Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Force Standard Editor for IE10 Users (Editor Workaround) for VB 4.x by BOP5 Details »
Force Standard Editor for IE10 Users (Editor Workaround) for VB 4.x by BOP5
Mod Version: 1.00, by BirdOPrey5 (IB Staff) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2021 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (7 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 60
Released: 03 Apr 2013 Last Update: Never Downloads: 239
Not Supported Uses Plugins Re-usable Code  

NO LONGER NECESSARY IN VB 4.2.1 or above.

Brought to you by BirdOPrey5 / Qapla.com

See Post #12 for a different solution, it lets the editor work in IE10

If you are an Admin of a VB4 site with the ckeditor (all versions since 4.1.4 I believe) you probably know that the VB4 editor is not compatible with Internet Explorer 10 (IE10) web browsers.

As IE10 becomes more popular this is a bigger issue for site administrators.

The good news is the "Standard Editor" in VB 4.x does work, it is only the WYSIWYG editor with the problem.

This simple singe plugin mod will force IE10 users, and only IE10 users to the Standard Editor no matter what they have chosen in their settings.

This should prevent complaints from users about the editor not working properly.

We hope this issue will get fixed in a future VB4 version, maybe 4.2.1, maybe later, at that time you can remove this product.

No documentation, no settings, just import the XML file and it is active, disable or remove the product and it stops working.

Installation Instructions:

Log into your Admin CP
Go to Add/Import Product under "Plugins & Products" on the side menu.
Click the "Choose File" button to find the attached product xml file.
Press "Import"
Done.

------------------------------------------------------

Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this.
Donations always appreciated.
Nominate MOTM if you LOVE it!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #46  
Old 30 Jun 2015, 23:11
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Originally Posted by z3r0 View Post
The new Microsoft Edge browser doesn't like the wysiwyg mode on any of my vb4 sites (editor will not work without enter being pressed first), with a tweak to this mod you can force standard mode on Edge and patch the problem until a better solution is found.

Change

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Note - this is only any good if you are not using this mod to force standard editor for IE.
I'm not clear what you mean by your last statement...

You seem to be saying we can make your modifications to this product to force standard editor for Edge, but then you say it's only good if you are NOT using this mod?
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 01 Jul 2015, 14:02
z3r0's Avatar
z3r0 z3r0 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lancashire, UK
What I mean is if you make the change then it will only force Edge to standard mode and no longer work for IE.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02 Jul 2015, 20:11
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Would this not work for both?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 04 May 2016, 10:39
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by djbaxter View Post
Would this not work for both?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
I tried this multiple browser patch and I get a boolean error in "includes"...

PHP error: <b>Parse error</b>: syntax error, unexpected T_BOOLEAN_OR in <b>/usr/www/apache/includes/class_bootstrap.php(103) : eval()'d code</b> on line <b>214</b><br />
Regards,
Doug

Last edited by BadgerDog; 04 May 2016 at 11:25.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 04 May 2016, 11:38
z3r0's Avatar
z3r0 z3r0 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lancashire, UK
Edge has changed since I posted the original bit of code, the following is how the plugin needs to look now to force edge to work correctly.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by z3r0; 04 May 2016 at 13:55.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 04 May 2016, 11:43
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by z3r0 View Post
Edge has changed since I posted the original bit of code, the following is how the plugin needs to look now to force edge to work correctly.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Thanks ..

I'll re-edit the change I made and substitute what you have above..

Regards,
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 04 May 2016, 12:42
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
There doesn tseem much point to the if(!is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 1)) statement since you have it commented out.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 04 May 2016, 13:54
z3r0's Avatar
z3r0 z3r0 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lancashire, UK
I Just copy and pasted it from the modified original.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 04 May 2016, 16:26
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by z3r0 View Post
I Just copy and pasted it from the modified original.
Ok, now I'm confused ...

Do I leave the line commented out, or make it executable?

Thanks...

Regards,
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 04 May 2016, 17:14
z3r0's Avatar
z3r0 z3r0 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lancashire, UK
You can just leave it or delete it, it makes no difference.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 05 May 2016, 10:57
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by z3r0 View Post
You can just leave it or delete it, it makes no difference.
Thanks ..

Left it remarked out.. don't know if it's working or not.. time will tell with Edge members of our site .

Regards,
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 06 Dec 2016, 13:39
Budget101 Budget101 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
I've been told by another forum member that simply adding this to the headinclude template will let the WYSIWYG editor work fine by telling IE10 to display as IE9.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I don't have immediate access to IE10 to test it, but if anyone wants to test, uninstall or disable this mod first.
Yes, that will work, but if you use Async Ads -the will not Render, thus losing revenue.

update: Trident must be updated to 7.0 rather than 6.0 to work


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by Budget101; 06 Dec 2016 at 14:28.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 04 Jan 2020, 22:01
edgeless edgeless is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Well, this mod works fine. But does anyone know how to get the attachment dialog in IE11(+) to indicate the number of files that have been selected for upload (as is shown on other browsers)?

I'm attaching two screenshots, each with 2 files selected. The first is from Chrome 79.0 and the next is from IE11 (Trident 7.0). While the IE11 upload sessions WILL allow multiple attachments and work well otherwise, they fail to display the selected file counts and their dialog rendering looks a bit funky. It's not really a biggy but I'm wondering if anyone knows of a fix?


Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:16.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: