Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vB Google Adsense for Search plus Integration Details »
vB Google Adsense for Search plus Integration
Mod Version: 1.6, by davidw (Contributor) davidw is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.0 Rating: (14 votes - 4.93 average) Installs: 170
Released: 23 May 2008 Last Update: 02 Mar 2009 Downloads: 2333
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Translations  

I've done an overhaul on this and you will need to resetup your adsense for search account for this to work. If you aren't happy with that, please use the 3.6 version of this, which works fine for 3.7 from what I've been told.

Step 1:
You may have to resetup your adsense. If you do, you will get a new pub ID - this one includes your previous pub and tacks on your GALT (which is set up when you resetup your adsense account). I used www.christianboards.org and www.google.com (so it would search my site and the web - you can choose only your site, or any location that is web-accessible for results)

Example: partner-pub-0123456789012345:lnucfbm5dtp

If your partner-pub ID does not look like the example, you will see an error.

Also, keep in mind, all sites you put into the box for the adsense (one per line) will be integrated into the search and the search results.

Step 2:
Edit your searchresults.php file.
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Put your correct value.

Example: chdir('/var/www/vhosts/yoursite.com/forums/');

Step 3:
Upload this file your forum's root. An example of your forum's root is below.

Example: http://www.yoursite.com/forums/searchresults.php

Step 4:
Install the product
Go to Admincp => Plugins & Products => Manage Products => [Add/Import Product] => Browse for product-davidw_vb_google_search.xml => Import

Step 5:
Configure your Admincp options
Go to Admincp => vBullitin Options => vBulletin Options => Find vB Google Search (Adsense) then click [Edit Settings]
Edit your new Partner-pub ID (the one you just had reset up - see example in red above), Google box width, iframe widthfor your results (I use 800 in the screenshot, but you can change this based on your needs), and the full URL to your searchresults.php.

NOTE! If you do not enter these in, you will see errors.

Step 6: Optional
Edit 1 template:
Admincp => Styles & Templates => Style Manager => Edit Templates (on your style) => Search Templates => search_forums => under $navbar, add $google_siteadsearch

Step 7: Optional (for vBAdvanced 3.x only)
vBa CMPS => Default Settings => Main Options => Portal Output Global Variables

Add these variables:
template_hook
google_navadsearch
homeurl

=> Save

vBa CMPS => Edit Modules => Search Forums => Select Action => Copy Module

Main Options
Module Title Google Search site / Forums
Template To Include search_google

Module Wrapper Template Options
Form Code Replace default code with
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Click Save
Edit locations where you want to set this active to.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	admincp.jpg
Views:	1287
Size:	51.0 KB
ID:	81187   Click image for larger version

Name:	cmps.gif
Views:	1840
Size:	4.8 KB
ID:	81188   Click image for larger version

Name:	searchphp.jpg
Views:	1788
Size:	35.0 KB
ID:	81189   Click image for larger version

Name:	searchresults.jpg
Views:	2566
Size:	60.1 KB
ID:	81190  

Click image for larger version

Name:	navbar.gif
Views:	1705
Size:	7.2 KB
ID:	81202  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Integration with vBulletin CFM: Google AdSense for Search Integration Throtex vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 80 05 Aug 2011 22:42
Add-On Releases Google/Adsense Site Search Navbar Integration davidw vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 85 06 Mar 2009 17:34
Add-On Releases vB Google Adsense for Search plus Integration davidw vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 171 27 May 2008 12:53
Integration with vBulletin google adsense search automatic integration Delphiprogrammi vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 28 09 May 2008 00:02

  #226  
Old 05 Jan 2009, 09:46
Goomzee Goomzee is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Tariq Rathore
i did every thing step by step but it's show error see the attachment
by the way my child path is

chdir('/home/xxxx/pub_html/forums/');

or should i write

www.mknexusonline.com
Attached Images
File Type: jpg error.jpg (78.7 KB, 14 views)
__________________
Mortal Kombat Nexus Mortal Kombat X MKWallpapers MK Komics
Mortal Kombat Winamp skins, Animations, Movies, Dragon Renders on your 1 click
Pakistan 1st and Largest Mortal Kombat Gaming website
Reply With Quote
  #227  
Old 05 Jan 2009, 13:06
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: David
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=149
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Christianboards.org * Web Design * CIW Certified * My hacks

Check my hacks to see which ones are marked as re-usable.

Please do not contact me through my site for vBulletin matters. These issues should be handled on vBulletin sites. I am not the only person who handles the contact us mail for my site.
Reply With Quote
  #228  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 05:39
Goomzee Goomzee is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Tariq Rathore
i did everything but it still not working and by the way reset my Pub Id and if i reset my pub ID my all earning is also reset and start again with Zero/0
__________________
Mortal Kombat Nexus Mortal Kombat X MKWallpapers MK Komics
Mortal Kombat Winamp skins, Animations, Movies, Dragon Renders on your 1 click
Pakistan 1st and Largest Mortal Kombat Gaming website
Reply With Quote
  #229  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 05:55
mholtum's Avatar
mholtum mholtum is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Real name: Mike
Originally Posted by Goomzee View Post
i did everything but it still not working and by the way reset my Pub Id and if i reset my pub ID my all earning is also reset and start again with Zero/0
It didnt for me. Simply set up the search, not the main.
Reply With Quote
  #230  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 17:06
2dub 2dub is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Originally Posted by q8manar View Post
I have installed it but when i ded a test
the resualt page came epmty with this error :"

Warning: chdir() [function.chdir]: No such file or directory (errno 2) in /home/estad/public_html/vb/searchresults.php on line 8


could some body till me how i can fix it ?
I had the same issue...


Update...
I just deleted that entire line and it now works fine.
__________________
www.umpire-empire.com

Last edited by 2dub; 06 Jan 2009 at 17:22. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #231  
Old 06 Jan 2009, 17:53
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: David
Originally Posted by 2dub View Post
I had the same issue...


Update...
I just deleted that entire line and it now works fine.
That will work fine unless your searchresults.php file is located is a folder other than the root.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Christianboards.org * Web Design * CIW Certified * My hacks

Check my hacks to see which ones are marked as re-usable.

Please do not contact me through my site for vBulletin matters. These issues should be handled on vBulletin sites. I am not the only person who handles the contact us mail for my site.
Reply With Quote
  #232  
Old 09 Jan 2009, 00:46
MPDev's Avatar
MPDev MPDev is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Works great. I se eyou have multiple search results templates; is there a way to give people the option of searching my site or the web and giving results based on the selection (assuming I have two ads, one with just my site listed for results and another thats for searching google?)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #233  
Old 09 Jan 2009, 01:50
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: David
The way Google has it set up, what you search is tied to the information after your partner-pub key. The sites you search (one site or a list of sites) is tied to only one option.

The only way around that is multiple adsense accounts for one domain (which is against ToS) or to add a second option for searching the second domain/site you wish but have that second option not associated with your adsense account.

This version gave you the option of choosing your site, Google, or wherever you wanted (as many choices as you wanted) but you were also using the old account. It is possible that I could modify the older version to work with the newer version to give that option - this would incur stripping the partner-pub key of the information including and after the ":" and also the word "partner-" - if it were to work. I have not tried it, but it is a possibility.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Christianboards.org * Web Design * CIW Certified * My hacks

Check my hacks to see which ones are marked as re-usable.

Please do not contact me through my site for vBulletin matters. These issues should be handled on vBulletin sites. I am not the only person who handles the contact us mail for my site.
Reply With Quote
  #234  
Old 09 Jan 2009, 06:11
Goomzee Goomzee is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Tariq Rathore
Originally Posted by davidw View Post
That will work fine unless your searchresults.php file is located is a folder other than the root.
it's really nor work plz help
__________________
Mortal Kombat Nexus Mortal Kombat X MKWallpapers MK Komics
Mortal Kombat Winamp skins, Animations, Movies, Dragon Renders on your 1 click
Pakistan 1st and Largest Mortal Kombat Gaming website
Reply With Quote
  #235  
Old 09 Jan 2009, 12:55
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: David
PM me your site that this is occuring on so I can see this and if you want me fix this, PM me appropriate access.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Christianboards.org * Web Design * CIW Certified * My hacks

Check my hacks to see which ones are marked as re-usable.

Please do not contact me through my site for vBulletin matters. These issues should be handled on vBulletin sites. I am not the only person who handles the contact us mail for my site.
Reply With Quote
  #236  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 14:44
Saviour's Avatar
Saviour Saviour is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Working on VB 3.8, however...not without the following problems:
  1. Had to remove the line in searchresults.php which wanted the path to the forums.
  2. Upon performing a search for the first time (and logged in) the search results page appeared fine...except for the fact it did not show me as logged in. Logging in from the search results page and ticking the "remember me" box fixed this. However, if one clears their cache, logs into the forum and performs a search, the same thing happens.
Other than that...all appears to be fine.

"Clicks Installed"...
__________________
Free Computer Help
Reply With Quote
  #237  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 15:08
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: David
1. If your seachresults.php file is at the root, then removing that line or commenting it out will do no harm. If it is anywhere else, you will need that line in there otherwise you will have errors.
2. I have not tested this for 3.8 as I may be looking at redoing the adsense to integrate with 3.8's adsense features.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Christianboards.org * Web Design * CIW Certified * My hacks

Check my hacks to see which ones are marked as re-usable.

Please do not contact me through my site for vBulletin matters. These issues should be handled on vBulletin sites. I am not the only person who handles the contact us mail for my site.
Reply With Quote
  #238  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 15:12
Saviour's Avatar
Saviour Saviour is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
I didn't register my AdSense with vBulletin, so I don't have that feature included with my version of vBulletin.

If you do upgrade this mod for 3.8, you may want to make two versions...one for those who have AdSense built into the core...and those who don't.


Thanks for a great mod...I couldn't get the gtsearch version of this to work correctly with 3.8. However I've had better luck with this one.

You should be proud...
__________________
Free Computer Help
Reply With Quote
  #239  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 14:46
tansu's Avatar
tansu tansu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Originally Posted by symptome View Post
check the configuration area too:
Found on https://www.google.com/adsense/account-settings under Property Information. starts with pub-
(you must start it with pub- and then your number).



Besides:
I had to change the templates like google_navadsearch to insert the following:
<input type="hidden" name="ie" value="ISO-8859-1" />

Without it, some words with swiss special characters couldn't be searched. Perhaps you want to make this choosable too.
Hi
I have the "special characters can not be searched" problem, too.
What exactly did you do to fix this?
Can you please explain it more clearly
Reply With Quote
  #240  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 14:56
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: David
If all you are doing is editing templates, open each of the google templates and find the last line of each <input type="hidden" and then insert <input type="hidden" name="ie" value="ISO-8859-1" /> if your issue is similar.
For example:
<input type="hidden" name="cof" value="FORID:9" />
would then look like
<input type="hidden" name="cof" value="FORID:9" />
<input type="hidden" name="ie" value="ISO-8859-1" />
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Christianboards.org * Web Design * CIW Certified * My hacks

Check my hacks to see which ones are marked as re-usable.

Please do not contact me through my site for vBulletin matters. These issues should be handled on vBulletin sites. I am not the only person who handles the contact us mail for my site.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:44.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: