu formate, You can install it by following the same instructions as the main install, Just upload the graphics and edit your menu links and thats it.

Experiment with the css to change colors width of boxes etc, Add more or as little as you want, the important thing is to have fun learning.



UPDATE: 26th April 2009

Centering the Menu so that it appears central


There has been much debate about trying to centralise the menu tabs, I didn't want to edit the code too much as this would make a mess of it in different browsers, However i've found that there is a way

The easiest way to center menu content is to place it inside of a center aligned table, as shown below:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This way the menu tabs will appear central in all browsers.

Hope this helps



Enjoy

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	menu1.png
Views:	660
Size:	19.0 KB
ID:	93665   Click image for larger version

Name:	menu2.png
Views:	607
Size:	19.9 KB
ID:	93666   Click image for larger version

Name:	black.png
Views:	501
Size:	11.0 KB
ID:	94464   Click image for larger version

Name:	blue button.jpg
Views:	407
Size:	15.5 KB
ID:	95383  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 86 29 Apr 2011 15:30
Forum Home Enhancements UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 81 03 Aug 2009 16:33
Forum Home Enhancements UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 17 17 Feb 2009 07:01
Post Quality Points System Addon: Top Quality Posters Page N9ne vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 21 28 Jun 2003 04:24

  #286  
Old 13 Nov 2009, 11:54
KID_1194 KID_1194 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Real name: Amin
nice modification buddy ... but conditions must be added to the menu
in order to restrict the view of items .. what I mean is that you should use the if condition to make things only shown to members ..


Best regards
Reply With Quote
  #287  
Old 13 Nov 2009, 16:23
Scalemotorcars's Avatar
Scalemotorcars Scalemotorcars is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Daniel
Im sure that can be done and Ill mess with it when I have more time.

As for the CSS I already had a Css file I used for extra code so I just added it to the bottom. Im sure you could do the same by adding it to the (extra CSS) in the style editor.

Same for the JS, I just added it to another JS that was global.

I did leave some of the JS in place because it seems to be location specific. Example.

right before this line.....


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I kept this in place.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And at the very end of the menu code I kept this line in place.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

All other Js and Css was moved to global files respectively.
__________________
ScaleMotorcars.com Large scale model building at its best. Check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #288  
Old 13 Nov 2009, 16:26
Scalemotorcars's Avatar
Scalemotorcars Scalemotorcars is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Daniel
Originally Posted by KID_1194 View Post
nice modification buddy ... but conditions must be added to the menu
in order to restrict the view of items .. what I mean is that you should use the if condition to make things only shown to members ..


Best regards
Yep, Ive already tried it and it works fine. Need to put it back thanks for the reminder.
__________________
ScaleMotorcars.com Large scale model building at its best. Check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #289  
Old 14 Nov 2009, 10:26
gscimbomcom's Avatar
gscimbomcom gscimbomcom is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: Birkan Erol
Nice work, thnx!
__________________
Galatasaray Fans Forum
Reply With Quote
  #290  
Old 16 Nov 2009, 06:03
bluej's Avatar
bluej bluej is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
great mod, thanks so much

can you tell me how to make the text bold, i did search the thread but can not find where it has been asked...i know this is a simple question but not sure at the moment i am brain dead, hehe

thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #291  
Old 16 Nov 2009, 20:14
bluej's Avatar
bluej bluej is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by bluej View Post
great mod, thanks so much

can you tell me how to make the text bold, i did search the thread but can not find where it has been asked...i know this is a simple question but not sure at the moment i am brain dead, hehe

thanks again
ok, i found it in another part of the code

font-weight:bold;
Reply With Quote
  #292  
Old 30 Nov 2009, 07:44
bluej's Avatar
bluej bluej is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
help needed, info on next post

Last edited by bluej; 03 Dec 2009 at 10:30.
Reply With Quote
  #293  
Old 03 Dec 2009, 10:29
bluej's Avatar
bluej bluej is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
nevermind

Last edited by bluej; 05 Dec 2009 at 00:27.
Reply With Quote
  #294  
Old 05 Dec 2009, 00:27
bluej's Avatar
bluej bluej is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by Bigj85 View Post
Thanks for the centering tip
I now have it centered and used an extra <td> on each side to fill out the leftover space.
Looks even better now,here's a pic
MY MENU

Thanks UKB, great menu
where do you add the <td> ? on each side of what?
Reply With Quote
  #295  
Old 09 Dec 2009, 08:44
bluej's Avatar
bluej bluej is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
uninstalled, no support
Reply With Quote
  #296  
Old 09 Dec 2009, 15:11
columbusgeek's Avatar
columbusgeek columbusgeek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
It's basic css. Why not Google it?
Reply With Quote
  #297  
Old 09 Dec 2009, 16:12
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by bluej View Post
uninstalled, no support
UKBL is just busy in Real Life at the moment


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

It depends on your style too
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #298  
Old 12 Dec 2009, 23:57
El-cheapo El-cheapo is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
installed thanks
Reply With Quote
  #299  
Old 15 Dec 2009, 20:42
MRMRacing MRMRacing is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I am in the middle of installing this grate mod, but on explorer (8) the drop down menu text is centered, in safari and other it is left aligned like it should.


Any idea how to solve this?
Reply With Quote
  #300  
Old 15 Dec 2009, 21:47
MRMRacing MRMRacing is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Found it by inserting > text-align:left; in the SUB Container
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:59.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: