Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
navbar forumjump dropdown Details »
navbar forumjump dropdown
Mod Version: 1.00, by Floris (Member) Floris is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.4 Rating: (2 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 11
Released: 21 Dec 2006 Last Update: Never Downloads: 39
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Is in Beta Stage  

This is beta, and I won't support it.

What does this do?

This will add a dropdown to your navbar that lists the forums below a parent forum.

On my bro's site we have a list of 12 worksheets, and each worksheet is a forum. We needed a list of all 12 worksheets for quick navigation. Instead of me getting emails every time they make a forum change, the dropdown is now auto updated, populated and I don't have to worry those emails anymore.

It uses forumcache (tnx danny) so it won't add a query to each page, unless it needs to.

===== TEMPLATE CHANGES =====
Open the template: navbar, and find this code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Above this, add the following code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Then find this code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And above this, add the following code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And save the template.

===== PLUGIN =====
Create a new plugin in the global_start hook location, call it navbarforums and give it this code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Find the if ($forum[parentid] == 7) to point to your forumid
(that means, change the 7 to your PARENT forumid, as it will get all the childforums below this parent)

And you're done.

Q : Does it list the subforums below the forums too?
A : No, only the first level forums below the parentid.

Q : My list is too long!
A : Your parentid has a lot of forums.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
End-User Options Navbar Forumjump- Adds a DHTML "Forum Jump" menu to your Navbar Analogpoint vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 207 06 Feb 2015 06:45
Mini Mods Move forumjump to the navbar with javascript Lea Verou vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 11 10 Nov 2007 17:23

Comments
  #2  
Old 21 Dec 2006, 02:17
Apoco's Avatar
Apoco Apoco is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
wtf no plugin or products? >_>

Why are there no phrases?
__________________
Welcome to The New Era of Gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21 Dec 2006, 02:18
Apoco's Avatar
Apoco Apoco is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Screenshot? Live Demo? Anything? I don't understand
__________________
Welcome to The New Era of Gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21 Dec 2006, 06:44
Hornstar's Avatar
Hornstar Hornstar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Matt
A demo site or a screen shot would be great to see it in action. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21 Dec 2006, 07:10
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Originally Posted by Apoco View Post
wtf no plugin or products? >_>

Why are there no phrases?
===== PLUGIN =====
Create a new plugin, call it navbarforums and give it this code:
__________________
Bashy

Bashys Place ~ Bashys Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21 Dec 2006, 16:00
Floris Floris is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Originally Posted by Apoco View Post
wtf no plugin or products? >_>

Why are there no phrases?
This is no product, hence why it isn't added as a product. It has no phrases, it is a beta. So there's no need to make this a product. It is a plugin, the instructions say to create a new plugin. So no need to add a plugin.xml as you have to edit the code anyway. Takes away one step during install.

Originally Posted by Apoco View Post
Screenshot? Live Demo? Anything? I don't understand
There's no need for a demo, it is a dropdown .. and it has the same forum titles listed as the forums below the parent you've picked, just conv. listed in a dropdown for quick access.


Originally Posted by hornstar1337 View Post
A demo site or a screen shot would be great to see it in action. Thanks.
Take a look at any dropdown on any vb powered site in the navbar, that's how it would look, only now with titles from forum names.

Originally Posted by bashy View Post
===== PLUGIN =====
Create a new plugin, call it navbarforums and give it this code:
exactly
__________________
My community; http://wetalknation.net
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21 Dec 2006, 16:09
Darat Darat is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
What hook location for the plugin?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21 Dec 2006, 22:02
teeech teeech is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
I got the code placed correctly but I don't get a list of forums. I changed the parent ID to accomodate one of my forum id's but no dice.

also, would I repeat a portion of the code if I wanted to display multiple "parents"?

I understand you don't support this, but I'd appreciate a little help from anyone that's got it working properly.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22 Dec 2006, 08:52
Floris Floris is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
global_start, as the navbar is for every page
__________________
My community; http://wetalknation.net
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25 Dec 2006, 23:51
Ramsesx's Avatar
Ramsesx Ramsesx is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Southern Germany
Nice and thanks, but sad doesn't work on a vba cmps index page. For people who asked for a screenshot, have a look to the attached one. Oh, and I saw it now, attention it's listening hidden forums for all users (guests) too.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dropdown.jpg (4.8 KB, 170 views)

Last edited by Ramsesx; 26 Dec 2006 at 00:02.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 31 Dec 2006, 05:56
teeech teeech is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Any update on getting it to work on an cmps index page or what I should change in the plugin?

Very useful feature, but not so helful unless it works on my portal page. Any help is appreciated.

Also, what section of the code would be changed/repeated in the instance of multiple parent forums?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12 Mar 2007, 20:01
4x4 Mecca 4x4 Mecca is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Can't you make it list all forums? There may already be a hack for that, I'm not sure.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03 Apr 2007, 03:57
MelH MelH is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by teeech View Post
Any update on getting it to work on an cmps index page or what I should change in the plugin?

Very useful feature, but not so helful unless it works on my portal page. Any help is appreciated.

Also, what section of the code would be changed/repeated in the instance of multiple parent forums?
I agree, itís a great hack but it needs to work on vBadvanced CMPS pages and show all forums, not just those in one category.

Usually with vBa CMPS the fix is to put the full url somewhere in the navbar code additions but I cant see where to do that.

Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03 Apr 2007, 04:28
MelH MelH is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Woo hoo!

I was digging around in the vBa CMPS forums and found the solution to the problem of this menu not working from their pages.

Go to Admin CP => vBa CMPS => Default Settings => Portal Output Global Variables

Add the word 'navbarforum' (without the quotes) to that setting. That just gets the drop down working.

Then, to make the links work -

In the plug in you created find the two instances of 'forumdisplay.php' and add the full url before.

This means change this:

$navbarforum .= "<tr><td class=\"vbmenu_option\"><a href=\"forumdisplay.php?f=".$navforumid."\" rel=\"nofollow\">".$navforumtitle."</a></td></tr>";

to this in two places.

$navbarforum .= "<tr><td class=\"vbmenu_option\"><a href=\"http://yourwebsite/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=".$navforumid."\" rel=\"nofollow\">".$navforumtitle."</a></td></tr>";

Last edited by MelH; 03 Apr 2007 at 14:26.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03 Apr 2007, 14:29
MelH MelH is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Just edited the fix for vBadvanced CMPS in the previous post of mine. The drop down works fine now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:31.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: