Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Dynamic Google Analytics Details »
Dynamic Google Analytics
Mod Version: 1.0.1, by bdude (Member) bdude is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (5 votes - 4.60 average) Installs: 151
Released: 23 Jan 2008 Last Update: 25 Jan 2008 Downloads: 725
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Re-usable Code Translations  

Dynamic Google Analytics

This is a very simple mod, it adds the ability to dynamically generate the code for Google Analytics.

Originally Posted by Logician View Post
For visitors who didn't understand what the hack does:

It creates a google analytics section in your vb options page and when you enter analytics ID there, it automatically puts analytics code into your footer.

If you don't install this hack, you can do the same by copy/pasting google analytics code in your footer template.
Version History:
1.0 - Initial Release, using ga.js instead of urchin.js
1.0.1 - Removed vB 3.7 requirement

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 24 Jan 2008, 11:41
KURTZ KURTZ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Real name: Christian
Originally Posted by m-tuning View Post
I think it adds a menu to the admin panel where you can set you Google Analytics code.

Which will then be implemented in the site.
where is the menu?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 24 Jan 2008, 17:07
kollam003 kollam003 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
will it work with Vb 3.6.8 patch 2
__________________
Gratitude for everything I have
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 25 Jan 2008, 01:22
bdude's Avatar
bdude bdude is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Bryce
My most humble apologies for not fully testing this (I'm new to vB Development), you should see a new setting group called 'Google Analytics'
__________________
Come join my Blogging Forum. Or try my blog for forum owners.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 25 Jan 2008, 04:14
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
nice hack
__________________

Love and support one another #vote2020
I offer Managed IT Services in Kansas
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 25 Jan 2008, 07:05
bdude's Avatar
bdude bdude is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Bryce
Thanks.
__________________
Come join my Blogging Forum. Or try my blog for forum owners.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 25 Jan 2008, 09:01
Collussus Collussus is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by bdude View Post
My most humble apologies for not fully testing this (I'm new to vB Development), you should see a new setting group called 'Google Analytics'
Now it works -clicks install-

EDIT:

Do you fill in the number with or without "UA-"?

Last edited by Collussus; 25 Jan 2008 at 09:42.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 25 Jan 2008, 22:56
bdude's Avatar
bdude bdude is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Bryce
Do you fill in the number with or without "UA-"?
With UA-
__________________
Come join my Blogging Forum. Or try my blog for forum owners.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 26 Jan 2008, 04:03
Martell Martell is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Thanks, useful product for analytics on Google.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 26 Jan 2008, 17:58
Collussus Collussus is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by bdude View Post
With UA-
Doesn't seem to send the information to analytics for me... I'm pretty sure i get around 100 unique hits daily but it only shows 3, seems unlikely to me.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02 Feb 2008, 02:29
rinkrat's Avatar
rinkrat rinkrat is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
I turned it on so I guess I wait a few days and check the stats at Google.
__________________
Los Angeles Kings Fan Page
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07 Feb 2008, 11:11
DrKNickel DrKNickel is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Looks nice but does it work?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 19 Feb 2008, 00:20
nitro nitro is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Would this not be better in the global_complete hook location with something like:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This way you are anchoring onto the closing body tag as google instructs and the global_complete location is a better place to do this, not just for vbulletin itself but other addons which may use alternative templates for headers. footers etc.

The google code could perhaps be an additional temple for eval in which case it would want a cache plugin. A textarea option to add scipts to exclude the code from maybe quite a desireable feature to add. Was just a few thoughts, nice hack still.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 19 Feb 2008, 04:18
bdude's Avatar
bdude bdude is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Bryce
@nitro: Thanks for the suggestions, I am quite new to vB coding - and if I have any spare time, I will try and implement your suggestions.
__________________
Come join my Blogging Forum. Or try my blog for forum owners.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 26 Feb 2008, 17:49
AndrewC1971 AndrewC1971 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
do u have to put in the google analytics html

or just you Google Analytics UA number?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 19 Mar 2008, 05:27
tmiland's Avatar
tmiland tmiland is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Tommy
Sweet!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:12.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: