Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12 Feb 2008, 21:37
MotoUp MotoUp is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
CSS Attributes for Category Strips

I'm having problems with getting this the way I want it. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

I want to make the arrow on the right be at the very top of the image, but want the text to stay where it is centered. So I want the image to have no padding in the cell, only the text. I know it can be done, I just don't know the syntax...

I want it to look like the second attachment.

Thank you!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Arrow.jpg (2.9 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg Arrow2.jpg (2.9 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14 Feb 2008, 17:32
MotoUp MotoUp is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Bump for possible ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14 Feb 2008, 17:38
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
It's hard to help if we don't know what html you are currently using. Usually you can valign (vertically align) things in a row or column or align an image in a row or column also. What have you tried already?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14 Feb 2008, 18:13
MotoUp MotoUp is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Well, I'm actually editing the CSS from inside Admin CP in the Category Strips section. I've tried things like:

position: absolute; top: 0

All that does is put every image on the page at the very top of the forum.

I've googled CSS, which is where I got that, but I'm not getting it to work. Does that help?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14 Feb 2008, 18:31
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I think you need to actually modify the template in order to get what you want. If you modify the CSS, then you are doing it for the whole strip and you said you want the text to remain where it is, but move the image up, and since both of them are effected by the same css, I don't think you can modify just the css and get it to work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14 Feb 2008, 19:38
MotoUp MotoUp is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Thanks. I'll give that a shot...any idea which template that would be? I'm not finding it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14 Feb 2008, 21:50
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Go into vboptions > General settings and turn on the option to put the template name in the source code. Then go to the page and view that part of the html in the source code and it will tell you which template is being used.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15 Feb 2008, 15:21
Justine's Avatar
Justine Justine is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Not sure what you are trying to do - image #1 looks fine to me.

I believe the template you want to edit is USERCP_SHELL.

try adding "position:relative;top:-2" to the collapse/expand link eg. style="position:relative;top:-2;float:right"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15 Feb 2008, 18:04
briansol's Avatar
briansol briansol is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Real name: Brian
"-2" is meaning-less.

you need a unit, such as px.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16 Feb 2008, 21:23
Chris-777's Avatar
Chris-777 Chris-777 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Real name: Chris
If that image is in it's own cell, you can toss a valign="top" in the TD call that should take care of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Category strips dcarr vBulletin 3.0 Template Modifications 5 18 Aug 2007 17:52



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:14.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: